Jump to content

Notched the belt on my first Varsity game last night

Recommended Posts

First game(s) of the season last night, ....and .....my first Varsity game :hi5:


Pretty darn smooth all in all, 1:50 min 7 inning game.  I could tell it was game one as the pitch tracking wasn't the greatest, but all in all I felt pretty comfortable.  In Michigan, only Varsity does lineups, etc (JV just goes 'by the book'), so that was pretty fun logging changes, pinch runners, etc.


I did have an issue though, and I think it should be a lesson;


1 and 2 count with 2 outs .....all of the sudden my CP feels strange, loose on the right side, "crap, my strap must looped through" .....next pitch, ball 2 ....another pitch and he strikes out swinging.   I run to the HT bench and whip things off to try and get the strap fixed to no avail, I quickly get my partners attention and send him to the SUV for my 'back-up' CP!!  WHEW!!  I USUALLY don't, but yesterday, I brought both CPs .... :nod:


And, ...in game 2, ....I got to call a balk on a double set!  Scored a run also .... EZ-PeeZee! :wave:   I also had to explain to the visiting coach that R1 was NOT out of the baseline, and had to have the "his baseline NOT THE baseline" discussion.  I'm not sure he liked it too much, but I think he believed me ....oh well, it is what it is :meditation:


Anyhow, Varsity isn't really a big deal because I've done U18 stuff before, but just that it was a MSHAA Varsity ball game made it somewhat "official"?  Whatever,...that's that! :D


Varsity belt notched! :beerbang

  • Like 7
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

First game(s) of the season last night, ....and .....my first Varsity game   Pretty darn smooth all in all, 1:50 min 7 inning game.  I could tell it was game one as the pitch tracking wasn't the gr

Thank you sir!   If my partner would have been better, the expereince would have been enriched, but oh well!    ................................

Congrats! Glad you didn't suck! :)

You changed your CP during the game? Did you end up diagnosing the problem?

I did!! When I realized I wasn't going to be able to fix the strap immediately I sent my partner of to my car to grab my other one.

Diagnosis: before your first game of the season double and triple check all of your equipment! :-)

It just appeared to be that the strap had slipped out hanging up all off season :shrug:

Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk 2

Link to post
Share on other sites



You know there is nothing stopping you from taking lineup cards in JV and MS games. All School games I take line up cards.

Thanks Rolando!

Totally understood, ....I added that as a side note, and for clarification as to why I actually mentioned it! :smachhead:   I do know that, and probably should do that!  Thanks :hi5:

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Similar Content

    • By Mr_Blue
      Felt like I had to make an account to ask about this situation. Have you ever been asked "Did he go?" while you were standing behind the pitcher? Happened to me.
      0-2 count. Batter appeared to obviously offer at a close pitch, his hands looked well in front of the plate and bat also looked like it had went around with his wrists breaking enough that I could say I'm 100 percent sure it was a swing. I'm sure everyone watching the game knew it was a swing, including everyone in the stands and definitely the 3rd base coach who was ejected for arguing after what happened. It looked like one of those calls that are pretty easy to make from where I was standing.
      Anyways, I'm waiting on the PU to make the call and he hesitates then points at me and asks if he went. I was so shocked that he was asking me for help on this one that I made a mistake here. I should have just made the call but I looked back at him and just said "It's your call." Now I guess everyone thinks that neither one of us know even though it looked like a pretty obvious call. Now the dugouts are starting to chirp a bit so I call time and we talk for a minute. I tell him what I saw and that it was definitely a swing. I wouldn't call it a swing if it was close but this one wasn't close. We call the kid out. One of the coaches comes to argue, even though I'm sure he had to know we got the call right he wasn't happy with how we made it. He keeps arguing and is warned not to continue and he goes to the dugout. He stops for maybe 10 seconds but is tossed for something he says when he gets to the dugout. Game went okay after that. Then the PU punched out the next batter on the first pitch because I guess he forgot the count wasn't 0-2 anymore. So that didn't help us look any better.
      Overall the game went okay after that. We handled the coach okay. Ejection went probably as well as it could have. After the game the PU wanted to switch crews so I worked with a different guy. Then he texted me after the game "Thanks for screwing me today ***hole I pray I never work with you again. This is high school varsity ball not the little bull**** you usually do." Which I thought was a little ridiculous, but oh well. I can't help but feel bad for being caught off guard on that play.
    • By Scotty_Ump
      I was PU during U12 tournament played under FED rules. In middle of game, HC asks me to "watch the other team" between innings because they had "too many batters" in front of their bench area between innings swinging bats while his pitcher was throwing warm-up pitches. I told him I'd "keep an eye on it" but the game ended early (mercy rule) and it never came up again.
      Post-game I looked up FED rules and all I found re: this situation is 3-3-3: "Players loosening up to bat shall remain in the area of their team's on-deck circle while the pitcher is warming up."
      Does anyone know if FED (or other rule sets) limits the amount of players who can warm up between innings?
    • By GreyhoundAggie
      Had a situation yesterday as follows: 
      JV Fed Game. Bases loaded, no outs. I'm PU.
      Groundball to SS, R2 plows into SS as he is trying to field the ball. Partner did not kill the play as he thought it was a delayed dead ball, so I stepped in and killed it and called R2 out and returned R3.
      I know we can get more outs based on the possible prevention of a double play. At the time we did not rule any additional outs, but immediately after the inning I was thinking we should have potentially gotten 3 outs. 
      R2 for interference, and R1 and BR for the prevented potential double play.
      Is this too many outs to get from this play? For sure I am thinking we should have gotten at least 2, R2 and R1 at least.
      Thanks for your thoughts, this play doesn't occur too often and I want to be better prepared next time.
    • By sd181612
      Hi everyone, sorry for being long gone. I would also like to apologize for the little issue that started in my last post and THANK YOU to those who handled it perfectly. School has been swinging at me left, right, front, and center, but I have been working towards my goal of attending my dream school: Harvard.
      I am ashamed in asking for this, but since we are a vast community I know that some, or all of you will be able to help me. As you all know, these schools are extremely competitive and some sort of contact or person of interest there could help my chances of getting in. As I said before, I have sacrificed a lot throughout all of my life to get to this stage: senior year with good grades; and this goal is something that have I always, with the help of my friends and loved ones, worked for and strived for.
      Thank you all and I apologize again for asking this her.
    • By refump10
      I was reading the other thread about the RLI called in a Little League game.  The discussion went briefly to the HS interpretation of the ruling.  I thought I would move over to the High School section to continue that part of the discussion to avoid high jacking the other thread. There was a quotation in one of the posts that quoted and interp from 2004:
      SITUATION 19: B1 bunts and F2 fields the ball in fair territory in front of home plate. B1 is running in foul territory when F2, in fair territory, throws errantly and hits B1 in the back. B1 continues running and touches first base. RULING: The play stands. F2 made an errant throw. Although B1 was not in the running lane, his position did not interfere with F2’s throw. (8-4-1g Exception)"
      My confusion over this interpretation is that I thought in FED that quality of throw is not a factor when determining RLI.  I also note that in the 2017 Rule Book, there is no exception listed to 8-4-1g.  I think this ruling should correct, but I'm having a hard time seeing how this ruling conforms with the rule as written.

  • Create New...