Jump to content
ncblue

Was I wrong?

Recommended Posts

12u game tonite. Batter squares to bunt and lays bunt down. It hits home plate and bounces back up and hits the bat. I didn't call anything as under 6.05(h)-imo-he is not out. Got a lot of garbage from fans and a little from dc-not a lot but just wanted to make sure I got it right

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Was the bat still in his hand? Was the batter still in the batter's box?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

12u game tonite. Batter squares to bunt and lays bunt down. It hits home plate and bounces back up and hits the bat. I didn't call anything as under 6.05(h)-imo-he is not out. Got a lot of garbage from fans and a little from dc-not a lot but just wanted to make sure I got it right

Should have called "FOUL".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Was the bat still in his hand? Was the batter still in the batter's box?

Bat still in hand and batter was still in box but bat was in fair territory-if that matters

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Bat still in hand and batter was still in box but bat was in fair territory-if that matters

Here's your answer:

Should have called "FOUL".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thats a really tough situation. I'm sure you were getting an earful of all sorts of myths the plate is foul, batter interference, yadd yadda yadda.

Yes, it should have been a foul call.

Just another learning opportunity.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Get the 2010 version of OBR. They actually added the situation to the rule (used to be just custom).

Rich, can you find the clarification online somewhere?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rich, can you find the clarification online somewhere?

There was a pdf floating around for awhile

Here's the relevant part:

8. Ball striking batter, or his bat a second time, while batter is still in

batter’s box

Rule 6.03: The batter’s legal position shall be with both feet within the batter’s box.

APPROVED RULING: The lines defining the box are within the batter’s box.

* * *

Rule 6.05: A batter is out when—

* * *

(g) His fair ball touches him before touching a fielder. <If the batter is in a legal position in the batter’s

box, see Rule 6.03, and, in the umpire’s judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the

course of the ball, a batted ball that strikes the batter or his bat shall be ruled a foul ball>;

Change to past practice:

1. Rule change: if a batted ball strikes the batter or

his bat while the batter is in his legal position:

foul ball.

2. If the batter has one foot outside the batter’s box,

batter is out for interference.

3. If the batter intentionally interferes he is out

regardless of his position in the batter’s box.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There was a pdf floating around for awhile

Here's the relevant part:

8. Ball striking batter, or his bat a second time, while batter is still in

batter’s box

Rule 6.03: The batter’s legal position shall be with both feet within the batter’s box.

APPROVED RULING: The lines defining the box are within the batter’s box.

* * *

Rule 6.05: A batter is out when—

* * *

(g) His fair ball touches him before touching a fielder. <If the batter is in a legal position in the batter’s

box, see Rule 6.03, and, in the umpire’s judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the

course of the ball, a batted ball that strikes the batter or his bat shall be ruled a foul ball>;

Change to past practice:

1. Rule change: if a batted ball strikes the batter or

his bat while the batter is in his legal position:

foul ball.

2. If the batter has one foot outside the batter’s box,

batter is out for interference.

3. If the batter intentionally interferes he is out

regardless of his position in the batter’s box.

PURE AWESOMENESS RICH!! :notworthy: Thanks ....

So, if the LEFT leg is lifted in the start of a run but still within the box area, and with the right foot still on the ground in the box, and the ball hits his LEFT knee, ...foul ball ?!?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

PURE AWESOMENESS RICH!! :crazy: Thanks ....

So, if the LEFT leg is lifted in the start of a run but still within the box area, and with the right foot still on the ground in the box, and the ball hits his LEFT knee, ...foul ball ?!?

Yes, foul ball.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, foul ball.

thanks! After I posted it, I started thinking, ...DUH,..I know this, but thanks anyhow.

It's one foot totally OUT of the box ...which is really more of a rareity. Meaning, you're going to have a foul ball MOST of the time......

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

thanks! After I posted it, I started thinking, ...DUH,..I know this, but thanks anyhow.

It's one foot totally OUT of the box ...which is really more of a rareity. Meaning, you're going to have a foul ball MOST of the time......

It can get tricky if you have a batter who is skilled at laying down a drag bunt.

Let us know if you see one - they're pretty rare at even the highest levels of baseball these days.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

thanks! After I posted it, I started thinking, ...DUH,..I know this, but thanks anyhow.

It's one foot totally OUT of the box ...which is really more of a rareity. Meaning, you're going to have a foul ball MOST of the time......

what if the foot is touching the plate and the Batter's box line at the same time?... what do you have now?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

what if the foot is touching the plate and the Batter's box line at the same time?... what do you have now?

What is this, a quiz ?! :crazy:

FOUL BALL still.......if he's on the batters box line, he's in the box regardless of whether his foot can touch the plate

Edited by Thunderheads

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Some of these parks draw the lines to close to home plate. I won't penalize a batter for that

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

what if the foot is touching the plate and the Batter's box line at the same time?... what do you have now?

Batter's out. You're not allowed to touch the plate while hitting the ball. I don't care how close the lines are drawn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Batter's out. You're not allowed to touch the plate while hitting the ball. I don't care how close the lines are drawn.

You're going to call a batter out that has both feet in the box ?????:o

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Batter's out. You're not allowed to touch the plate while hitting the ball. I don't care how close the lines are drawn.

Based on what? In some codes (I think it's FED, but it might be NCAA) this is true, but not in OBR. Check 6.06(a). It just says he must have a foot entirely outside the box - there's nothing about the plate.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I believe that FED and NCAA codes make the "or step on the plate" addition to the foot outside the box on a swing rule. Don't have those books here to look at though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I believe that FED and NCAA codes make the "or step on the plate" addition to the foot outside the box on a swing rule. Don't have those books here to look at though.

The key to what Mazza posted was, ...his one foot is on the line of the box, which we all know = "in" ....so .....if you want to call a kid out w/ both feet in the box, ....have fun!:o

on edit: bikerider, NOT intended for you persay, just a general comment....:o

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Bikerider is correct.

Both FED and NCAA have the "touching the plate" included in their illegally batted ball rule.

NCAA: 7-10

An illegally batted ball is:

a. A ball hit, fair or foul, by the batter when either one or both of the

batter’s feet are upon the ground entirely outside the lines of the batter’s

box or when touching home plate;

FED: 7-3 A Batter Shall Not

ART. 2 . . . Hit the ball fair or foul while either foot or knee is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter's box or touching home plate.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Bikerider is correct.

Both FED and NCAA have the "touching the plate" included in their illegally batted ball rule.

NCAA: 7-10

An illegally batted ball is:

a. A ball hit, fair or foul, by the batter when either one or both of the

batter’s feet are upon the ground entirely outside the lines of the batter’s

box or when touching home plate;

FED: 7-3 A Batter Shall Not

ART. 2 . . . Hit the ball fair or foul while either foot or knee is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter's box or touching home plate.

So, in Mazza's scenario, we have in OBR, he's fine, but in FED or NCAA he's out. One foot in the box, and the other touching the line but also touching the plate?

YES?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So, in Mazza's scenario, we have in OBR, he's fine, but in FED or NCAA he's out. One foot in the box, and the other touching the line but also touching the plate?

YES?

Yes by the rule.

IMO it's a tough call in practice though unless the batter steps on the plate enough to move his body into your field of vision to make you realize he has stepped too far.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...