LMSANS 590 Posted January 13, 2009 Report Share Posted January 13, 2009 (Referee Magazine 12/07) In a fast pitch game, R1 occupies first base and B1 is at bat with a count of one ball and one strike. On F1's next pitch, B1 squares in the batter's box and holds the bat in a bunting position in the strike zone. The pitch is high and outside the strike zone and B1 holds the bat motionless, making no attempt to offer at the pitch. The plate umpire calls the pitch a ball. Is that the correct call? NFHS ASA NCAA USSSA FP Quote Link to post Share on other sites
jim knight 23 Posted January 14, 2009 Report Share Posted January 14, 2009 it is a ball but effective in '09 it will be a strike... am i right? see the first time you posted i thought you really wanted to know the right answer only to find out you have an answer you think is right because you saw it in print someplace. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
InDaZone 10 Posted January 14, 2009 Report Share Posted January 14, 2009 it is a ball but effective in '09 it will be a strike... am i right? see the first time you posted i thought you really wanted to know the right answer only to find out you have an answer you think is right because you saw it in print someplace. Wow, Jim you jumped on that one! I only have a ASA RB which I haven't had time to consult, considering I think the ink on Larry's post is still drying... Not to dispute your answer, but, I have a question for you. In which rules sets is a change going to be made which will effect the call in this situation? NFHS ASA NCAA USSSA FP or is it all? And, assuming Jim is correct, I hope a discussion will follow regarding this rule change - I'm intrigued. Mike Quote Link to post Share on other sites
jim knight 23 Posted January 14, 2009 Report Share Posted January 14, 2009 If I am right it would be in HS.. not sure about ASA yet. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
InDaZone 10 Posted January 16, 2009 Report Share Posted January 16, 2009 (edited) If I am right it would be in HS.. not sure about ASA yet. Okay, finally got around to checking the ASA 09 RB for this one. Rules Suppliment 10. Check Swing/Bunt Strike "....On a bunt attempt where the batter puts the bat across the plate and the pitched ball is out of the strike zone, a ball should be called unless the batter moves the bat toward the ball." [it's a ball] is it the weekend yet? Edited January 16, 2009 by InDaZone to add "it's a ball" Quote Link to post Share on other sites
LMSANS 590 Posted January 20, 2009 Author Report Share Posted January 20, 2009 (Referee Magazine 12/07) In a fast pitch game, R1 occupies first base and B1 is at bat with a count of one ball and one strike. On F1's next pitch, B1 squares in the batter's box and holds the bat in a bunting position in the strike zone. The pitch is high and outside the strike zone and B1 holds the bat motionless, making no attempt to offer at the pitch. The plate umpire calls the pitch a ball. Is that the correct call? NFHS ASA NCAA USSSA FP Before 2009: Ruling: The umpire is correct in calling the pitch a ball in ASA, NFHS and USSSA FP. In NCAA, a strike is charged to B1 because B1 held the bat in the strike zone as the pitch passed by. To not be charged with a strike on a pitch out of the strike zone, the batter must withdraw the bat by pulling the bat backward and away from the ball. ASA 7-4 (Rules Supplement 10) NFHS 7-2-1; 2-8-2 This is the change for 2009. (2-8-2 Changed the definition of a bunt attempt to holding the bat in the strike zone and requiring the bat to be withdrawn in order to take a pitch. Rationale: The new definition will make the bunt attempt easier for an umpire to determine and creates a better balance between offense and defense.) NCAA 1-20 Bunt Attempt USSSA FP 8-3 I don't see any change in the ASA rule but there is a change in the NFHS rule for 2009, making it a strike, same as NCAA. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
jim knight 23 Posted January 20, 2009 Report Share Posted January 20, 2009 Larry, would it be so hard to say... Jim got it right. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
LMSANS 590 Posted January 20, 2009 Author Report Share Posted January 20, 2009 Jim got it right :hi5: Quote Link to post Share on other sites
LMSANS 590 Posted January 20, 2009 Author Report Share Posted January 20, 2009 it is a ball but effective in '09 it will be a strike... am i right? see the first time you posted i thought you really wanted to know the right answer only to find out you have an answer you think is right because you saw it in print someplace. I said in the first one that the plays would be coming from sources like Referee magazine. The purpose here is to try and generate some interest in the softball forum. If you have actual plays that you would like to share, please do so. I'm sure we all would love to discuss them. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
jim knight 23 Posted January 21, 2009 Report Share Posted January 21, 2009 OKay... sorry for barking. Play to discuss... HS Fast Pitch / runner on 3rd, ball four to Batter / ball in pitchers posession, in pitching circle / batter runner continues to second / FI turns to watch but makes no play on batter runner / runner at third breaks for the plate... Legal or illegal? Quote Link to post Share on other sites
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.