Jump to content
  • 0
Guest Collin

Was Ejection Justified?

Question

Guest Collin

Behind the plate for a 14u game. Pitcher starts to pitch, batter steps out, pitcher doesn't throw. Base ump calls a balk, I overturn because of weak interference by the batter. Coach starts to yell that was a balk 6 or 7 times. I issue a warning. After the inning, he asks for an explanation. I explain weak interference, he starts laughing at me and repeats 3 or 4 times you need to know the rules to be a real ump so I tossed him. The coaches complained to the governing league I ejected him too quick. Just looking to see what more experienced umps(i'm 18th, my 4th season) would have done. Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

19 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1

No matter how good or bad the call is, if a coach says "you have to learn the rules if you want to be a 'real umpire'" you have to toss him. That's definately personal. In this case, you had the right call but wrong reason. Join up here and get reading. If you get your terms right, you'll get less flack from RATs like this guy.

+1

Umpires do more harm to kids' games by failing to eject then they do by tossing. Watched a youth game where a coach got tossed in the 5th . . . only thing I didn't understand was why he was tossed the first two times he came unglued.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

What is weak interference?

Don't have my book with me but it says the batter stepping out can not cause a pitcher to balk.

Sounds like you made the correct call. But don't make up terms.

Good ejection.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Guest Collin

I thought I saw it somewhere before, but. I did explain it. In the future I'll avoid the term. Thanks for advice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I thought I saw it somewhere before, but. I did explain it. In the future I'll avoid the term. Thanks for advice.

Maybe there is such a term I just haven't heard it.

But still keep your explanations short. Like "coach a batter can't cause a balk"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

There is a term, weak interference, but it has nothing to do with this situation. The rules are very clear that if the batter steps out and the pitcher stops, it's nothing, reset.

Weak interference is a backswing term. The batter hits the catcher on the backswing, ball is dead and runners return, no out.

The ejection was a good one. You got the call right for the wrong reason, but that doesn't give the coach free rein to get personal. Explain to the coach that this is not a balk and that balk is a term reserved for umpires. Just curious, what did your warning consist of?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Guest Guest

Well he had already been digging into the base umpire for a close call at second. He had really been mouthy, so after continously saying come on blue thats a balk I issued a warning that I will not tolerate any more arguments, but that i would explain the rule after the inning.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I would tell him that balk is reserved for the umpires and you don't want hear it anymore. Any retort is met with a hand up and a "that's enough." Many will say it is one warning too many but to me shutting the balk conversation down is isolated, further discussion is not.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

With you being an Umpire I would get a real user name and join us!

Ask questions or chime in with your own responses.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Fed rules clearly state no balk. A strike is to be added to the count if the pitcher stops. If F1 delivers a legal pitch, a strike is to be called regardless of location. So you get 2 strikes on 1 pitch. If it's K3, he's out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Only if the batter steps all the way out of the box and even then theres a case that contradicts this and your picking up the direty end of the stick to call it.

Just reset like in all other codes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Only if the batter steps all the way out of the box and even then theres a case that contradicts this and your picking up the direty end of the stick to call it.

Just reset like in all other codes.

very true. I've never called it. Can you imagine how out of control THAT could get?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

What rule set does 14u use? Is this the same all over the country. So, the only set that does not use this is NF although you can reset for them also to stay away from dirty end of the stick?

Sometimes this is a specific tactic used by the batter or taught by the coach to try and draw the balk, and then argue when they do not get it. That might be why the rule was put in for a reset, just to eliminate this tactic and get a cheap balk.

And he needs to try and possibly quit coaching this tactic to be a real coach. So he is going to scream balk 6 or 7 times and then laugh in your face and then go cry to the governing body. Typical cheap shot artist who goes and cries to mommy.

Hopefully the governing board will have the intestinal fortitude to deny this cheap shot artist's whining and crying. Maybe they can put him back in his crib with a pacifier.

Nice EJ.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

OBR rules (real baseball) The situation described is nothing. From the PBUC Manual, "If after the pitcher starts his windup or comes to a set position with a runner on, he does not go through with his pitch because the batter has stepped out of the box, it shall not be called a balk. Both the pitcher and batter have violated a rule, and the umpire shall call time and both the bater and the picher will start from 'scratch".

