Jump to content
  • 0

Umpire intentional interference?


Guest recrhett

Question

Guest recrhett

Weird home plate call tonight, please give advice or rule citations:

 

After pitching a pitch, the catcher throws the ball back to the pitcher as normal.  When pitcher starts to walk to the mound, the runner who is on 3B (leading off) tries to steal home while pitcher is walking back to the mound after receiving the ball from the catcher.

 

Seeing this happen suddenly, the HP umpire pushed our catcher out of the way to get to the batter.  The umpire intentionally pulls/pushes the batter out of the box (batter really as no idea runner is coming home) as to make room for the runner who is attempting to steal home so there will not be an interference call.  In our league the batter must get out of the box when a runner is coming home or it is an automatic out.

 

I believe that when the umpire pushes the catcher out of the way to get to the batter, it would fall under "Umpire Interference" in my opinion but would welcome any thoughts or rules.

My main questions is where (if any) is it stated in the rule book that an umpire cannot intentionally touch a player (batter or runner)?  This clearly gave advantage to the offensive team by physically moving the batter so the runner is not called out.  Is there such a rule that deals with an umpire intentionally moving/helping/aiding a player?  Or a travesty of game rule to be cited?  I would love any input anyone has.  This was a 12yr old LL game.

Thanks

Long time ump and coach

recrhett

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

11 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

I really love local rules.  They contribute so much to the game.  :no:  I don't know of any rule that speciifcally addresses this.  It likely doesn't occur often enough. 

 

1.  He should have let the play happen and then sorted it out.

2.  Since he didn't do #1 he isn't likely to be the one sorting it out after the fact. 

3.  There are only two scenarios a) let the play stand b) reset the play.  Anything else would be assuming a lot and digging a deeper hole.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

Nope, not travesty, intentional interference by an umpire is not in the rules with respect to the situation you're describing, the kids are 12.

 

Long time umpire?  It sounds like you're making up rules to fit your situation. 

 

When the players are 12, everybody is still learning, which likely includes your umpire.  

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

No real recourse except to notify the president and assigner to make sure the umpire knows not to do this. I believe they have a local rule to cover this which is stupid because there is already a rule for it. Instead of educating the BOD, coaches and umpires what that rules are, they make crap up. This is not a slam on the original poster, unless he helped write this rule, but on the ones in the league  that did write it. The rulebook is fairly comprehensive and covers most situations, this local version is not needed. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

No real recourse except to notify the president and assigner to make sure the umpire knows not to do this. I believe they have a local rule to cover this which is stupid because there is already a rule for it. Instead of educating the BOD, coaches and umpires what that rules are, they make crap up. This is not a slam on the original poster, unless he helped write this rule, but on the ones in the league  that did write it. The rulebook is fairly comprehensive and covers most situations, this local version is not needed. 

 

 

or consider the Texas thread.  They're trying for recourse down there.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

If you're really a long time umpire and coach I would think you would know that there is no rule for this. This is one of the problems I find sometimes with Little League. Was the guy a "volunteer" official with the mandatory 6 hours of training, or was a he a paid umpire with some real training and game experience? I would guess the former. So, that being the case, I would hardly call this a "travesty". Travesty is a word I reserve for real suffering, not a goofy play at a kids baseball game. The guy made a mistake, but if he's a volunteer, he probably just didn't know any better and is learning on the fly. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

I am sure the umpire's heart was in the right place, however his head wasn't.  This is one of the problems with leagues that make up rules, again, well intended rules, with unintended consequences. Baseball rules have evolved over centuries, and very little tinkering is needed with them.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Similar Content

    • By mrumpiresir
      When does the ball become dead when the umpire interferes with the catcher trying to throw out a runner who is stealing?
    • By Thunderheads
      Ouch .....
       
      and .....is the crew in the field wearing the new Cool base?  Is that what that jacket is?
       
      http://m.mlb.com/video/v83868283
    • By grayhawk
      I volunteered to proofread our Fed Study Guide and received it yesterday.  There is a question and I know the answer, but cannot find the correct rule cite.
       
      R1 is stealing when the catcher’s hits the umpire’s mask on the throw and the ball goes into center field. The runner tries for third and is thrown out by the center fielder.
       
      a.       Runner on 1st is returned to second.
      b.      Runner on 1st is called out if the umpire believes the interference prevented the catcher’s throw from retiring R1.
      c.       This is not umpire interference; the umpire is a part of the field. The play stands.
      d.      Since the initial throw by the catcher did not retire R1, umpire’s interference is enforced. The ball is dead. Return R1 to 1st base.
       
       
      I have "d" as the correct answer, but cannot find a rule that backs it up.  7-4-5 Penalty discusses what to do "when an attempt to put out a runner at any other base is unsuccessful" but cannot find similar language for when an umpire interferes with the catcher's attempt to put out a runner.  Thanks.
×
×
  • Create New...