Jump to content
BuckeyeMike

2 Occupying Same Base ?

Recommended Posts

Had this the other night:

 

R2, R3, 1 Out.

 

R3 gets in a rundown between 3B/Home.  R2 goes ahead and advances to 3B and is standing on the bag.

They get the out on the rundown, but during post-game discussion, my partner states that had they thrown to 3B and tagged R2 standing on the bag while R3 was in the rundown....THAT would have been an out.

 

Is this correct?    I know 2 runners can't occupy the same base, but I thought that only applied to 2 runners physically touching said base.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Had this the other night:

 

R2, R3, 1 Out.

 

R3

 

Feel free to add any details that might help us comment on the play.  ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Had this the other night:

R2, R3, 1 Out.

R3 gets in a rundown between 3B/Home. R2 goes ahead and advances to 3B and is standing on the bag.

They get the out on the rundown, but during post-game discussion, my partner states that had they thrown to 3B and tagged R2 standing on the bag while R3 was in the rundown....THAT would have been an out.

Is this correct? I know 2 runners can't occupy the same base, but I thought that only applied to 2 runners physically touching said base.

That is incorrect.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Had this the other night:

 

R2, R3, 1 Out.

 

R3 gets in a rundown between 3B/Home.  R2 goes ahead and advances to 3B and is standing on the bag.

They get the out on the rundown, but during post-game discussion, my partner states that had they thrown to 3B and tagged R2 standing on the bag while R3 was in the rundown....THAT would have been an out.

 

Is this correct?    I know 2 runners can't occupy the same base, but I thought that only applied to 2 runners physically touching said base.

Not correct!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No. Even though he has legally acquired 3B, he must vacate if original R3 should reclaim rights to the bag. But, with only one runner on a base, they are never out if tagged (save for some weird appeal type issue. Not the op.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Had this the other night:

 

R2, R3, 1 Out.

 

R3 gets in a rundown between 3B/Home.  R2 goes ahead and advances to 3B and is standing on the bag.

They get the out on the rundown, but during post-game discussion, my partner states that had they thrown to 3B and tagged R2 standing on the bag while R3 was in the rundown....THAT would have been an out.

 

Is this correct?    I know 2 runners can't occupy the same base, but I thought that only applied to 2 runners physically touching said base.

 

At a minimum, your partner's statement deserves Sheldon's look of haughty derision:

 

tumblr_l31hr6RBzG1qzcg3s.gif

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is it the same in NFHS, NCAA and OBR rule-sets ?    This guy does college ball and claims he's called this before, and that it was confirmed to be correct.  I still couldn't believe it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Think of this play:

R2 and R3 with no outs. Batter hits a high pop up to short left field. Both runners go half way not knowing if it will be caught or not. The ball drops and both runners advance, but R3 stumbles. R2 slides in just before the tag at third but he's tagged while in contact with third before R3 can touch home. Under your partner's scenario, R2 should be called out.

Umm, hellll no!

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is it the same in NFHS, NCAA and OBR rule-sets ? This guy does college ball and claims he's called this before, and that it was confirmed to be correct. I still couldn't believe it.

It is the same all around the world!

Even at the T-ball level where @Jock works/babysits

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There's an extremely long and silly thread on this exact topic, which you could read if you're so inclined.

 

Cliff notes:

Rules lawyering aside, of course he's not out, as everyone who's ever watched a baseball game knows.

Everyone EXCEPT OP's partner...

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No. Even though he has legally acquired 3B, he must vacate if original R3 should reclaim rights to the bag. But, with only one runner on a base, they are never out if tagged (save for some weird appeal type issue. Not the op.)

This statement is not 100% true.  A runner is out on a tag while on the base if forced to vacate the base by virtue of the batter becoming a runner. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No. Even though he has legally acquired 3B, he must vacate if original R3 should reclaim rights to the bag. But, with only one runner on a base, they are never out if tagged (save for some weird appeal type issue. Not the op.)

This statement is not 100% true.  A runner is out on a tag while on the base if forced to vacate the base by virtue of the batter becoming a runner.

off topic but true. But that's not the op and not to what I was referring

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...