As for coach arguing it's a balk, the conversation aught to go a little like this

Coach That's a balk

Ump: (a look)

Coach That's a balk

Ump: That's enough coach, there was no balk

Coach That's a balk

Ump: Buh-Bye

Letting a coach argue that long is unnecessary and counter productive and only serves to incite others. Allowing him to continue with laughing at you and repeating basicly that you are an incompitent fool who doesn't know the rules of baseball is right out. Waaaaay too much rope in my opinion, but that's how I handle it. Coaches learn fast who they can and can't push around on a field. I think you have just marked yourself as a "can be pushed", expect trouble from this guy in the future.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Thanks for the rule quote.

And the next time he sees this coach and the first thing out of this cheapshot artist's mouth is. So, did you find out I was right or did you go look it up. Boom, see ya. You need to learn not bring up history to be a real coach ( I would not use that line and just eject, although I would be thinking it). Lets see what the governing board does then.

Unfortunately, in some areas and with some assignors and governing boards where coaches rule, umpires are expected to take this abuse or have their schedules pulled or reduced. Be glad if your assignor or governing boards do not put up with this type of abuse. Many areas with a lot of baseball also have other associations close enough so that if you are in an association that does not back their umpires, the umpire can move to another association close by that does back their umpires. Never umpiring again could be a tough choice in some areas and I feel for those that are in such areas where coaches rule. And this does not just occur in baseball from reading around the internet.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

No matter how good or bad the call is, if a coach says "you have to learn the rules if you want to be a 'real umpire'" you have to toss him. That's definately personal. In this case, you had the right call but wrong reason. Join up here and get reading. If you get your terms right, you'll get less flack from RATs like this guy.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.

  • Similar Content

    • By catoblue
      OK, coaches hat on my head for this one...

      Last night, LL majors game: For starters, I had an idea on what we had for umpires right from the plate conference: BIG deer-in-the-headlights look when they mentioned DBT and I said "2 from the field and 1 from the mound, right?":jerkit:

      Bottom of 1st 0 outs, R1 (This kid is about 5'10" and 200 lbs).
      Ground ball to F5, who scoops it and throws to F4. R1 slides into 2B with cleats 3 feet in the air, hits F4 in the glove arm with cleats and ball gets dropped - F4's arm is bleeding from cleat marks. By the way, this was clearly intentional to break up the DP.

      Now, were I calling this game, R1 is gone. The bozos that were calling the game, however, did nothing about it until at the half inning I called BU aside and said I'm concerned that he didn't at minimum, issue a warning - which he promptly did.

      Anyone else here that would have punched this kid's ticket for going in to 2B with the cleats into F4's arm? (remember this is LL!)

      Next play, grounder to 4'6" F6, the un-ejected (big-boy) R2, runs straight line towards 3B, keeping F6 from fielding the ball - here I have INT since F6 had to to choose: stop or get splattered! No call from the umpires, but it gets even better...


      Ball gets past F6, F7 is charging and bare hands the ball to throw to F5, who is standing just behind 3B, Before the throw gets there, R2 shoves F5 out of the way and heads home to score!!!!! Again no calls by the crew.

      Absolutely clueless!!! Oh yeah, the BU would line up right behind F1 (infield) with runners on - on a 60' diamond!?!

      My only thought by the end of the game was "...and they PAY for umpires like this?!" We play in a multi-community league, where ours is the only one that doesn't pay - I'll take our volunteers over these clowns any day!
    • By Mr_Blue
      Felt like I had to make an account to ask about this situation. Have you ever been asked "Did he go?" while you were standing behind the pitcher? Happened to me.
       
      0-2 count. Batter appeared to obviously offer at a close pitch, his hands looked well in front of the plate and bat also looked like it had went around with his wrists breaking enough that I could say I'm 100 percent sure it was a swing. I'm sure everyone watching the game knew it was a swing, including everyone in the stands and definitely the 3rd base coach who was ejected for arguing after what happened. It looked like one of those calls that are pretty easy to make from where I was standing.
       
      Anyways, I'm waiting on the PU to make the call and he hesitates then points at me and asks if he went. I was so shocked that he was asking me for help on this one that I made a mistake here. I should have just made the call but I looked back at him and just said "It's your call." Now I guess everyone thinks that neither one of us know even though it looked like a pretty obvious call. Now the dugouts are starting to chirp a bit so I call time and we talk for a minute. I tell him what I saw and that it was definitely a swing. I wouldn't call it a swing if it was close but this one wasn't close. We call the kid out. One of the coaches comes to argue, even though I'm sure he had to know we got the call right he wasn't happy with how we made it. He keeps arguing and is warned not to continue and he goes to the dugout. He stops for maybe 10 seconds but is tossed for something he says when he gets to the dugout. Game went okay after that. Then the PU punched out the next batter on the first pitch because I guess he forgot the count wasn't 0-2 anymore. So that didn't help us look any better.
       
