Jump to content
  • 0
Guest Jsikula93

Stealing Third, Batter Int?

Question

Guest Jsikula93

Hey everyone,

 

I didn't have a call to make for this question, but I've heard different explanations from different people.

 

Situation: Runner on 2nd. On the pitch R2 attempts to steal so the catcher...

 

a) because of a wild pitch/passed ball, locates the ball behind/beside him and throws to third

b) catches the pitch cleanly, and throws the ball to third

 

For both of these situations, where would the batter have to be for you to call batter interference?

 

Originally I believed on a cleanly caught ball as in (b), the batter MUST stay in the batters box. If the batter steps out and the catcher (who stepped out to make the throw) hits the batter with his throw then this would be interference. Regarding (a), is the batter required to move out of the batters box to avoid interfering with the play?

 

Thanks in advance!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Basically, if the batter does anything to INT, you have BI. Without a play at home, I tend to think that as long as he doesnt move, he's entitled to stay in the box. However, if F2 has to hunt for the ball, the batter needs to clear or be in jeopardy. And when he clears, he's gotta clear in such a manner that his movements don't put him in possible position to INT. Clear as mud?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

b) makes "any other movement" that gets in the catcher's way. He's entitled to a normal swing.

 

a) if he has time, he must move out of the way.  Unclear from your description whether he does (if F2 basically doesn't need to move from his position, then the batter probably doesn't have time to move.  Only of the ball is kicked -- i Don't know, -- 1/2 way out of the dirt circle or so.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Similar Content

    • By MR20
      Hi all, the end result of this play was called Interference. Is that the correct call?
      With the bases loaded and one out, the batter hit a grounder to 3B. The runner from 3B scored. The third basemen fielded the ball and tug 3B for the force out on the runner from 2B (for the 2nd out) and threw the ball to 1B hoping for a double play. However, the throw to 1B was errant and the batter was safe. The runner from 1B went all the way to 3B during this time.
      Here is where it gets crazy. The runner who was forced out at 3B thought he was safe and ran towards home on the errant throw. The defensive team threw home and the runner was called out (again) for the final out of the inning. The defense left the field. The offensive team realized what happened and argued that the runner couldn't be called out twice. Their stance was that the play should be ruled dead and the batter, who had gone to 2B when the defense threw home, should be returned to 1B and there should still be 2 outs.
      After a long discussion, the umpires ruled that the runner wasn't out because he was tagged out at home (the second time he'd been called out) but he was out because of interference. That was the final out and end of the inning.
      Was that the correct call? I had never seen anything like it before.
      Thank you,
      Mike
    • By johnnyg08
      R2 (stealing), R3 (not stealing)
      Batter squares to bunt and hits the catcher's mitt while trying to bunt the pitch. The plate umpire correctly calls interference on the catcher. The pitch is fouled off out of play. The umpire begins to enforce the penalty.
      Without wondering why R3 isn't stealing, but R2 is stealing state the proper enforcement below. Feel free to cite any applicable case plays, rule citations, etc...
       
       
    • By basejester
      Little League Major Softball tournament.  Ball is dead.  Defense wishes to appeal a runner missed home.  Coaches are yelling instructions regarding the appeal process across the field.  Offensive coach tells his batter to swing if it's a strike.  Pitcher toes the rubber.  Home plate umpire puts the ball in play.
        Pitcher steps off and then moves about 3' to her left of the rubber and throws the ball overhand toward home.  (None of the players speak during the play.) The catcher moves forward toward the pitcher.  The ball comes in near the outside corner of the plate.   The batter swings at the ball and hits the catcher's mitt and hand.  The catcher is unable to catch the ball.  No runners attempt to advance.  Home plate umpire calls time for injured catcher.   What's your ruling?
    • By jms1425
      Stumbled across this video that was posted 11 years ago (YouTube is that old??).... My initial thought was that F1 is no longer protected after the ball hit him and bounced away by more than "a step and a reach", thus this would be obstruction on F1, so BR gets 1st.
      Thoughts?
       
       
       
×
×
  • Create New...