Jump to content
CricketChapman

Balk? or Something Else?

Recommended Posts

http://m.mlb.com/video/v385366683/?query=balk

Despite the video title, I suspect this was a base award for a pitched ball becoming lodged in F2's equipment/mask; there are no Balks listed in the box score.

Was anyone watching the game who can provide more info?  Note:  I didn't listen to this video with the audio on.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes it was for the ball being lodged in the neck area. Guess there's no way to denote that so they just called it a balk. Since the strike remained on the count it obviously wasn't a balk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, it's not a balk, no matter what the web gurus post or announcers screw up.

The ruling was a lodged ball, and the penalty (when it's a pitch) is a 1 base award. Since that penalty looked the same as a balk penalty, they inferred incorrectly that it was a balk.

The ruling is pretty tight, since the ball popped right out. PU didn't even notice it — another umpire evidently gave him additional info, and he made the call (which is why he's talking to the skipper).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, it's not a balk, no matter what the web gurus post or announcers screw up.

The ruling was a lodged ball, and the penalty (when it's a pitch) is a 1 base award. Since that penalty looked the same as a balk penalty, they inferred incorrectly that it was a balk.

The ruling is pretty tight, since the ball popped right out. PU didn't even notice it — another umpire evidently gave him additional info, and he made the call (which is why he's talking to the skipper).

maven,

are we sure that the video is when the call takes place?  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

maven,

are we sure that the video is when the call takes place?  

Pretty sure. The announcers see R3 advanced to the plate without the batter doing anything, and they infer a balk. PU is talking to the skipper and F2.

It's an "inference to the best explanation," which Conan-Doyle habitually and erroneously had Sherlock Holmes call "deduction."

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...