12u under OBR. I am in 'C' with runners at 1st and 2nd.
Batter squares to bunt, pitch is WAY inside, pitch hits batter in the stomach. Partner calls TIME and tells batter to take first. All sounds fine, EXCEPT the batter CLEARLY offered at the pitch.
DC politely approached plate and conversation goes like this:
DC: Sir, didn't he offer at the pitch?
PU: Coach, the batter was hit by the pitch.
DC: Yes, I know that, but didn't he offer at the pitch?
DC: Can you check with your partner?
PU: No, that's not an appealable call.
I know the initial call is his, and I'm only to get involved if HE asks for help...but when he is mistaken on a point of rule (as opposed to judgment) should I have done anything? I had been trying throughout the entire time to quietly get his attention, to let him know I had info he ought to know. The coach walked back to the dugout scratching his head.
By Mad Mike
OBR Rule Set.
Bases loaded, no outs. Count 1-2 on batter. Low pitch comes in, skips the dirt, catcher blocks the ball and it then touches the batter. Batter does not swing at pitch and begins to jog to first base-presumably believing he was hit by the pitch. Unfortunately, umps don't kill it before this goes down......baserunners all begin to advance at a leisurely trot. Runner on third scores. Keep in mind TIME has not been called. The other runners advance to second and third respectively.
Question: How would you handle this when the defensive coach indicates that the Batter-Runners actions deceived the defense? He wants to know why there is no penalty for the BR doing this.
Now, it is incumbent on the defense to know the status of the ball. The catcher simply threw the ball back to the catcher as the runner trotted home.
Can/should this be "fixed" in any way, i.e. return all the runners, no score allowed, count now 2-2 or do we allow the score and advances by the runners and the count is now 2-2. Would we warn the batter if he steps out without legal reason(s), he is subject to some penalty--perhaps ejection?
Please discuss what option(s), if any are available.
Also, as a twist---what if this were NFHS? Could we get the batter out for stepping out of the box with both feet? (I don't think so, because the pitch has technically ended once it touched the catcher. But I am interested in what you guys think.)
Hypothetical: Inside pitch. Batter checks his swing. Sounds/looks like it got the bat and you signal a foul ball. Batter pleads that he was hit by the pitch. He comes to you to show stitches or any marking that he was hit by the pitch.
What do you do? Stick with your call? Use the evidence and award him first? What is the SOP for that situation?