DutchRobbie 11 Posted March 31, 2011 Report Share Posted March 31, 2011 Was I right or was I wrong? Situation: I'm PU, 1 out , runners on 1st and 3rd. Batter hits a popup to center that''s caught. R3 tags up and scores , R1 remains at 1st So far so good. Ball goes back to F1, who gets ready to pitch to the next batter. One of the fielders tells F1 to appeal because R3 left early. F1 answers loud and clear "Ok, I'll do that', steps on the rubber and tosses the ball to the F5, who steps on the bag. I call a balk, for throwing to a non occupied base while in contact with the rubber. Some discussion, and the game continued. After the game I tried to find wheter or not it was a balk, but got confused. Your thoughts please! Quote Link to post Share on other sites
UmpJM 647 Posted March 31, 2011 Report Share Posted March 31, 2011 Was I right or was I wrong? Situation: 1 out , runners on 1st and 3rd. Batter hits a popup to center that''s caught. R3 tags up and scores , R1 remains at 1st DutchRobbie, Now THAT'S a hard question. I have no idea. JM Quote Link to post Share on other sites
Guest Posted March 31, 2011 Report Share Posted March 31, 2011 Was I right or was I wrong? Situation: 1 out , runners on 1st and 3rd. Batter hits a popup to center that''s caught. R3 tags up and scores , R1 remains at 1st DutchRobbie, Now THAT'S a hard question. I have no idea. JM JM, The offensive team now leads 1-0. R3 has a run scored and 4 total bases, the batter is given a sacrifice and an RBI, and F1 now has an ERA of 45.00 :cheers: Quote Link to post Share on other sites
calablue 15 Posted March 31, 2011 Report Share Posted March 31, 2011 What did you do or not do that you are asking about? All you have done here is describe a play. Were you BU or PU ? Or were you R1 ? :mellow: Quote Link to post Share on other sites
DutchRobbie 11 Posted March 31, 2011 Author Report Share Posted March 31, 2011 OKOK, just hit some button that sent the post sorrrrrry Added the question now Quote Link to post Share on other sites
UmpJM 647 Posted March 31, 2011 Report Share Posted March 31, 2011 OKOK, just hit some button that sent the post sorrrrrry Added the question now DutchRobbie, Ahhh... Well that's a much easier question. I'm afraid you were mistaken. It is perfectly legal for an engaged pitcher to make a (legal) throw to an unoccupied base for the purpose of making an appeal. JM 1 Quote Link to post Share on other sites
calablue 15 Posted March 31, 2011 Report Share Posted March 31, 2011 I agree with JM. After hunting for a while, I actually found an interp stating so in an NAPBL Umpire Manual. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
JaxRolo 3,226 Posted March 31, 2011 Report Share Posted March 31, 2011 I also agree. Legal Appeal. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
mazzamouth 20 Posted March 31, 2011 Report Share Posted March 31, 2011 Legal, and you miss called a balk.. gave a team a run...LOL Quote Link to post Share on other sites
calablue 15 Posted March 31, 2011 Report Share Posted March 31, 2011 OKOK, just hit some button that sent the post sorrrrrry Added the question now and I posted before you added your question Quote Link to post Share on other sites
calablue 15 Posted March 31, 2011 Report Share Posted March 31, 2011 Legal, and you miss called a balk.. gave a team a run...LOL Mazza, Is F1 still required to step toward the base before he throws in this situation? If he is ....maybe he actually did balk. OP doesn't state whether he stepped or not.:question1: Quote Link to post Share on other sites
mstaylor 1,512 Posted March 31, 2011 Report Share Posted March 31, 2011 Yes he needs to step t the base, but he can step and throw for an appeal. What he didn't need to do was go to the rubber. The coach needs his peepee wacked for not teaching how to properly appeal. When will the myth that you have to appeal from the rubber die. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
DutchRobbie 11 Posted March 31, 2011 Author Report Share Posted March 31, 2011 Yes, F1 stepped to the base, as if it was a pickoff instead of an appeal. Thanks all for correcting me, that's a call I won't miss again @Mazza : luckily I only gave them a base (R1 => 2nd base), not a run. The run scored on the sac fly (and by the way, R3 didn't leave early, so the appeal would've been in vain anyway) Quote Link to post Share on other sites
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.