Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
stkjock

BI?

Question

11 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
6 hours ago, scrounge said:

BI all day

Unanimous!!!

Wonder why he didn't call it? There must have been some bad vibes going on prior to this or... maybe he just went momentarily brain dead. I can raise my hand and say I have been guilty of it a few times.   

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Obviously I'm a Mets fan, while I thought it was borderline, I also thought that F2 could have done a better job getting the call by stepping into the batter a bit more. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
3 minutes ago, stkjock said:

Obviously I'm a Mets fan, while I thought it was borderline, I also thought that F2 could have done a better job getting the call by stepping into the batter a bit more. 

I recommend not coaching that tactic. The main problem for amateur players is that it teaches them to be paying attention to the wrong thing, drawing a call vs. playing the game properly. F2's priority and focus should be retiring R1.

For our part, any umpire who judges that F2 deliberately "stepped into the batter" will not call BI, because F2 hindered himself. And, as you see here, batter INT is often missed for one reason or another, so F2 could abandon a good chance to retire R1 stealing for the sake of a no-call.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

appreciate the comment @maven  I would never coach that tactic in youth ball, however, D'arnaud is a veteran MLB catcher, he immediately pointed to the batter after the throw.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, Rich Ives said:

The throw was away and clean, then F2 slipped and fell.  All before the batter stepped into his path. Look with a cold calculating mind.

IMHO - he falls due to the pain from his hand hitting the bat on the follow thru...

 

but at least you're consistent with your responses:

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, beerguy55 said:

I could go either way

Whenever an official has this thought, it's a no-call. Make 'em big.

The exception is safety-related calls (was that high spike at the knee or 0.5in below? call it).

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...