Jump to content
Umpire-Empire locks topics which have not been active in the last year. The thread you are viewing hasn't been active in 4455 days so you will not be able to post. We do recommend you starting a new topic to find out what's new in the world of umpiring.

Recommended Posts

Posted

Stupid announcers. "Umpire got confused"

 

No he did not he got it exactly right!

Posted

Stupid announcers. "Umpire got confused"

 

No he did not he got it exactly right!

Watch again Rolando,.... he does hesitate when the first mechanics start and I think that's what they're referring to

Posted

Tag plays are tough enough — but to have TWO runners sliding into ONE base! Wow.

 

And you have to make your call and your signals both quickly and clearly, or someone is going to wander off the base.

Posted

 

Stupid announcers. "Umpire got confused"

 

No he did not he got it exactly right!

Watch again Rolando,.... he does hesitate when the first mechanics start and I think that's what they're referring to

 

Just because he hesitated for an instant it doesn't mean he got confused. Probably didn't want to make the call to quick!

Posted

 

 

Stupid announcers. "Umpire got confused"

 

No he did not he got it exactly right!

Watch again Rolando,.... he does hesitate when the first mechanics start and I think that's what they're referring to

 

Just because he hesitated for an instant it doesn't mean he got confused. Probably didn't want to make the call to quick!

 

I know, I'm just referencing what they were probably referring to....

Posted

I think he started to make the safe call on the runner coming into the bag then thought better of it to call R3 out coming back first. 

Posted

Regardless of the hesitation, probably always worth doubling the calls on this type of play. *point* "He's out" *point* "Safe" *point* "Safe" *point* "He's out"

Posted

One thing the announcers said that's true.....That would have been a play for the ages if both runners were tagged out. 

Posted

I was wondering about this play... I thought that if the preceding runner was not forced to the next base, then the lead runner has the bag. In other words... that R3 is entitled to 3rd base because R2 was not forced to 3rd. Could someone help me understand this better? I thought the situation was 1st and 3rd. or 2nd and 3rd.

Posted

I was wondering about this play... I thought that if the preceding runner was not forced to the next base, then the lead runner has the bag. In other words... that R3 is entitled to 3rd base because R2 was not forced to 3rd. Could someone help me understand this better? I thought the situation was 1st and 3rd. or 2nd and 3rd.

R3 was tagged before he got back, so by the time the following runner got there, it was not occupied.

  • Like 1
Posted

So in a rundown if the second runner had been standing on third, he could be legally tagged out because the runner between 3rd and home still occupied that base? So in that situation isn't it smarter for a defensive team to throw to 3rd tag out the runner standing there and then go back to the runner caught up between third and home?

 

I might be misinterpreting this rule...

Posted

So in a rundown if the second runner had been standing on third, he could be legally tagged out because the runner between 3rd and home still occupied that base? So in that situation isn't it smarter for a defensive team to throw to 3rd tag out the runner standing there and then go back to the runner caught up between third and home?

 

I might be misinterpreting this rule...

 

That only applies if both runners were on the base at the same time.

 

Two runners are on the same base. Both are tagged immediately after each other while still on the base. If the following runner was forced to the base they're on, then the preceding runner is out when tagged. If the following runner is not forced, then he is out when tagged. In both cases, it wouldn't matter which runner was tagged first, as only one of them can be out.

Posted

 

So in a rundown if the second runner had been standing on third, he could be legally tagged out because the runner between 3rd and home still occupied that base? So in that situation isn't it smarter for a defensive team to throw to 3rd tag out the runner standing there and then go back to the runner caught up between third and home?

 

I might be misinterpreting this rule...

 

That only applies if both runners were on the base at the same time.

 

Two runners are on the same base. Both are tagged immediately after each other while still on the base. If the following runner was forced to the base they're on, then the preceding runner is out when tagged. If the following runner is not forced, then he is out when tagged. In both cases, it wouldn't matter which runner was tagged first, as only one of them can be out.

 

 

I'm not sure what you mean by that. If R3 is in a rundown and R2 moves up to 3B, his standing on 3B is no protection from being tagged out because he has no legal right to the base (it still belongs to R3 until he is tagged out or scores). If the defense tags R2 alone on 3B while R3 is still "live," then R2 will be out.

Posted

 

 

So in a rundown if the second runner had been standing on third, he could be legally tagged out because the runner between 3rd and home still occupied that base? So in that situation isn't it smarter for a defensive team to throw to 3rd tag out the runner standing there and then go back to the runner caught up between third and home?

 

I might be misinterpreting this rule...

 

That only applies if both runners were on the base at the same time.

 

Two runners are on the same base. Both are tagged immediately after each other while still on the base. If the following runner was forced to the base they're on, then the preceding runner is out when tagged. If the following runner is not forced, then he is out when tagged. In both cases, it wouldn't matter which runner was tagged first, as only one of them can be out.

 

 

I'm not sure what you mean by that. If R3 is in a rundown and R2 moves up to 3B, his standing on 3B is no protection from being tagged out because he has no legal right to the base (it still belongs to R3 until he is tagged out or scores). If the defense tags R2 alone on 3B while R3 is still "live," then R2 will be out.

 

 

You're going to call R2 out if tagged when standing on third base if R3 is between third and home and not occupying a base at all?

  • Like 1
Posted

 

 

 

So in a rundown if the second runner had been standing on third, he could be legally tagged out because the runner between 3rd and home still occupied that base? So in that situation isn't it smarter for a defensive team to throw to 3rd tag out the runner standing there and then go back to the runner caught up between third and home?

 

I might be misinterpreting this rule...

 

That only applies if both runners were on the base at the same time.

 

Two runners are on the same base. Both are tagged immediately after each other while still on the base. If the following runner was forced to the base they're on, then the preceding runner is out when tagged. If the following runner is not forced, then he is out when tagged. In both cases, it wouldn't matter which runner was tagged first, as only one of them can be out.

 

 

I'm not sure what you mean by that. If R3 is in a rundown and R2 moves up to 3B, his standing on 3B is no protection from being tagged out because he has no legal right to the base (it still belongs to R3 until he is tagged out or scores). If the defense tags R2 alone on 3B while R3 is still "live," then R2 will be out.

 

 

You're going to call R2 out if tagged when standing on third base if R3 is between third and home and not occupying a base at all?

 

 

I think Maven is reading 7.08© too strictly:

 

© He is tagged, when the ball is alive, while off his base. EXCEPTION: A

batter-runner cannot be tagged out after overrunning or oversliding first base if he

returns immediately to the base;

 

FED also calls it his base but NCAA calls it "the" base. I think it should be read in all three codes as "a" base.

Posted

You're going to call R2 out if tagged when standing on third base if R3 is between third and home and not occupying a base at all?

Well, when you put it like that, it sounds kinda dumb, doesn't it.

×
×
  • Create New...