LMSANS 590 Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 From Referee March 2008 R2,0 outs B1 hits a fair fly ball that appears to be a routine catch for F6. However, R2 collides with F6 near second base, causing her to drop the ball. looking for the ruling and the rule set. :wave: Quote Link to post Share on other sites
JohnT 10 Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 If it was routine to F6, isn't it an IFF? And if I understand it correctly, if the fly is caught, the runners have to tag; if it is not caught they can advance at their own discretion. So, since R2 collided with F6 and prevented him from catching the ball, I would call interference on R2, and call him out. Or, am I way off? :wave: Quote Link to post Share on other sites
mstaylor 1,512 Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 I not sure about the different codes but I would think it would be a dead ball, R2 out on the interference and, this is probably a rule set difference here, BR out on the catch. What do know is it isn't an IFF, R2 only. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
JohnT 10 Posted January 29, 2009 Report Share Posted January 29, 2009 Oh, that would make a difference. B) Quote Link to post Share on other sites
jim knight 23 Posted January 30, 2009 Report Share Posted January 30, 2009 Dead ball or time / R2 out / BR at first... that is what I would call / wouldnt have time to look it up. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
jim knight 23 Posted February 2, 2009 Report Share Posted February 2, 2009 Larry... are you going to give us the ruling and rule set on this play? Quote Link to post Share on other sites
LMSANS 590 Posted February 3, 2009 Author Report Share Posted February 3, 2009 From Referee March 2008 R2,0 outs B1 hits a fair fly ball that appears to be a routine catch for F6. However, R2 collides with F6 near second base, causing her to drop the ball. looking for the ruling and the rule set. Here we have some differences: The ball is immediately dead and both R2 and B1 are out. ASA 8-7L Ex NCAA 12.19 Effect, Exception 2 The ball is immediately dead, R2 is out, B1 is awarded first base. NFHS 8-6-10a USSSA FP 9-18G USSSA SP 8-5B :WTF Quote Link to post Share on other sites
umpire148 10 Posted May 3, 2011 Report Share Posted May 3, 2011 :rolleyes: Hai again... For this situation First if it is IFF, B1 is out and R2 is out for interference. Second if it is not IFF, B1 safe at first, R2 out. tq..... Quote Link to post Share on other sites
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.