Jump to content
Thunderheads

Pitching Glove

Recommended Posts

Ok ...

I got this ad from Wilson on my Facebook feed today and for fun ...I posted the following:

HYPOTHETICAL:

Your first HS game starts with the pitcher walking to the mound with this new customized Wilson glove. What do you do....

15284174_10155582727488146_9949585823580

NOW .... I did this primarily because although TECHNICALLY ILLEGAL ...the amount of gray isn't egregious and I thought, well maybe I see if something is said, as to not be a "Barney Fife" and be an OOO right out of the gate.

Thoughts? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

While he's taking his warm up pitches I tell his coach that the glove is illegal. He will have to change it before the ball is put in play.  The 8 pitches will give enough time for him to get a replacement from the dugout and the game isn't delayed. 

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 minutes ago, kanedog said:

While he's taking his warm up pitches I tell his coach that the glove is illegal. He will have to change it before the ball is put in play.  The 8 pitches will give enough time for him to get a replacement from the dugout and the game isn't delayed. 

done in a relaxed subtle manner ....I totally concur!

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
40 minutes ago, kanedog said:

While he's taking his warm up pitches I tell his coach that the glove is illegal. He will have to change it before the ball is put in play.  The 8 pitches will give enough time for him to get a replacement from the dugout and the game isn't delayed. 

I love this approach. 

I've had situations where I've let a little white/gray slide. If a coach or player were to say it was distracting then I'd enforce the rule. But with this one it's not one I think I could let slide. 

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Thunderheads said:

be careful ..........

15289264_10207899134499903_1568050768405

I probably should've realized this was in the high school category and not based on OBR. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 hours ago, maven said:

Illegal in OH, and too much to fix with a Sharpie®.

Do you nip it in the bud immediately, as soon as you see it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
18 hours ago, BT_Blue said:

You should see the militant answers he has gotten on Facebook.

It's been an interesting conversation, to say the least.  I agree that this glove is illegal.  I would tell the coach during his warmups that he needs to change it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Thunderheads said:

Do you nip it in the bud immediately, as soon as you see it?

Sure, why not?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 minutes ago, maven said:

Sure, why not?

just thought you may expound more than stating that it's illegal and too much to fix w/ a sharpie, that's all .....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Thunderheads said:

just thought you may expound more than stating that it's illegal and too much to fix w/ a sharpie, that's all .....

Kids periodically show up to play with illegal equipment or uniforms. Last season, I had to send a kid off to change his shirt because he wanted to pitch with a long sleeve gray undershirt. See it, address it.

I'm not as nit picky about illegal gloves as some in my association (I have a friend who really carries a sharpie in his ball bag to blacken the white lettering of the "Rawlings" logo or whatever), but I would disallow the pictured glove.

Moreover, it's more important to address a glove like this than the long gray sleeves. If he pitches an inning with a gray shirt, there's no penalty. If he fields a fair batted ball or thrown ball with that glove, we should impose the penalty for illegal equipment (everyone remembers 8-3-3 off the top of their heads, right? Different for foul batted balls?).

I apologize for my terse response: I probably shouldn't have posted in the thread at all. The question strikes me as admitting of an obvious answer, and I don't really go in for "discussion for discussion's sake" (an attitude that disqualifies me from participating in the FaceBook "conversations" about such matters).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, maven said:

Kids periodically show up to play with illegal equipment or uniforms. Last season, I had to send a kid off to change his shirt because he wanted to pitch with a long sleeve gray undershirt. See it, address it.

I'm not as nit picky about illegal gloves as some in my association (I have a friend who really carries a sharpie in his ball bag to blacken the white lettering of the "Rawlings" logo or whatever), but I would disallow the pictured glove.

Moreover, it's more important to address a glove like this than the long gray sleeves. If he pitches an inning with a gray shirt, there's no penalty. If he fields a fair batted ball or thrown ball with that glove, we should impose the penalty for illegal equipment (everyone remembers 8-3-3 off the top of their heads, right? Different for foul batted balls?).

