Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
rjt6

Question

Recommended Posts

I've seen both of these mechanics before - but is it ok to be in scissors when the catcher sets up inside, or is just staying box and being "higher up" (lack of a better term) correct?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Very few (if any) mechanics manuals teach that an umpire should switch stances based upon where the catcher sets up.  If you were a first or second year MiLB umpire, you would have to stay in the heel/in-step stance ("box"), but you could (in fact, "should") move back and up if the catcher "squeezes you".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...