Jump to content

Quick question


tldavis19

Recommended Posts

I had a fight in a rec Cal Ripken game last night. I ejected both participants in the fight and one of the coaches asked for a rule cite as to why I ejected both players. I know in FED you eject both participants and anyone who leaves their position/dugout except for a coach trying to break it up. I'm not sure what the exact ruling is as far as participants go in Cal Ripken. Also, is it an out for the rest of the game when that player's spot comes up in the lineup regardless of whether or not the team has 9 or more players?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I don't think "fighting" appears in the OBR book. But I came across this language, from a youth league website: "The LSO Youth Baseball Association is affiliated with Babe Ruth League, Inc., which includes the Cal Ripken Baseball (formerly Bambino) league. These organizations have adopted the Official Baseball Rules, published by the Commissioner of Baseball, as their primary playing rules." If OBR governs Ripken ball unless there's some modification, then, as cyclonehokiece suggested, OBR 9.01 (a), © and (d); (d) is the "unsportsmanlike conduct" language. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Reading the other post, I would guess the coach didn't want his player, who defended himself after the other player tackled him, to be ejected.  Not an unreasonable stance from the coach's point of view.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

"A player involved in a confrontation while remaining at his position and judged to have been defending himself and not contributing to the incident will not be ejected, fined or suspended." 2014 PBUC 9.18, On-Field Behavior Policy (page 110).

 

From that other thread, "The catcher ends up wrapped around the offensive players ankles trying to bring him down and it was on. The taller kid ends up on top of the smaller kid pushing his face into the ground." Maybe a HTBT to judge whether the runner was defending or contributing, but we'd probably call this, in my day job, simple assault by mutual consent.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Similar Content

    • Guest Tad
      By Guest Tad
      Its a timed ball game. With new inning starting as last out is recorded. Tie ball game runners on 1st and 2nd 2 outs. 15 seconds left on the clock. Batter hits a 1 hopper over the fence forna dead ball ground rule double. The runner from 2nd scores but the runner from 1st touches 2nd and thinks game is over. He back tracks to celebrate at 1st. With about 6 seconds to go the batter/runner passes the runner between 1st and 2nd. We call time and call the out. And new inning starts. Is this the correcr call 
    • By Kevin_K
      https://www.ncaa.com/news/baseball/article/2018-08-16/college-baseball-video-review-challenge-system-approved
      It seemed as though it would only be a matter of time before the IBB and no fake to third would be implemented. The changes on pitchers' positioning is going to be problematic unless there is a universal effort to enforce the new standards.
      The HBP and runners staying at their bases changes are the most interesting to me. I wonder what the penalty will be for runners leaving their bases during a defensive conference.
    • By Kevin_K
      Saw this today
      https://chsaanow.com/2018-07-05/2018-19-baseball-rules-xhanges-focus-on-pitching-mechanics/
    • By MadMax
      This past weekend, I was acting as onsite UIC, and as I was rolling the cooler full of ice, water, and towels from one field to another, replenishing the guys between innings, one of my crews had a situation happen right in front of me which I was very proud of how they handled it... without botching it or consulting me or the TD.
      R1, R2, 2 outs, X-2 count (balls not relevant). Swinging strike, pitch makes contact with the bat, and ends up... in the F2's armpit, trapped there. F2 gets up, flips the ball towards the mound, and starts trotting towards his dugout while the DT fans applaud his outstanding catch... 
      ... but was it a catch?
      The 3BC (OTHC) starts bellowing, "That's not a catch! That's not a catch! Get the rule right!" while the PU steps back, and instead of making an Out mechanic, motions and calls, "Time!". I refrained from saying anything, as much as my younger umpire-self would have liked to, instead leaving it to this crew to determine. The PU motioned in the BU, and they met just in front of the mound. At this point, both the OTHC and the DTHC are on the field, and the PU has to signal to both of them to back off and return to their dugout areas, before he resumes discussing with the BU. Of course, the DT parents are, to a person, clamoring, "But it didn't hit the ground! He caught it!" I'm standing right next to the Field Marshal (FM, an employee of the TD), telling him, "It has to be the glove first for a foul tip. If it hits anywhere else on the catcher's body, like his mask or CP, it's a foul ball."
      At that moment, the PU disengages from the BU, heads back towards the plate, and announces, "Foul ball." DTHC approaches PU while his players resume their positions, and PU gives him a brief explanation, ending with, "My UIC is standing right there (points at me), he'll tell you the same thing."
      "Play!" Next pitch is a line-out to F5. Oh well. Nicely handled, Blue!
    • By BrianC14
      Does anyone have this ?    Is it worth the $20 ?
      Thanks,
       






×
×
  • Create New...