Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
alex7

4th out Appeal Situation

Recommended Posts

Had seen it in a Dodgers game years ago, but finally experienced it...almost fully.

 

I have the dish, R1 and R3.  One out, squeeze play with R1 also stealing.  

 

Batter pops bunt up to the 3rd baseman who catches it.  Two outs.  R3 finishes crossing plate.  3rd baseman throws the ball to FIRST base  :no:   3rd out.  No appeal of R3.  IFers leave the field.

 

OC immediately reminds me that the run counts. I think about it and yes, absolutely it counts.  

 

A few innings later we had another R3, R1 situations.  One out.  Grounder to 1st baseman, steps on 1st, throws to SS who applies the tag on R1. R3 has already crossed home.  Count that one too on the timing play.

 

Fun game to work.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Batter pops bunt up to the 3rd baseman who catches it.  Two outs.  R3 finishes crossing plate.  3rd baseman throws the ball to FIRST base  :no:   3rd out.  No appeal of R3.  IFers leave the field.

 

In this situation, do you come up as you would on a normal timing play, "that run scores, that run scores, score that run!"?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

Batter pops bunt up to the 3rd baseman who catches it.  Two outs.  R3 finishes crossing plate.  3rd baseman throws the ball to FIRST base  :no:   3rd out.  No appeal of R3.  IFers leave the field.

 

In this situation, do you come up as you would on a normal timing play, "that run scores, that run scores, score that run!"?

 

I think that's probably overkill for this situation assuming the runner crossed the plate well in advance of the appeal out at third.  And, since you are waiting until the defense leaves the field before really counting it because until then they have a chance to appeal at third.

 

So, just tell both coaches (and the scorer if there is one) that the run scores.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

How you announce to both coaches and the score-keeper that the run scores is up to you.  I was advised to go ahead and announce it like you said "that run scores, score the run" so both coaches and the scorekeeper see it.  If the coaches are knowledgeable enough you could just low-key it and be fine (not have to follow it up explaining it to everyone now). 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

  • Similar Content

    • By jms1425
      NCAA rules (i.e. no dead ball appeals)
      While the ball is dead, the defense attempts to make an appeal ("runner left early" or "runner missed the base"whatever - the play is immaterial to this question).
      Does the umpire responsible for the call a) make a "soft" safe signal (not indicating judgment on the playing action, but denying the appeal, without saying he is denying the appeal), or say something like "the ball is dead" and making no signal or further comment?
    • By basejester
      Little League Major Softball tournament.  Ball is dead.  Defense wishes to appeal a runner missed home.  Coaches are yelling instructions regarding the appeal process across the field.  Offensive coach tells his batter to swing if it's a strike.  Pitcher toes the rubber.  Home plate umpire puts the ball in play.
        Pitcher steps off and then moves about 3' to her left of the rubber and throws the ball overhand toward home.  (None of the players speak during the play.) The catcher moves forward toward the pitcher.  The ball comes in near the outside corner of the plate.   The batter swings at the ball and hits the catcher's mitt and hand.  The catcher is unable to catch the ball.  No runners attempt to advance.  Home plate umpire calls time for injured catcher.   What's your ruling?
    • By LMSANS
      Opening day is tomorrow for NJ HS.  Here is part of an email from our association interpreter, a very opinionated individual...
      We do not go to our partner on a check swing because the coach has requested it.  We can go to our partner IMMEDIATELY if needed.  We all must be consistent in this mechanic all the time.  Coaches have told me and umpires that some umpires still go when requested by coach.  Please stop that and be consistent and the coaches will understand better and not ask.
      While I know that we are not required to in HS, but I have always done it as long as the coach hasn't been a d!ck about it.
       
    • By MadMax
      R1, R2, 1 out. OT has been running the bases like a merry-go-round for the past inning, and has racked up 5 runs. 1B to 3B, 2B to plate, the works.
      Towering fly ball to F8. Flat sky, so nearly everybody loses sight of it (this umpire, as PU, included), but figure it has to be somewhere towards centerfield. R2 figures that, based on F8's previous body of botched catch attempts work, he'll take his chances and reaches 3B and rounds it towards HP. R1 follows suit, and is nearly to 2B when F8 actually... holy crap how'd he find it?... catches it. "Catch!" voices my BU.
      Now panic ensues. R1 taps on R2 (never breaks the plane of it, just touches on the front edge), then retreats to 1B in a mad dash while F8 throws a... oh no... pond-skipper to F3, who can't field it cleanly and can't secure it before R1 arrives at 1B, touches it, then at the pleading of his coaches and fans heads to 2B (it turns out, these pleas and promptings were to R2 to return to 2B). While this is going on, R2 suddenly figures out he has to head back and tag up, so retouches 3B, and heads back towards 2B. F3 now throws to 2B, but R1 has already "safely" arrived there, and is sitting on it after sliding into it. F6 catches throw with his foot on the bag, and then tags R1.
      Who is (technically) out?
      FWIW, we called R2 out on the touch of 2B by F6 in possession of the ball. I made a point of saying, "That (point at) runner is out!" Was there an out sooner that we missed? Is R2 the one who is the third out or is R1 the third out?
    • By Mister B
      While reading the LL rule book, I try to come up with scenarios to confound them. It's LL the more you think it can't happen, the more likely it is to happen.
      First situation, B hits and heads for first hard. F3 has his foot on top of the base, covering most of it. BR would have been safe but jumps over/goes around the base to avoid an injury. Would you call obstruction? Is it obstruction? 
      Second situation, 1 out runners at 1B and 2B. A hit to deep right, for a triple with R1 and R2 scoring. R1 missed touching 2B. DT appeals by touching 2B and calling that he's out. R1 is out and his run is removed. I'm thinking that nothing happens with R2 or BR because R2 was out before they passed him. Am I correct? 
      Same situation but with 2 outs. R1 is out by force upon the appeal, therefore no runs are scored. Correct? 
      Thanks. I guessing that regardless of the appeal the out occurs when it should have happened, not upon appeal. 
×
×
  • Create New...