Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Gfoley4

Don't see this everyday in MLB

Recommended Posts

That would not explain the no call: a live ball is either a pitched ball, a batted ball, or a thrown ball. Deflection here would not change the status of the ball.

I'd guess the ruling was either (a) the fielder did not deliberately throw his glove (he changed directions suddenly), so the detached equipment provision would not apply, or (b) the glove never contacted the ball.

With a 3 base award, we don't make that call unless we are certain beyond any doubt that the fielder deliberately threw the glove and that it hit the ball.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7.05 Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance—

(c) Three bases, if a fielder deliberately throws his glove at and touches a fair ball. The
ball is in play and the batter may advance to home base at his peril;

Before I looked up the rule I was thinking it addressed a batted ball, but it says fair ball. 

If he intentionally threw his glove and hit the ball, it should be a three base award. The deflection is irrelevant.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

After watching that video twice, I am "certain beyond any doubt that the fielder deliberately threw the glove and that it hit the ball."   I would have awarded 3 Bases.  

The umpires kicked this one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

After watching that video twice, I am "certain beyond any doubt that the fielder deliberately threw the glove and that it hit the ball."   I would have awarded 3 Bases.  

The umpires kicked this one.

​I disagree. He may just have his glove on quite loose, and the high-speed direction of change could have meant that the momentum simply made it fly off his hand.

I'd like to see a close up of Simmons from beginning to end on that play to know for sure, but from the angles we get on the video, I'm not 100% sure that it was intentional.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

  • Similar Content

    • By Thunderheads
      Ok ...
      I got this ad from Wilson on my Facebook feed today and for fun ...I posted the following:
      HYPOTHETICAL:
      Your first HS game starts with the pitcher walking to the mound with this new customized Wilson glove. What do you do....

      NOW .... I did this primarily because although TECHNICALLY ILLEGAL ...the amount of gray isn't egregious and I thought, well maybe I see if something is said, as to not be a "Barney Fife" and be an OOO right out of the gate.
      Thoughts? 
    • By Gfoley4
      http://mediadownloads.mlb.com/mlbam/mp4/2016/09/04/1134692983/1473014662850/asset_2500K.mp4
      I'll admit I didn't watch the full video in its entirety. But I believe this ended with R1 ending up on third base and the B/R at first. Thoughts? 
    • By Thunderheads
      Subtle move, but TR saw it and it scores a run.
      what I don't understand is, why look at the pitcher after awarding R3 home?
      http://m.mlb.com/video/v1120742283/?query=balk
    • By Thunderheads
      No problem w/ the call on the field ......... but I can't these replays showing Lynn beating Cunningham to the bag ....
       
      .Your browser does not support iframes.
    • By Thunderheads
      This is 6.05 (g), yes?  I need more coffee obviously
      Your browser does not support iframes. 
×
×
  • Create New...