Jump to content
  • 0

pickoff to 1st


Guest jim

Question

5 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
11 minutes ago, Guest jim said:

situation is first and third. is it a balk if a pitcher steps off the rubber into a throw to first if the first baseman isn't covering the runner? mlb rules?

If he legally disengages the rubber, the pitching regulations are no longer in effect, so he can throw anywhere he wants.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

We really need a lot more information here. Your wording "pitcher steps off the rubber into a throw to first if the first baseman isn't covering the runner" isn't very clear...

1.As Greyhawk has said, if the pitcher legally disengages the rubber by stepping off the back with his pivot foot (right foot for a RHP, left foot for a lefty)),he can throw or fake a throw wherever he wants. 

2. If the pitcher steps and throws without disengaging, he must complete a throw to first base. If he steps and throws to the first baseman, who is not near enough to first base to make a legitimate  play on the runner,it's a balk. If the first baseman is playing off the base, and the pitcher throws to first base, even though F3 isn't there, it is not a balk.

So what we need to know is..did the pitcher first step off the back of the rubber,or did he throw from the rubber? If he did indeed throw from the rubber, did he throw to first base, or to the first baseman, who was off the bag, and had no legitimate play on R1. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

 

7 hours ago, Richvee said:

1.As Greyhawk has said, if the pitcher legally disengages the rubber by stepping off the back with his pivot foot (Left foot for a RHP,right foot for a lefty)),he can throw or fake a throw wherever he wants. 

Rich?!? You OK?  :wow:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
9 hours ago, Richvee said:

 

2. If the pitcher steps and throws without disengaging, he must complete a throw to first base.

Note that this includes the jab-step and the jump turn.  Some mistakenly think this is some sort of "disengagement" and does not require a throw to first base.  It's not-- even thought the pitcher is "beraking contact" with the rubber, this is still considered a move from the rubber.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.






×
×
  • Create New...