Jump to content

Recommended Posts

how is that not a home run?  what's the difference if it hits off of F7's mitt and over the wall?  I don't get it

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

how is that not a home run?  what's the difference if it hits off of F7's mitt and over the wall?  I don't get it

Ball touches F7's glove can be caught for an out (batted ball in flight).
Ball touches LF wall can not be caught for an out (no longer in flight). Touching the wall is like touching the ground.
A HR has to pass over the fence in flight.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ball touches F7's glove can be caught for an out (batted ball in flight).Ball touches LF wall can not be caught for an out (no longer a batted ball). Touching the wall is like touching the ground.
A HR has to pass over the fence in flight.

so a ball that hits the top of the wall and goes over isn't a home run?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

so a ball that hits the top of the wall and goes over isn't a home run?

Top of the wall is beyond the edge of the playing field. This batted ball was not.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Top of the wall is beyond the edge of the playing field. This batted ball was not.

ahhhh..... regardless, I'm off to the coffee room! :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the Reds/Cubs game last night there was a reviewed HR where the ball hit the top of the wall, although it was complicated by potential fan interference.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Fly vs Bounding ball. Hit below the height, so absent a ground rule, it's not a home run (probably causing confusion for Hurdle - there IS a ground rule in Pittsburgh that would have made a play similar to this a home run).

And another reason why Kauffman needs either ground rules or a yellow line, since that add-on railing of theirs above the padding is in play, but has caused confusion and not just last night.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

how is that not a home run?  what's the difference if it hits off of F7's mitt and over the wall?  I don't get it

A ball that strikes a fielder is still in flight, by rule. It may, for example, be caught for an out.

A ball that strikes the wall is not. It may not, for example, be caught for an out.

A batted ball that leaves fair territory in flight is a 4 base award. Not in flight, a 2 base award.

This is black-letter rule, not ground rule.

C'mon Jeff, this ain't rocket science!

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A ball that strikes a fielder is still in flight, by rule. It may, for example, be caught for an out.

A ball that strikes the wall is not. It may not, for example, be caught for an out.

A batted ball that leaves fair territory in flight is a 4 base award. Not in flight, a 2 base award.

This is black-letter rule, not ground rule.

C'mon Jeff, this ain't rocket science!

didn't I come to my senses an hour ago, or didn't you see that?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was thinking home run as well.  My thought was a ball that hits the top of the fence and goes over is a home run.  You learn something new every day.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

didn't I come to my senses an hour ago, or didn't you see that?

Didn't see the last hour. Sorry!

Maybe the bit in my post about "may/may not be caught for an out" will be "value added" for some. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Similar Content

    • By Gfoley4
      http://mediadownloads.mlb.com/mlbam/mp4/2016/09/04/1134692983/1473014662850/asset_2500K.mp4
      I'll admit I didn't watch the full video in its entirety. But I believe this ended with R1 ending up on third base and the B/R at first. Thoughts? 
    • By Thunderheads
      Subtle move, but TR saw it and it scores a run.
      what I don't understand is, why look at the pitcher after awarding R3 home?
      http://m.mlb.com/video/v1120742283/?query=balk
    • By Thunderheads
      what in the hell ?  
      http://m.mlb.com/video/v989893283/?query=umpire
    • By Gfoley4
      http://m.mlb.com/video/topic/63817564/v978911183/laakc-mondesi-collects-bunt-single-angels-protest/
    • By Blind as a bat
      Ok here it is.  1 out runners on 1st and 3rd.  BR hits one over the fence.  R1 and R3 touch all bases.  As BR is rounding 3B and high fiving the coach he misses 3rd.  On appeal when asked who they appeal is for F5 says the third runner.  Ok I call him out and I have 2 runs scored and 2 outs correct?  
      What if it had been R1 missing a base?
×
×
  • Create New...