Jump to content
  • 0

ball out of play


Guest Norman Croy

Question

Guest Norman Croy

No outs, runner on first. Line drive to SS Caught. R1 retreats back to first as throw is attempting to put him out.

Throw is (a) Muffed by first baseman and goes out of play or (b) is never touched by 1st baseman and goes out 

of play. Please advise of base awards, using OBR.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

7 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

R1 to third in all codes for both a and b. F3 touching it or not is irrelevant.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

 

Agreed. Also, even though it was not asked, probably useful to note that R1 must still retouch first.

  • Like 4
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

 

 

Agreed. Also, even though it was not asked, probably useful to note that R1 must still retouch first.

 

Only if the defense appeals. ;) (unless this was HS in whtever the one state is where the umpire just calls the runner out)

 

To the OP -- base awards for throws out of play (except by pitchers on the rubber) are always two bases.  It might be two bases from time of pitch, or it might be two bases from time of throw (and here they are the same).  It's never "the base he was going to plus one" and it's never "from the time the ball went out of play".

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

 

 

 

Agreed. Also, even though it was not asked, probably useful to note that R1 must still retouch first.

 

Only if the defense appeals. ;) (unless this was HS in whtever the one state is where the umpire just calls the runner out)

 

To the OP -- base awards for throws out of play (except by pitchers on the rubber) are always two bases.  It might be two bases from time of pitch, or it might be two bases from time of throw (and here they are the same).  It's never "the base he was going to plus one" and it's never "from the time the ball went out of play".

 

 

True. Although I guess it would actually be more accurate to say he must retouch, but it only matters if the defense appeals. And there are lots of things like that.   :)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

In the OP we have a ball thrown out of play which is the first play by an infielder (The catch of the line drive is not a play).  Two bases from time of pitch. R1 awarded third base.

 

Correct and I agree.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.






×
×
  • Create New...