Jump to content

I allowed an illegal player last night


mrumpiresir

Recommended Posts

It was a Fed JV game and I fixed it the best I could. I really goofed. 

 

VT has a DH for F1.  Along about the 5th inning, the coach tells me the DH is now pitching and F1 is going to F3 and will bat in the old F3 slot. The former F3 is now out of the game. I allowed it. The HT coach didn't say a word.

 

Now this would be legal under pro rules, and for some reason I mixed them up. But the whole time I have this feeling that something is not right.  So with a 2 and 1 count, I realize no way can the former DH and the defensive player for whom he is batting cannot be on defense at the same time.  I call time and both coaches and my partner have a long but amiable discussion.  I decided the only thing to do was put the original F3 back in and the original F1 would be out of the game.  I did tell the coach he could reenter.

 

Guess I'm just getting old and confused.  But it's better than the alternative.

 

Would you have done differently?

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It was a Fed JV game and I fixed it the best I could. I really goofed. 

 

VT has a DH for F1.  Along about the 5th inning, the coach tells me the DH is now pitching and F1 is going to F3 and will bat in the old F3 slot. The former F3 is now out of the game. I allowed it. The HT coach didn't say a word.

 

Now this would be legal under pro rules, and for some reason I mixed them up. But the whole time I have this feeling that something is not right.  So with a 2 and 1 count, I realize no way can the former DH and the defensive player for whom he is batting cannot be on defense at the same time.  I call time and both coaches and my partner have a long but amiable discussion.  I decided the only thing to do was put the original F3 back in and the original F1 would be out of the game.  I did tell the coach he could reenter.

 

Guess I'm just getting old and confused.  But it's better than the alternative.

 

Would you have done differently?

 

In a JV game, I would have done what you have done.

 

By rule, the illegal sub (which would be F1) would be out (if on offense) and restricted to the dugout. F3 could come back in the proper spot if he had reentry privileges,  and if he doesn't have them, he's done for the game.

 

Just because you allowed it doesn't make it legal. I say this to contrast it with a situation in which the coach asks you if it is legal, and you say yes. Then you have 10-2-3l to help you.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...