Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Wow, nailed it. I'm not sure I'd have a chance of getting that right if it was me in real time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dear FEDUM:

 

Please never ask me to get that from C position.

 

Sincerely,

Umpires in states who have adopted you

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dear FEDUM:

 

Please never ask me to get that from C position.

 

Sincerely,

Umpires in states who have adopted you

Out of curiosity, Maven, why would the BU ever be in "C" with only R1 working a 2-man crew?  I know in MI (HS and Fed, who play under NFHS rules code) they changed the positioning to "B" from "C" with R3 and R1, but, with only R1, "B" is where BU should be.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Dear FEDUM:

 

Please never ask me to get that from C position.

 

Sincerely,

Umpires in states who have adopted you

Out of curiosity, Maven, why would the BU ever be in "C" with only R1 working a 2-man crew?  I know in MI (HS and Fed, who play under NFHS rules code) they changed the positioning to "B" from "C" with R3 and R1, but, with only R1, "B" is where BU should be.

 

+1

Agree!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Dear FEDUM:

 

Please never ask me to get that from C position.

 

Sincerely,

Umpires in states who have adopted you

Out of curiosity, Maven, why would the BU ever be in "C" with only R1 working a 2-man crew?  I know in MI (HS and Fed, who play under NFHS rules code) they changed the positioning to "B" from "C" with R3 and R1, but, with only R1, "B" is where BU should be.

 

 

Actually, the new FEDUM has the BU in B with R1, R3 (p. 55). But you're right, with R1 only BU is certainly in B.

 

I just finished my tournament games, which were 3-umpire, and I had those mechanics in mind. As U3 with R1 only, I'd have to take this play from C. :(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

Dear FEDUM:

 

Please never ask me to get that from C position.

 

Sincerely,

Umpires in states who have adopted you

Out of curiosity, Maven, why would the BU ever be in "C" with only R1 working a 2-man crew?  I know in MI (HS and Fed, who play under NFHS rules code) they changed the positioning to "B" from "C" with R3 and R1, but, with only R1, "B" is where BU should be.

 

 

Actually, the new FEDUM has the BU in B with R1, R3 (p. 55). But you're right, with R1 only BU is certainly in B.

 

I just finished my tournament games, which were 3-umpire, and I had those mechanics in mind. As U3 with R1 only, I'd have to take this play from C. :(

 

Many mechanics allow you to be in deep B on this -- and it's what I would use, even though many umpires actually prefer C in that situation.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Many mechanics allow you to be in deep B on this -- and it's what I would use, even though many umpires actually prefer C in that situation.

Oh, absolutely, and for very good reason, as the clip here shows.

 

But not if you want to work above the district tournament level in my state. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That was really a great play and a great call!  It shows the best place to put the glove is in the dirt at the base.  Casilla knew that was his only chance for this out.

 

If only players understood to do this for the routine tag on a sliding runner.  No, instead many hold the tag up off the ground --- making our job much harder.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Similar Content

    • By Thunderheads
      I do believe this is the second time this year a balk has been reversed and in my feeble mind, .... both reversals have been incorrect....
      I called this one while watching the game  ....
      http://m.mlb.com/video/v1150337883/?query=umpire
    • By Thunderheads
      Great throw by Mookie Betts to get Kiermaier at 3rd .........
      Not sure this was the best location to take this play (moving and all) ....    I don't do 4 man, but ....I'm sure this can be tricky reading this play and getting the best view.  Thoughts?
      http://m.mlb.com/video/topic/51231442/v1086887283/?query=betts
    • By Gfoley4
      http://mediadownloads.mlb.com/mlbam/mp4/2016/05/01/646353683/1462131621609/asset_1800K.mp4 Thoughts?
    • By Thunderheads
      Ok .... I thought backwing is just a "send the runner back" ....but ...I've never been known as a rules-guru  
      Your browser does not support iframes.
×
×
  • Create New...