Jump to content

Recommended Posts

An umpire working at a high-school seeing pitches video taped a pitcher warming up, and noticed what he was doing ....and....posted it to facebook and it's turned into an argument (shocker).    Thoughts?

PS ... it's a big file, so it'll download on your computer and you can open it in your 'video player' from there.  If someone can embed it for me, that'd be great! :D

 

Balk No Balk (1).MPG

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is pretty close to a start/stop balk (double set). I would certainly warn for this. If he pauses another fraction of a second, that's clearly a balk.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, maven said:

This is pretty close to a start/stop balk (double set). I would certainly warn for this. If he pauses another fraction of a second, that's clearly a balk.

 

based on the video evidence alone .... that's a start/stop ........(IMHO ;) )

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Thunderheads said:

based on the video evidence alone .... that's a start/stop ........(IMHO ;) )

I should have added: were I evaluating umpires, I would expect this to be addressed, either with a warning or a balk call. Either is supportable; doing nothing is not.

So I wouldn't disagree with you, Jeff.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think we've had this discussion before based on some MLB pitcher(s).  And, it's not called there so the youth see it and start to copy it, and .... here we are.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jeff, 11mb is considered a big file still? What is this, 1999? :D

I think the pitcher keeps his feet moving just enough that this isn't a start-stop balk but it is very very close.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would balk for a start/stop.  I actually saw something similar two years ago in a regional semi-final game.  No call.  Coach came out and the umpire sold it well. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, Jimurray said:

If you think he had a stop at his waist then go ahead and balk him. 

Jim, you honestly see constant movement from that angle/video?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Thunderheads said:

Jim, you honestly see constant movement from that angle/video?

That's my story and I'm sticking to it if someone complains. I haven't seen a coach or runner who has been perturbed by guys that do this.

Or this: 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm with @maven on this...at a minimum warn him. If he wants to live THAT close to the edge of the cliff, don't be surprised if he falls off a lot.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm with @Jimurray. I have him still moving his feet when he stops his hands at his waist. From what i remember from the video, i dont have him coming to a full stop until he stops his hands at his head. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, BT_Blue said:

I'm with @Jimurray. I have him still moving his feet when he stops his hands at his waist. From what i remember from the video, i dont have him coming to a full stop until he stops his hands at his head. 

nope.  he stops moving his feet...at the waist, he's stopped (FROM THIS camera angle)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

On 2/16/2016 at 0:26 PM, Jimurray said:

I have continuous motion to his complete and discernable stop. 

9 hours ago, BT_Blue said:

I'm with @Jimurray. I have him still moving his feet when he stops his hands at his waist. From what i remember from the video, i dont have him coming to a full stop until he stops his hands at his head. 

I would agree

On 2/16/2016 at 0:43 PM, Thunderheads said:

Jim, you honestly see constant movement from that angle/video?

I see his back leg continuing to move while the hands pause at the belt, then front leg moves again.

 

However, in real time, as a coach I could easily see it called a balk

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am the rookie here but I would call.  Just watching it the single time there seems to be a clear stop start to me.  Just my thoughts.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Guys: there's really not too much at stake (beyond ego) in disputes about judgment.

In general, film study is good for a number of things. It can promote better mechanics, as we get to see where we have the best angles to rule on plays. It can help us look where we need to look to make the right call (think about our recent conversations about PU starting at 3BLX and rotating to stay in F2's "pocket" on plays at the plate). And it can remind us which rules are applicable to unusual plays.

Assessing judgment on film is dicey, partly because we often have just one angle (and not the same one as the calling official), and we also have slow motion, which calling officials lack (and slo-mo makes everything look illegal). It's easy to replay this clip over and over and focus on different body parts and break it down to see whether there's a stop. Of course, nobody could do it like that on the field.

That's why I wrote what I wrote above: in the heat of action, I probably couldn't tell whether this exact move was a double set or just borderline. That's why I would expect umpires to address it: if it's not illegal, it's damn close. In such cases, we usually err on the side of not calling a balk. Warn him, and get him when he does it again and it's clearly illegal. If somebody judged that this was over the line, I could support that, too.

