Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'catcher'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Umpire-Empire
    • Introductions
    • Ask the Umpire
    • Minor League Baseball Umpire Training Academy
    • Umpire-Empire
    • Memberships
    • Announcements & Milestones
    • Buy, Sell or Trade
  • Speak out
    • Free For All
    • Situations
    • Umpire Mechanics
    • Rules
    • Ejections
    • Umpire Equipment
    • Books
    • War Stories
  • Umpire News
    • Quick Tips
    • Close Call Sports/ Umpire Ejection Fantasy League
    • Umpire News From Around the Web
    • Ump-Attire.com
  • Level of Play
    • High School
    • Collegiate
    • Recreation
    • Professional
    • Softball
    • Cooperstown Dream Park
  • Off-Topic
    • Off-Topic/Funny Stories
    • Photography
    • Humor
    • Other Sports
    • Announcers

Product Groups

  • Memberships
  • Umpire-Empire Items
  • Cooperstown Dream Park Posting/Advertisement

Categories

  • Interviews
  • Equipment
  • Game Management
  • Self Improvement
  • Health & Fitness
  • Miscellaneous
  • Get to Know

Categories

  • Equipment
    • Chest Protectors
    • Hockey Style Masks
    • Traditional Masks
    • Plate Shoes
    • Base Shoes
    • Shin Guards
    • Athletic Cups
    • Mask Pads
    • Other Equipment
  • Umpire Accessories
    • Equipment Bags
    • Indicators
    • Ball Bags
    • Line up card holders
    • Sunglasses
    • Other Accessories
  • Uniforms
    • Umpire Shirts
    • Umpire Pants
    • Undergarmets
    • Umpire Jackets/ Plate Coats
    • Umpire Caps
  • Suppliers
  • Umpire Manuals, Rules/Interpretation Manuals, Mechanics Manuals
  • Umpire Camps & Clinics
  • Books (pleasure reading)
  • Products no longer available for retail sale

Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


AIM


MSN


Website URL


ICQ


Yahoo


Jabber


Skype


Location


Interests


Your Association Name


Occupation


Types/Levels of Baseball called

Found 15 results

  1. R2 (stealing), R3 (not stealing) Batter squares to bunt and hits the catcher's mitt while trying to bunt the pitch. The plate umpire correctly calls interference on the catcher. The pitch is fouled off out of play. The umpire begins to enforce the penalty. Without wondering why R3 isn't stealing, but R2 is stealing state the proper enforcement below. Feel free to cite any applicable case plays, rule citations, etc...
  2. Do you agree with the umpire's call in this clip? I have no idea if the rule set they are using is FED, OBR, or something else though.
  3. This is being discussed on a Facebook umpire forum ...... http://nypost.com/2015/10/28/royals-catchers-mystery-shinguard-substance-raises-questions/ http://espn.go.com/mlb/story/_/id/13995085/2015-world-series-terry-collins-ned-yost-defend-kansas-city-royals-catcher-salvador-perez-use-pine-tar-shin-guard http://www.newsday.com/sports/baseball/substance-on-royals-c-salvador-perez-s-shinguard-is-legal-1.11023749
  4. How do you guys set up to call a pitch when the catcher completely stands up to catch a pitch? This happened several times in the game on both sides. I remained standing up with my knees slightly bent, but still to where I could observe the pitcher's delivery. There were several times the catcher did this late to not telegraph this to the batter and the batter swung at a high pitch well out of the strike zone. Easy call--swinging strike. No need to judge the zone. Now let me add a twist, late in the game, the catcher stands up early and holds for what looks like it will be a high pitch out of the zone; however, the pitcher throws the ball lower and probably into the zone. When the catcher reaches down to get this, I am locked in for a high pitch and I don't move. Batter does not swing. I rule this a ball and the DHC come out to argue. I put up the stop sign. He says that is a designed play and it was right down the pipe. It probably was right down the pipe, but there is no way I am going to call a pitch where the catcher starts high and blocks my view. Most certainly, I am not going to be moving my head to readjust and try to call this pitch. He wants the call and I tell him there is no way he is going to get that call in that situation. He then mentions some other times it was called a strike and I remind him that the batter swung on those pitches. Give me some advice here, how do/would you guys handle this from a mechanics perspective? Is there anything you would do different?
  5. This situation came up last week: 1 out runners at second and third. VT batting. Pitch comes in and batter swings and contacts F2's mitt and also hits the ball fair toward F1. BR breaks for first and R1 breaks for home. F1 fields and throws behind the runner to third just as the runner turns to run back to third. Run down pursues ending with R1 getting tagged out. BR made it to first easily during the rundown. It was ruled that BR was safe at first so the award on the obstruction was ignored and the runner tagged out would return to third as he was not stealing or squeezing on the play. (the coach was asked and he answered that the runner was NOT stealing or squeezing). Opinions?
  6. This situation was brought up at my High School association rules meeting. FED rules. Outs and count don't really matter, but for argument's sake we'll say it's 1 out and a 1-1 count on the batter. The pitch comes in and the batter squares to bunt. The ball hits the bat and pops up behind home plate. High enough for F2 to have a chance at it, but he doesn't realize this till it's almost too late. He spins and dives for the ball catching it in his outstretched glove. He hits the ground and the glove comes off his hand completely, but the ball remains in the glove. What is your ruling? Out or Foul Ball? and why?
  7. I'm sure there have been other topics like this, but I thought about this driving home from the fields last night, thought I would post a topic for it. CATCHER PET PEEVES All catchers have pet peeves of umpires, and are always willing to tell stories or complain. (Tight zone, Hand on back, trying to talk to them, etc..) But what are pet peeves WE, AS UMPIRES have for them? They can be our friend at times, protect us, and sometimes help us out, but them can also be our worst nightmare. Feel free to start posting your personal pet peeves that catchers do, and we'll see where this goes!
  8. Big question. LL Rules. Is Umpire interference limited to interference with a throw? Situation: R3, 1 out, Pitch in the dirt, Catcher and Umpire go same direction and catcher's movement essentially trips the ump, who reaches out to keep his balance and basically knocks the catcher down on the ground, impeding his scramble to the ball so the catcher cannot make a play on R3 scoring from third base. Umpire rules ump interference and puts runner back on third. Long story, short, a big discussion ensues and the ump is overruled cuz apparently they read the rules and figured out that Ump interference only applies to a throw from the catcher. Can Blue invoke 9.01© in this situation?
  9. OBR BI Question. 2-2 count. 1 out. R2. Batter swings at strike three pitch and misses. He throws his bat as he runs for first base. The bat nails the catcher who has blocked the ball, but does not have possession of the ball. The catcher fails to field the ball because the bat striking him. (Let's say he is a little dazed due to the contact.) The BR makes it to first safely and R2 advances to third. What do you have here? Looking at OBR 6.06 ©, I can see in the last paragraph they are talking about a back swing with the bat. In this case, would you consider this to be the same as a back swing with the batter throwing the bat too hard and directly into the catcher? What would you have if it there was only one strike on the batter and he threw the bat on a swing? (R2 advances to third as the catcher is unable to field the ball cleanly) OBR Rule 6.06-A batter is out for illegal action when: © He interferes with the catcher’s fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter’s box or making any other movement that hinders the catcher’s play at home base. EXCEPTION: Batter is not out if any runner attempting to advance is put out, or if runner trying to score is called out for batter’s interference. Rule 6.06© Comment: If the batter interferes with the catcher, the plate umpire shall call “interference.