JaxRolo 3,226 Posted March 31, 2011 Report Share Posted March 31, 2011 OBR The bullpen mound is on the field of play and S1, a pitcher for the DEFENSIVE team, is warming up when B5 hits a fair ball that curves into the bullpen area. S1, thinking the ball was foul, picks up the ball. a. That is interference. b. That is obstruction. c. B5 is awarded two bases. d. B5 is awarded bases (or called out) based on the umpire’s judgment as to what would have happened without the interference. e. S1 is ejected. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
ukce1861 67 Posted March 31, 2011 Report Share Posted March 31, 2011 d 3.15 Quote Link to post Share on other sites
DutchRobbie 11 Posted March 31, 2011 Report Share Posted March 31, 2011 OBR The bullpen mound is on the field of play and S1, a pitcher for the DEFENSIVE team, is warming up when B5 hits a fair ball that curves into the bullpen area. S1, thinking the ball was foul, picks up the ball. a. That is interference. b. That is obstruction. c. B5 is awarded two bases. d. B5 is awarded bases (or called out) based on the umpire’s judgment as to what would have happened without the interference. e. S1 is ejected. I think that according to rule 3.15 the answer should be: a and d Quote Link to post Share on other sites
noumpere 3,272 Posted March 31, 2011 Report Share Posted March 31, 2011 OBR The bullpen mound is on the field of play and S1, a pitcher for the DEFENSIVE team, is warming up when B5 hits a fair ball that curves into the bullpen area. S1, thinking the ball was foul, picks up the ball. a. That is interference. b. That is obstruction. c. B5 is awarded two bases. d. B5 is awarded bases (or called out) based on the umpire’s judgment as to what would have happened without the interference. e. S1 is ejected. Is this a referee magazine quiz question? Did they get it worng? I have a and d in all codes. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
JaxRolo 3,226 Posted March 31, 2011 Author Report Share Posted March 31, 2011 OBR The bullpen mound is on the field of play and S1, a pitcher for the DEFENSIVE team, is warming up when B5 hits a fair ball that curves into the bullpen area. S1, thinking the ball was foul, picks up the ball. a. That is interference. b. That is obstruction. c. B5 is awarded two bases. d. B5 is awarded bases (or called out) based on the umpire’s judgment as to what would have happened without the interference. e. S1 is ejected. Is this a referee magazine quiz question? Did they get it worng? I have a and d in all codes. Not sure where it came from. Our UIC asked it in a meeting and a couple people answered b and c Quote Link to post Share on other sites
Guest Posted March 31, 2011 Report Share Posted March 31, 2011 D, and technically A. Why should the nature of the award be changed by who in the bullpen picks the ball up? Let's say you've got the Oakland A's ball-boy trying to score another set of digits from the rocket in the third row, and he scoops the ball - you're going to rule via 3.15. Now, what if the ball is scooped next time around by the bullpen catcher. Some of Jax's association members are saying you're going to alter this ruling over the same mistake? They're not offensive. They're authorized to be there.. 3.15. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
JaxRolo 3,226 Posted March 31, 2011 Author Report Share Posted March 31, 2011 D, and technically A. Why should the nature of the award be changed by who in the bullpen picks the ball up? Let's say you've got the Oakland A's ball-boy trying to score another set of digits from the rocket in the third row, and he scoops the ball - you're going to rule via 3.15. Now, what if the ball is scooped next time around by the bullpen catcher. Some of Jax's association members are saying you're going to alter this ruling over the same mistake? They're not offensive. They're authorized to be there.. 3.15. You are correct. But I think that where the problems lie is that some umpires think that you just call a Ground Rule double when something weird happens. Then when you try to explain it they want to argue. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
NFUA_44 164 Posted April 1, 2011 Report Share Posted April 1, 2011 D, and technically A. Why should the nature of the award be changed by who in the bullpen picks the ball up? Let's say you've got the Oakland A's ball-boy trying to score another set of digits from the rocket in the third row, and he scoops the ball - you're going to rule via 3.15. Now, what if the ball is scooped next time around by the bullpen catcher. Some of Jax's association members are saying you're going to alter this ruling over the same mistake? They're not offensive. They're authorized to be there.. 3.15. You are correct. But I think that where the problems lie is that some umpires think that you just call a Ground Rule double when something weird happens. Then when you try to explain it they want to argue. And I'll bet you that those that would love to argue the point wore a "Coaches Hat" at some point. :stir Quote Link to post Share on other sites
noumpere 3,272 Posted April 1, 2011 Report Share Posted April 1, 2011 Not sure where it came from. Our UIC asked it in a meeting and a couple people answered b and c A High School meeting? That explains why they answered with obstruction since it was the defence. Some guys just cant understand that the defence can interfere if its not the actual players in the game Quote Link to post Share on other sites
JaxRolo 3,226 Posted April 1, 2011 Author Report Share Posted April 1, 2011 Not sure where it came from. Our UIC asked it in a meeting and a couple people answered b and c A High School meeting? That explains why they answered with obstruction since it was the defence. Some guys just cant understand that the defence can interfere if its not the actual players in the game Actually it was our Rec Park Association. That's why I put OBR Quote Link to post Share on other sites
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.