Going to the mat over this particular clip is not going to make any of us a better umpire.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 2/16/2016 at 6:19 AM, maven said:

This is pretty close to a start/stop balk (double set). I would certainly warn for this. If he pauses another fraction of a second, that's clearly a balk.

 

What's the phrasing on that warning?

I'm new to FED ball and I wonder how that would go.  I would love to grab a new tool for my tool box here.  Thanks in advance.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
20 minutes ago, elares said:

What's the phrasing on that warning?

I'm new to FED ball and I wonder how that would go.  I would love to grab a new tool for my tool box here.  Thanks in advance.

I don't have anything official. "You're almost coming set twice. Make sure it's one continuous motion to come set." I dunno, that's a lot of words... what would you say?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, maven said:

Guys: there's really not too much at stake (beyond ego) in disputes about judgment.

In general, film study is good for a number of things. It can promote better mechanics, as we get to see where we have the best angles to rule on plays. It can help us look where we need to look to make the right call (think about our recent conversations about PU starting at 3BLX and rotating to stay in F2's "pocket" on plays at the plate). And it can remind us which rules are applicable to unusual plays.

Assessing judgment on film is dicey, partly because we often have just one angle (and not the same one as the calling official), and we also have slow motion, which calling officials lack (and slo-mo makes everything look illegal). It's easy to replay this clip over and over and focus on different body parts and break it down to see whether there's a stop. Of course, nobody could do it like that on the field.

That's why I wrote what I wrote above: in the heat of action, I probably couldn't tell whether this exact move was a double set or just borderline. That's why I would expect umpires to address it: if it's not illegal, it's damn close. In such cases, we usually err on the side of not calling a balk. Warn him, and get him when he does it again and it's clearly illegal. If somebody judged that this was over the line, I could support that, too.

Going to the mat over this particular clip is not going to make any of us a better umpire.

He isn't the Member of the Month for nothing!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Similar Content

    • By DontSuck1977
      NFHS Rules - Summer HSDL - Sub Varsity Level.
      The pitcher brought his hands together down low,  raised them about shoulder height and finally came to complete stop around about the chest area. He kind of stopped at different points however the motion fairly continuous, and he did finally stopped at the end.  Did, he balk?
    • By Mad Mike
      OBR Rule Set:
      Runner on First, outs don't matter. Pitcher rolls through coming set, delivers ball (count was 2-1). Umpires call "Balk". Batter takes pitch without swinging. R1 stealing on the pitch. Catcher throws it into centerfield.
      R1 rounds second and heads for third. 
      I think there was an error when the "Time" was called and the runner was placed back at second. R1 should have been allowed to advance at his own jeopardy. If he made third, then bonus for him. If he was thrown out, then under OBR-he is out.  We would nullify the pitch and play on, correct?
      ____________________________________
      I believe this was confused with an interference call where if the catcher does not retire the runner on the immediate throw-we kill the play.
      Any comments and/or rule references would be appreciated.
       
    • By Thunderheads
      Hi all ...
      I'm losing my mind .... (at least I think I am) but ....  A dropped ball by a pitcher is a balk (that doesn't cross the foul line) ONLY if he's touching the pitchers plate, yes?  Why do I think I remember seeing "either on the rubber or straddling" ??   All I'm finding is 6-2-4a
      Help! Thanks!
    • By chalen
      OBR. R1, stealing on the pitch. The pitcher using the set position balks by failing to come to a discernible stop but delivers the pitch. The batter lays down a bunt. F2 fields the batted ball and throws out the batter-runner at 1B. Obviously we have a no-pitch and we will enforce the balk. Because the batter did not achieve 1B, do we kill the play immediately when the out is recorded at 1B, regardless the location of R1? If R1 was already on 3B when the out was recorded, is R1 still returned to 2B?
    • By chalen
      R1 and R2 (on 1B and 2B, of course). The pitcher balks with a feint to 1B, then throws the ball past 1B. R2 scores, but R1 (who dove back to 1B and was slow to advance), is tagged out while attempting to reach 2B. So we enforce the balk. Obviously R1 gets 2B. Is R2 returned to 3B?
×
×
  • Create New...