Jump to content
ChrisMoUmp

Ball overthrown on baserunning appeal

Recommended Posts

Hypothetical Question - FED rules.

 

R3, no outs. Batter hits fly ball to left field.  R3 leaves too early on the tag and is safe at home without a play.  While the ball is still live (no verbal appeals can be made until ball is dead/time is called), the coach tells the pitcher (who now has the ball) to throw to the 3rd baseman to appeal, only the pitcher air-mails the throw over the 3B head, but not out of play.  What do we have?  Does the defense lose the appeal if they didn't successfully attempt it?

 

I was plate umpire yesterday and this play came up, except the runner did legally tag at 3B, so he was safe anyway, but wondered what would have happened had he left early and this happened.

 

Thanks all

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If the throw hadn't left the field of play, I see no reason the fielder can't pick up the ball, run over and step on 3rd to complete the appeal. 

  • Like 4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Granted MLBUM is not FED-related, but this is specifically covered under Interpretation #34 in MLBUM.  In OBR, the appeal can still be made because no intervening play/attempted play has occured (and this is not "erring").

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Richvee & Cricket are correct.

 

Under both FED & OBR, the defense would still have the opportunity to complete the appeal, provided the ball did not go out of play.

 

Under NCAA, it depends...

 

JM

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Richvee & Cricket are correct.

 

Under both FED & OBR, the defense would still have the opportunity to complete the appeal, provided the ball did not go out of play.

 

Under NCAA, it depends...

 

JM

And under FED (as this was) even if the ball went out of play they could still appeal again and it would be granted.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you everyone for your replies, along the lines of what I was thinking but didn't see anything specifically in the NFHS rulebook or casebook for this scenario.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Richvee & Cricket are correct.

 

Under both FED & OBR, the defense would still have the opportunity to complete the appeal, provided the ball did not go out of play.

 

Under NCAA, it depends...

 

JM

And under FED (as this was) even if the ball went out of play they could still appeal again and it would be granted.

 

Where in the NFHS rulebook does it say an appeal can still be granted if the first appeal attempt is thrown out of play? I'm not questioning your comment I'm just a bit rusty on my FED rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

Richvee & Cricket are correct.

 

Under both FED & OBR, the defense would still have the opportunity to complete the appeal, provided the ball did not go out of play.

 

Under NCAA, it depends...

 

JM

And under FED (as this was) even if the ball went out of play they could still appeal again and it would be granted.

 

Where in the NFHS rulebook does it say an appeal can still be granted if the first appeal attempt is thrown out of play? I'm not questioning your comment I'm just a bit rusty on my FED rules.

 

I don't think he meant that the ball went out of play during the first appeal attempt. I think he meant went out of play before the appeal attempt.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

And under FED (as this was) even if the ball went out of play they could still appeal again and it would be granted.

 

Where in the NFHS rulebook does it say an appeal can still be granted if the first appeal attempt is thrown out of play? I'm not questioning your comment I'm just a bit rusty on my FED rules.

 

Not the RB. It's in the CB 2.29.6 B

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

 

Richvee & Cricket are correct.

 

Under both FED & OBR, the defense would still have the opportunity to complete the appeal, provided the ball did not go out of play.

 

Under NCAA, it depends...

 

JM

And under FED (as this was) even if the ball went out of play they could still appeal again and it would be granted.

 

Where in the NFHS rulebook does it say an appeal can still be granted if the first appeal attempt is thrown out of play? I'm not questioning your comment I'm just a bit rusty on my FED rules.

 

I don't think he meant that the ball went out of play during the first appeal attempt. I think he meant went out of play before the appeal attempt.

 

Rolo,

 

I think he meant the ball went out of play during the first appeal attempt.

 

JM

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

 

 

Richvee & Cricket are correct.

 

Under both FED & OBR, the defense would still have the opportunity to complete the appeal, provided the ball did not go out of play.

 

Under NCAA, it depends...

 

JM

And under FED (as this was) even if the ball went out of play they could still appeal again and it would be granted.

 

Where in the NFHS rulebook does it say an appeal can still be granted if the first appeal attempt is thrown out of play? I'm not questioning your comment I'm just a bit rusty on my FED rules.

 

I don't think he meant that the ball went out of play during the first appeal attempt. I think he meant went out of play before the appeal attempt.

 

Rolo,

 

I think he meant the ball went out of play during the first appeal attempt.

 

JM

 

Yep, went back and re-read. My bad! Another case of CRS.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

 

Richvee & Cricket are correct.

 

Under both FED & OBR, the defense would still have the opportunity to complete the appeal, provided the ball did not go out of play.

 

Under NCAA, it depends...

 

JM

And under FED (as this was) even if the ball went out of play they could still appeal again and it would be granted.

 

Where in the NFHS rulebook does it say an appeal can still be granted if the first appeal attempt is thrown out of play? I'm not questioning your comment I'm just a bit rusty on my FED rules.

 

I don't think he meant that the ball went out of play during the first appeal attempt. I think he meant went out of play before the appeal attempt.

 

Either way, the appeal is still allowed in FED.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd like to make sure I have this right. 

R3, less than 2 out. fly out to F9. R3 tags and scores, but leaves early. 

F9 sails a throw over F5's head into DBT. (Puig comes to mind here)

 

1. FED can still appeal R3 leaving early, either by DB appeal, or proper appeal when the ball is put back into play.

2. OBR - The defense lost it's right to appeal because of the overthrow during continuous action? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Richvee,

 

No, if it's a live ball "continuous action" appeal when the ball goes out of play, the defense does not lose it's right to appeal, even in OBR.

