Jump to content
ncblue

Batter Interference Question

Recommended Posts

First time poster here. Calling 12u last night-1 out R2. He takes off for third as ball gets to catcher. Catcher steps back to throw and batter steps right in his throwing line. Ball hits batter in helmet and ricochets into LF. IMO the runner was gonna be out on the throw. I called runner out and kept batter at the plate. Nobody questioned the out call but wanted explanation on why it was interference. It has been on my mind ever since. Who is called out-batter or runner?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ncblue,

The batter is out and the runner is returned to 2B.

JM

Thanks!!! It has been eating at me since I made the call. I looked thru my book and all over the 'net trying to find the correct answer. Seems like I owe the coach an apology.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You didn't get any argument on the penalty so no real harm other than you knowing you got it wrong. Next time you'll know the right call.

Welcome to the board, lots of good members and info are here. Where in NC are you from?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You didn't get any argument on the penalty so no real harm other than you knowing you got it wrong. Next time you'll know the right call.

Welcome to the board, lots of good members and info are here. Where in NC are you from?

True!! Thanks for the welcome-I have been lurking for a few months-increasing my knowledge and trying to get better. I live in Clinton-a small town halfway between Raleigh and Wilmington.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Welcome my fellow Tarheel.

The good thing about kicking a call like that is that You'll never miss that one again.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

True!! Thanks for the welcome-I have been lurking for a few months-increasing my knowledge and trying to get better. I live in Clinton-a small town halfway between Raleigh and Wilmington.

Wow, nothing out there. My son will be going to UNCW this fall and after Raliegh there aint much till you get to Wilmington. Welcome.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wow, nothing out there. My son will be going to UNCW this fall and after Raliegh there aint much till you get to Wilmington. Welcome.

And not much after until you hit the coast. I grew up in the Foothills, and my grandparents lived in Holden Beach. The 5-hour trip was nothing from Charlotte to their house.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

confirmed! :jerkit:

Rule 6.06© Comment: If the batter interferes with the catcher, the plate umpire shall call “interference.” The batter is out and the ball dead. No player may advance on such interference (offensive interference) and all runners must return to the last base that was, in the judgment of the umpire, legally touched at the time of the interference.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...