      Overall the game went okay after that. We handled the coach okay. Ejection went probably as well as it could have. After the game the PU wanted to switch crews so I worked with a different guy. Then he texted me after the game "Thanks for screwing me today ***hole I pray I never work with you again. This is high school varsity ball not the little bull**** you usually do." Which I thought was a little ridiculous, but oh well. I can't help but feel bad for being caught off guard on that play.
    • By SeanColorado
      12u fastpitch playoff game.  I'm BU.
      Top of first, runners on 1st and 2nd, 2 outs, 2 strikes.  Shortstop says to catcher "if she goes get her at third".  3rd base coach (also HC) says to F6 "yeah you just go ahead and try to throw her out" before pitch is thrown in a taunting tone.  I'm in C and here it clearly.  Strike 3 inning over.  As he's starts walking back to 1st base dugout I tell coach, in a quiet but direct tone, not to speak to the other team's players.  He starts to respond and I say "coach, that's enough, we're not discussing this".
      Bottom of 3, PU calls time and walks out to P for a 10 second conversation.  I'm in A and can't make out what's being said.  HTHC comes out of dugout as PU is walking back to plate asking what that was about.  He was instructing pitcher to not lick fingers and then grab the ball for a pitch.  HTHC as he's walking back yells for the entire neighborhood to hear "oh we're playing by those rules today!".  PU issues a warning telling him to knock it off and "this is your warning".
      Start of bottom of 4, I'm in shallow right and HT is slowly taking the field as HTHC gives them individual fielding positions.  One of the girls is bawling profusely, tears streaming down her face.  About what, I don't know...  PU tells HTHC she can't take the field in that condition for her own safety.  He gets in PU face yelling "you can't tell me who I can play and can't".  PU tosses HC.  PU says "you have 5 minutes to leave the field".  Ugh, I know.  HTHC says "if I have 5 minutes I'm going to make them count".  I play rodeo clown telling him he has to leave and explain to AC he is now the HC.  
      HTHC leaves, but then in the 5th inning comes back and is back in sight.  Technically he is off the property, but the fields are in a basin and he's basically on the street curb.  Equivalent to the upper deck area above his team's dugout.  I didn't notice at first, but I'm in C and VTHC (3BC at the time) points out that he's back and asks for a forfeit.  I said no, we're not calling a forfeit, pause the game, tell new HTHC that he needs to be out of sight and sound.  He argues that he is off the property line.  Again coach, he needs to be gone now.  He calls him and finally makes his way to parking lot.  HT wins 8-7.  
      Feedback welcomed as I've learned so much from this forum.  My real question in all of this is "does PU have the authority within the rules to prevent a player from taking the field for crying?".  In PU's view, she couldn't see creating a safety issue.  Does the warning/conversation in top of 1 seem appropriate?
    • By Umpire in Chief
      http://m.mlb.com/video/v1293296683/texsea-scott-servais-ejected-arguing-a-fair-ball/?query=servais
      This is one of the games I watched this weekend. 
      As an umpire, I knew what was happening. Bucknor properly waited for the play to play itself out, then signaled time as there was some question whether it hit the batter in the box. So, overall Bucknor did the right things here and the ejection was deserved. Now I did not see or notice any communication between Bucknor & Carlson about potentially being hit in the box, but lack of any communication is essentially the same as saying he was not hit. 
      However, I was with my father in law who gets easily fired up about sports and reviles all officials in all sports. He had a minor conniption about this which was fueled on by the announcers (we had a different feed than these announcers).
      Now in my amateur, Monday morning quarterback view here's what he could have possibly have done better (for educational purposes only not to criticize, condemn or otherwise put down any umpire).
      Point the ball fair. -- IMO this simple act could have quite possibly prevented everything. And it wouldn't have made any difference in terms of a potential batter hit in the box situation. Additionally, because it it was so close, emphatically point it fair. Verbalize calling time -- That seemed to be Servais's argument, 'You called foul' and you can read Bucknors lips, 'No, I called time' The other thing that did not go well for Bucknor were the optics of the situation. The first baseman seems to look back at him and ask if it was fair. Then Bucknor doesn't come up with the out call (not shown on this clip) until immediately after the first baseman says something else to him. This is just one of those tough darn-if-you-do, darn-if-you-don't situations, but it just looks bad. 
       
    • By Umpire in Chief
      Legit Ejection... Hor$e$h+ Announcers.
      When Cabrera turns to say something to Angel Hernandez it definitely wasn't "You're the best" 
       
×
×
  • Create New...