Jump to content

Stump the Ump again


Recommended Posts

OBR

The bullpen mound is on the field of play and S1, a pitcher for the DEFENSIVE team, is warming up when B5 hits a fair ball that curves into the bullpen area. S1, thinking the ball was foul, picks up the ball.

a. That is interference.

b. That is obstruction.

c. B5 is awarded two bases.

d. B5 is awarded bases (or called out) based on the umpire’s judgment as to what would have happened without the interference.

e. S1 is ejected.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

OBR

The bullpen mound is on the field of play and S1, a pitcher for the DEFENSIVE team, is warming up when B5 hits a fair ball that curves into the bullpen area. S1, thinking the ball was foul, picks up the ball.

a. That is interference.

b. That is obstruction.

c. B5 is awarded two bases.

d. B5 is awarded bases (or called out) based on the umpire’s judgment as to what would have happened without the interference.

e. S1 is ejected.

I think that according to rule 3.15 the answer should be: a and d

Link to post
Share on other sites

OBR

The bullpen mound is on the field of play and S1, a pitcher for the DEFENSIVE team, is warming up when B5 hits a fair ball that curves into the bullpen area. S1, thinking the ball was foul, picks up the ball.

a. That is interference.

b. That is obstruction.

c. B5 is awarded two bases.

d. B5 is awarded bases (or called out) based on the umpire’s judgment as to what would have happened without the interference.

e. S1 is ejected.

Is this a referee magazine quiz question? Did they get it worng?

I have a and d in all codes.

Link to post
Share on other sites

OBR

The bullpen mound is on the field of play and S1, a pitcher for the DEFENSIVE team, is warming up when B5 hits a fair ball that curves into the bullpen area. S1, thinking the ball was foul, picks up the ball.

a. That is interference.

b. That is obstruction.

c. B5 is awarded two bases.

d. B5 is awarded bases (or called out) based on the umpire’s judgment as to what would have happened without the interference.

e. S1 is ejected.

Is this a referee magazine quiz question? Did they get it worng?

I have a and d in all codes.

Not sure where it came from. Our UIC asked it in a meeting and a couple people answered b and c

Link to post
Share on other sites

D, and technically A.

Why should the nature of the award be changed by who in the bullpen picks the ball up?

Let's say you've got the Oakland A's ball-boy trying to score another set of digits from the rocket in the third row, and he scoops the ball - you're going to rule via 3.15.

Now, what if the ball is scooped next time around by the bullpen catcher. Some of Jax's association members are saying you're going to alter this ruling over the same mistake?

They're not offensive. They're authorized to be there.. 3.15.

Link to post
Share on other sites

D, and technically A.

Why should the nature of the award be changed by who in the bullpen picks the ball up?

Let's say you've got the Oakland A's ball-boy trying to score another set of digits from the rocket in the third row, and he scoops the ball - you're going to rule via 3.15.

Now, what if the ball is scooped next time around by the bullpen catcher. Some of Jax's association members are saying you're going to alter this ruling over the same mistake?

They're not offensive. They're authorized to be there.. 3.15.

You are correct.

But I think that where the problems lie is that some umpires think that you just call a Ground Rule double when something weird happens. Then when you try to explain it they want to argue.

Link to post
Share on other sites

D, and technically A.

Why should the nature of the award be changed by who in the bullpen picks the ball up?

Let's say you've got the Oakland A's ball-boy trying to score another set of digits from the rocket in the third row, and he scoops the ball - you're going to rule via 3.15.

Now, what if the ball is scooped next time around by the bullpen catcher. Some of Jax's association members are saying you're going to alter this ruling over the same mistake?

They're not offensive. They're authorized to be there.. 3.15.

You are correct.

But I think that where the problems lie is that some umpires think that you just call a Ground Rule double when something weird happens. Then when you try to explain it they want to argue.

And I'll bet you that those that would love to argue the point wore a "Coaches Hat" at some point. :stir

Link to post
Share on other sites

Not sure where it came from. Our UIC asked it in a meeting and a couple people answered b and c

A High School meeting? That explains why they answered with obstruction since it was the defence. Some guys just cant understand that the defence can interfere if its not the actual players in the game

Link to post
Share on other sites

Not sure where it came from. Our UIC asked it in a meeting and a couple people answered b and c

A High School meeting? That explains why they answered with obstruction since it was the defence. Some guys just cant understand that the defence can interfere if its not the actual players in the game

Actually it was our Rec Park Association. That's why I put OBR

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.






×
×
  • Create New...