Jump to content
ElkOil

Base Award Confusion

Recommended Posts

There was another thread on this, but it only got me more confused when I read it, so I was hoping for some clarification.  Here's a hypothetical FED situation:

 

Two out.  R1.  BR hits a high fly to the outfield.  R1 takes off and rounds 2B.  Ball lands uncaught and the throw is to 3B in an attempt to put out R1.  Ball is overthrown and goes into dead ball territory.

 

My understanding is that runners are awarded two bases per 8-3-3.  However, in discussions, my understanding is that bases are awarded at TOP, which would mean R1 can't advance beyond 3B.

 

I'm sure this isn't correct, but I'm confused about applying the TOP rule on this (which, by the way, I can't find in the book).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I'm sure this isn't correct, but I'm confused about applying the TOP rule on this (which, by the way, I can't find in the book).

 

You want to review 8-3-5, especially the last 4 sentences. ;)

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

I'm sure this isn't correct, but I'm confused about applying the TOP rule on this (which, by the way, I can't find in the book).

 

You want to review 8-3-5, especially the last 4 sentences. ;)

 

 

The baserunning awards table is also a good cheat sheet (for this one, two bases #6)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

I'm sure this isn't correct, but I'm confused about applying the TOP rule on this (which, by the way, I can't find in the book).

 

You want to review 8-3-5, especially the last 4 sentences. ;)

 

 

The baserunning awards table is also a good cheat sheet (for this one, two bases #6)

 

Yes, but you need to check it with the rule.  It (and the dead ball table in rule 5) have had some typos in the past (I haven't checked recently)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

 

Yes, but you need to check it with the rule.  It (and the dead ball table in rule 5) have had some typos in the past (I haven't checked recently)

 

 Agreed. Dead ball table at least has references to make it easier to circle back and verify quickly.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...