I apologize for my terse response: I probably shouldn't have posted in the thread at all. The question strikes me as admitting of an obvious answer, and I don't really go in for "discussion for discussion's sake" (an attitude that disqualifies me from participating in the FaceBook "conversations" about such matters).

You always have good insight, that's why when I saw you responded, I wanted to see a little more :)

There's no penalty for that glove however, ..it's a "change" or "address" the situation

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Thunderheads said:

There's no penalty for that glove however, ..it's a "change" or "address" the situation

Just testing you, Jeff. Well done.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, maven said:

(an attitude that disqualifies me from participating in the FaceBook "conversations" about such matters).

I don't know why Jeff locked (I assume it was Jeff) the Facebook thread prohibiting any more comments.  The thread was going so well.:D

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 hours ago, lawump said:

I don't know why Jeff locked (I assume it was Jeff) the Facebook thread prohibiting any more comments.  The thread was going so well.:D

No, I did not ...I'm not an admin on that site .....Tommy Owens did it after his last comment ..."this thread has run its course".   No biggie .... he was right.  And there was plenty of bitching going on too, along with antagonizing, etc, etc.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Thunderheads said:

No, I did not ...I'm not an admin on that site .....Tommy Owens did it after his last comment ..."this thread has run its course".   No biggie .... he was right.  And there was plenty of bitching going on too, along with antagonizing, etc, etc.

I'm not sure what you mean. Facebook threads are the model of civility and kindness.:huh:

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Thunderheads said:

No, I did not ...I'm not an admin on that site .....Tommy Owens did it after his last comment ..."this thread has run its course".   No biggie .... he was right.  And there was plenty of bitching going on too, along with antagonizing, etc, etc.

There I go assuming again.  LOL.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Glad to read most would address this immediately. FWIW - from a coaching perspective,I'd question that glove on the bump during warmups if the gentlemen in blue did not address it.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Similar Content

    • By agdz59
      Working a 10u tournament this weekend. I'm on the bases in C with R2.  
      The pitcher sets, then raises his leg and pitches with his knee going past his pivot leg before committing to home.
      I called nothing but between innings the offensive coach asked about it because his runner started back to second. 
      What say you?
    • By Jglopez7
      See the video of my call of RLI. What do y’all think? 
       
    • By Scotty_Ump
      I was PU during U12 tournament played under FED rules. In middle of game, HC asks me to "watch the other team" between innings because they had "too many batters" in front of their bench area between innings swinging bats while his pitcher was throwing warm-up pitches. I told him I'd "keep an eye on it" but the game ended early (mercy rule) and it never came up again.
      Post-game I looked up FED rules and all I found re: this situation is 3-3-3: "Players loosening up to bat shall remain in the area of their team's on-deck circle while the pitcher is warming up."
      Does anyone know if FED (or other rule sets) limits the amount of players who can warm up between innings?
    • By GreyhoundAggie
      Had a situation yesterday as follows: 
      JV Fed Game. Bases loaded, no outs. I'm PU.
      Groundball to SS, R2 plows into SS as he is trying to field the ball. Partner did not kill the play as he thought it was a delayed dead ball, so I stepped in and killed it and called R2 out and returned R3.
      I know we can get more outs based on the possible prevention of a double play. At the time we did not rule any additional outs, but immediately after the inning I was thinking we should have potentially gotten 3 outs. 
      R2 for interference, and R1 and BR for the prevented potential double play.
      Is this too many outs to get from this play? For sure I am thinking we should have gotten at least 2, R2 and R1 at least.
      Thanks for your thoughts, this play doesn't occur too often and I want to be better prepared next time.
    • By GreyhoundAggie
      Wanted confirmation of a ruling we made from a Varsity Fed game from Monday.
      Bases loaded, outs don't matter.
      Chopper to 1st base, he comes home with the throw to try and get the force, but the ball isn't it time and hits either the catcher or batter (unsure) and deflects into the dugout.
      2 base award from TOP? This is what we ended up doing. I was thinking this is correct since the deflection was not intentional or a secondary action.
       
×
×
  • Create New...