I volunteered to proofread our Fed Study Guide and received it yesterday. There is a question and I know the answer, but cannot find the correct rule cite.
R1 is stealing when the catcherâ€™s hits the umpireâ€™s mask on the throw and the ball goes into center field. The runner tries for third and is thrown out by the center fielder.
a. Runner on 1st is returned to second.
b. Runner on 1st is called out if the umpire believes the interference prevented the catcherâ€™s throw from retiring R1.
c. This is not umpire interference; the umpire is a part of the field. The play stands.
d. Since the initial throw by the catcher did not retire R1, umpireâ€™s interference is enforced. The ball is dead. Return R1 to 1st base.
I have "d" as the correct answer, but cannot find a rule that backs it up. 7-4-5 Penalty discusses what to do "when an attempt to put out a runner at any other base is unsuccessful" but cannot find similar language for when an umpire interferes with the catcher's attempt to put out a runner. Thanks.