 

JM

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Richvee,

 

No, if it's a live ball "continuous action" appeal when the ball goes out of play, the defense does not lose it's right to appeal, even in OBR.

 

JM

Thanks. That's what I thought, but reading this thread, I was beginning to wonder. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Richvee,

 

No, if it's a live ball "continuous action" appeal when the ball goes out of play, the defense does not lose it's right to appeal, even in OBR.

 

JM

Thanks. That's what I thought, but reading this thread, I was beginning to wonder. 

 

The difference is in the similar play where the ball goes back to the pitcher (not that this is required) and play is relaxed.  Now F1 wants to appeal and throws the ball over F5's head and into DBT.

 

OBR:  No further appeal.

FED:  Can still appeal.

NCAA:  It depends (on whether OTHER runners advanced on the overthrow) 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

 

And under FED (as this was) even if the ball went out of play they could still appeal again and it would be granted.

 

Where in the NFHS rulebook does it say an appeal can still be granted if the first appeal attempt is thrown out of play? I'm not questioning your comment I'm just a bit rusty on my FED rules.

 

Not the RB. It's in the CB 2.29.6 B

 

 

 

@ricka56 is correct.  It is not in the rule book. (clarified in the casebook.)

 

Specifically, 

This OBR 7.10 phrase:

â–  If the defensive team on its first appeal errs, a request for a second appeal on the same runner at the same base shall not be allowed by the umpire.

 is missing from NFHS:

 

So, because it is not in the NFHS rulebook, it makes the subsequent appeal legal. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Similar Content

    • By jms1425
      NCAA rules (i.e. no dead ball appeals)
      While the ball is dead, the defense attempts to make an appeal ("runner left early" or "runner missed the base"whatever - the play is immaterial to this question).
      Does the umpire responsible for the call a) make a "soft" safe signal (not indicating judgment on the playing action, but denying the appeal, without saying he is denying the appeal), or say something like "the ball is dead" and making no signal or further comment?
    • By basejester
      Little League Major Softball tournament.  Ball is dead.  Defense wishes to appeal a runner missed home.  Coaches are yelling instructions regarding the appeal process across the field.  Offensive coach tells his batter to swing if it's a strike.  Pitcher toes the rubber.  Home plate umpire puts the ball in play.
        Pitcher steps off and then moves about 3' to her left of the rubber and throws the ball overhand toward home.  (None of the players speak during the play.) The catcher moves forward toward the pitcher.  The ball comes in near the outside corner of the plate.   The batter swings at the ball and hits the catcher's mitt and hand.  The catcher is unable to catch the ball.  No runners attempt to advance.  Home plate umpire calls time for injured catcher.   What's your ruling?
    • By LMSANS
      Opening day is tomorrow for NJ HS.  Here is part of an email from our association interpreter, a very opinionated individual...
      We do not go to our partner on a check swing because the coach has requested it.  We can go to our partner IMMEDIATELY if needed.  We all must be consistent in this mechanic all the time.  Coaches have told me and umpires that some umpires still go when requested by coach.  Please stop that and be consistent and the coaches will understand better and not ask.
      While I know that we are not required to in HS, but I have always done it as long as the coach hasn't been a d!ck about it.
       
    • By MadMax
      R1, R2, 1 out. OT has been running the bases like a merry-go-round for the past inning, and has racked up 5 runs. 1B to 3B, 2B to plate, the works.
      Towering fly ball to F8. Flat sky, so nearly everybody loses sight of it (this umpire, as PU, included), but figure it has to be somewhere towards centerfield. R2 figures that, based on F8's previous body of botched catch attempts work, he'll take his chances and reaches 3B and rounds it towards HP. R1 follows suit, and is nearly to 2B when F8 actually... holy crap how'd he find it?... catches it. "Catch!" voices my BU.
      Now panic ensues. R1 taps on R2 (never breaks the plane of it, just touches on the front edge), then retreats to 1B in a mad dash while F8 throws a... oh no... pond-skipper to F3, who can't field it cleanly and can't secure it before R1 arrives at 1B, touches it, then at the pleading of his coaches and fans heads to 2B (it turns out, these pleas and promptings were to R2 to return to 2B). While this is going on, R2 suddenly figures out he has to head back and tag up, so retouches 3B, and heads back towards 2B. F3 now throws to 2B, but R1 has already "safely" arrived there, and is sitting on it after sliding into it. F6 catches throw with his foot on the bag, and then tags R1.
      Who is (technically) out?
      FWIW, we called R2 out on the touch of 2B by F6 in possession of the ball. I made a point of saying, "That (point at) runner is out!" Was there an out sooner that we missed? Is R2 the one who is the third out or is R1 the third out?
    • By Mister B
      While reading the LL rule book, I try to come up with scenarios to confound them. It's LL the more you think it can't happen, the more likely it is to happen.
      First situation, B hits and heads for first hard. F3 has his foot on top of the base, covering most of it. BR would have been safe but jumps over/goes around the base to avoid an injury. Would you call obstruction? Is it obstruction? 
      Second situation, 1 out runners at 1B and 2B. A hit to deep right, for a triple with R1 and R2 scoring. R1 missed touching 2B. DT appeals by touching 2B and calling that he's out. R1 is out and his run is removed. I'm thinking that nothing happens with R2 or BR because R2 was out before they passed him. Am I correct? 
      Same situation but with 2 outs. R1 is out by force upon the appeal, therefore no runs are scored. Correct? 
      Thanks. I guessing that regardless of the appeal the out occurs when it should have happened, not upon appeal. 
×
×
  • Create New...