Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'rundown'.
-
Long time reader first time posting - Its an 11U select majors tournament in Ft. Worth, TX and I think my partner threw me under the bus on two occasions. I didn't say anything negative towards him but wanted the advice and guidance of this community. For these two situations I had the plate. First batter of the game hits a routine grounder to F4. I clear the catcher and come up the line to observe the F3 foot on the base. F4 bobbles the ball and throws late to 1B for an easy "safe" call for my partner. I pause and turn around to go back to the plate. I take 2 steps and hear the defensive dug out shouting "he's got the ball! he's got the ball!" and look with horror at the F3 waving the ball in his throwing hand and the R1 looking sheepish standing on the bag. My partner also appeared to have just turned around as he was walking to B from A and looked dumbfounded. The coach blew up at us both as we couldn't call an out that neither one of us observed. After the inning ended my partner came to me upset that I "didn't have his back" and that it was my responsibility to cover him while he got into position in B. He said I "should have walked backwards" in returning to the plate. I know in the ORB we are "to keep our eye unerringly on the ball" but I feel that if anything its both of our faults and that since he had the call on the play he should stayed with the ball until it was back to the pitcher. What is correct here and how can I do better next time? Later in the game with 1 out we have R1 and R3 with me at the plate and my partner in C. F1 picks off R1 who takes off for 2nd and gets in a run down between 2nd and 1st. My partner moves towards the working area but doesn't extend past even with the rubber. R3 feints several times towards home and I move 3BLX to prepare for a play at home. F4 sees R3 breaking towards home and fakes a throw towards home forcing R3 back towards 3rd base and then F4 fires towards 3rd base and F5 appears to tag R3 out. My partner never turns with the throw and keeps his focus on R1. There is a weird silence as no call is made and I finally call time. Both coaches storm out and my partner points to me. I signal and voice "out" as that is what it appeared but I had a terrible angle it was hard to be confident. Was that my call to make? Should the BU turned with the throw? Should I have been further up the 3BL? With R3 I always assumed I had to stay near the plate. Please help as I want to get better and improve for next time. Thanks for your help!
-
Your browser does not support iframes. Agree with call here? There was a lot of confusion on my twitter feed as to why R2 isn't out for passing R3
-
This situation came up last week: 1 out runners at second and third. VT batting. Pitch comes in and batter swings and contacts F2's mitt and also hits the ball fair toward F1. BR breaks for first and R1 breaks for home. F1 fields and throws behind the runner to third just as the runner turns to run back to third. Run down pursues ending with R1 getting tagged out. BR made it to first easily during the rundown. It was ruled that BR was safe at first so the award on the obstruction was ignored and the runner tagged out would return to third as he was not stealing or squeezing on the play. (the coach was asked and he answered that the runner was NOT stealing or squeezing). Opinions?
- 13 replies
-
- catcher
- obstruction
-
(and 2 more)
Tagged with:
