Jump to content
  • 0

Pitcher steps towards first; fielder playing off bag. Is it a balk if....


Umpire-Empire locks topics which have not been active in the last year. The thread you are viewing hasn't been active in 3148 days so you will not be able to post. We do recommend you starting a new topic to find out what's new in the world of umpiring.

Question

Posted

Fed rules.  RHP.  R1 and R2 with one out.  F3 is playing behind runner at 1st (F1).  F1 steps and throws to 1B.  Throw is not to F3, but is straight at the bag.  F3 does not catch the pick-off, but does is quickly into possession after ball hits wall close to 1B.  Is this a balk in the FED book?

  • Answers 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Popular Days

Top Posters For This Question

7 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
Posted
1 minute ago, HMax said:

Fed rules.  RHP.  R1 and R2 with one out.  F3 is playing behind runner at 1st (F1).  F1 steps and throws to 1B.  Throw is not to F3, but is straight at the bag.  F3 does not catch the pick-off, but does is quickly into possession after ball hits wall close to 1B.  Is this a balk in the FED book?

Is the pitcher required to throw to 1B?

Did the pitcher throw to 1B?

  • 0
Posted

Pitcher (F1) was not required to throw to first base until he committed to do so.  He did throw to 1B

 

  • 0
Posted
Just now, HMax said:

Pitcher (F1) was not required to throw to first base until he committed to do so.  He did throw to 1B

 

OK then

If the pitcher commits to 1B must he throw to 1B?

Did the throw to 1B?

This answers the question.

  • 0
Posted

And, BTW, I looked at section 423 of the 2016 BRD, which says, "The pitcher must step directly towards a base (he did)."  "Balk, except when a pitcher steps in the direction of the base and realizes his teammate is not covering, if the fielder throws directly at the fielder (my emphasis), there is no balk as long as the fielder attached to that base is in 'proximity' to the base (my emphasis)."   The difference here is the pitcher did not throw directly at the fielder (not even close).

  • 0
Posted

The throw went to the base...Check out the case play in the BRD under that section. (Part (e) of that play has a throw to the base, nowhere near a fielder)..legal in all codes.

  • 0
Posted
20 minutes ago, HMax said:

And, BTW, I looked at section 423 of the 2016 BRD, which says, "The pitcher must step directly towards a base (he did)."  "Balk, except when a pitcher steps in the direction of the base and realizes his teammate is not covering, if the fielder throws directly at the fielder (my emphasis), there is no balk as long as the fielder attached to that base is in 'proximity' to the base (my emphasis)."   The difference here is the pitcher did not throw directly at the fielder (not even close).

This statement is intended to prevent a pitcher from throwing to F3 when he isn't in proximity to 1B and therefore doesn't have a play on the runner. From what I understand of your description, F3 wasn't near the throw, which went into foul territory before being recovered by F3. I wouldn't balk this. There isn't a rule against the pitcher putting his own team in jeopardy by throwing the ball away.

  • 0
Posted
1 hour ago, Richvee said:

The throw went to the base...Check out the case play in the BRD under that section. (Part (e) of that play has a throw to the base, nowhere near a fielder)..legal in all codes.

Rich, thanks for the excellent catch.  You read that correctly.  I appreciate it.

 

H


×
×
  • Create New...