†The batter is out and the ball dead. No player may advance on such interference (offensive interference) and all runners must return to the last base that was, in the judgment of the umpire, legally touched at the time of the interference. If, however, the catcher makes a play and the runner attempting to advance is put out, it is to be assumed there was no actual interference and that runner is out--not the batter. Any other runners on the base at the time may advance as the ruling is that there is no actual interference if a runner is retired. In that case play proceeds just as if no violation had been called. If a batter strikes at a ball and misses and swings so hard he carries the bat all the way around and, in the umpire’s judgment, unintentionally hits the catcher or the ball in back of him on the backswing before the catcher has securely held the ball, it shall be called a strike only (not interference). The ball will be dead, however, and no runner shall advance on the play OBR Rule 6.05: A batter is out when: (h) After hitting or bunting a fair ball, his bat hits the ball a second time in fair territory. The ball is dead and no runners may advance. If the batter-runner drops his bat and the ball rolls against the bat in fair territory and, in the umpire’s judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, the ball is alive and in play. If the batter is in a legal position in the batter’s box, see Rule 6.03, and, in the umpire’s judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, a batted ball that strikes the batter or his bat shall be ruled a foul ball; Rule 6.05(h) Comment: If a bat breaks and part of it is in fair territory and is hit by a batted ball or part of it hits a runner or fielder, play shall continue and no interference called. If batted ball hits part of a broken bat in foul territory, it is a foul ball. If a whole bat is thrown into fair territory and interferes with a defensive player attempting to make a play, interference shall be called, whether intentional or not. In cases where the batting helmet is accidentally hit with a batted ball on or over fair territory or a thrown ball, the ball remains in play the same as if it has not hit the helmet. If a batted ball strikes a batting helmet or any other object foreign to the natural ground while on foul territory, it is a foul ball and the ball is dead. If, in the umpire’s judgment, there is intent on the part of a baserunner to interfere with a batted or thrown ball by dropping the helmet or throwing it at the ball, then the runner would be out, the ball dead and runners would return to last base legally touched. (Side Note: I did not use 6.05 (h) because the ball was not batted AND the bat was not thrown into fair territory. It was thrown in such a manner that it struck the catcher while in fair ground.)
  10. So, I see this little gem on the Internet. Apparently, a BR coming home on a batted ball hurdles the catcher. The catcher receives the throw about 5 feet in front of the plate, catches the ball just before the BR gets there, and proceeds to hurdle the catcher. I can't tell from the video (it runs out) if the umpire calls him out or safe. The accompanying article does not mention the action being illegal. Now in FED the rules reads: "Runners are never required to slide, but if a runner elects to slide, the slide must be legal. (2-32-1, 2) Jumping, hurdling, and leaping are all legal attempts to avoid a fielder as long as the fielder is lying on the ground. Diving over a fielder is illegal" "PENALTY: The runner is out, the ball is dead immediately, and interference is called. ..." (NFHS 8-4-2-b-2) Here is the link to the 14 second video. Take a look and discuss. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=4RpXtHWrt-A How about OBR? Is this legal in OBR and could a manager make a successful argument the BR was simply trying to avoid contact so he hurdled the catcher at the last moment?
  11. Ruling question ... R1 is advancing from 3 to home. R1 jumps sideways to avoid tag. Is he out for jumping - or is he safe because he didn't jump over the catcher?
  12. I saw a play the other day.... R1 attempts to steal second (no other runners on base), pitcher delivers, catcher, in his haste to nail runner at second, leapts forward out in front of the plate, catches pitch before it reaches the plate and fires to second. In this case, runner still beat the throw. Umpire did not make a ruling, let play stand. My take is: catcher interference, runner is awarded second ( since he successfully stole the base, that would be moot) and batter is awarded first base. The closest thing I could find regarding this play is rule 7.07, but this rule refers to a runner on third attempting to steal or runs home on a squeeze, whereby catcher jumps in front or on the plate without the ball..... Rule 6.08(c) states that a batter is entitled to first base without liability to be put out when he is interfered with by the catcher. It would appear in my scenario above that he does in fact interfere with the batter's ability to hit the ball, therefore CI should be called..... Rule 7.07 also refers to a balk on behalf of the pitcher....again, is this only in that one play where the runner on third is attempting to steal home? I think I'm overthinking this thing !
  13. I thought most would appreciate this ............. http://www.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=25626423&topic_id=41332114&c_id=mlb
  14. Ok, the situation is with R3 coming in from third to score the ball is thrown in the the catcher who misses it and without the ball applies a tag to R3 with enough force that R3 is knocked to the ground 3 ft out of the baseline and short of the plate. I gave R3 home on the obstruction, but should i have EJ'd the catcher for malicious contact? This was an 8th/9th grade game with FED rules if that matters.
  15. I have up for sale a new navy blue Nike catcher/umpire mask replacement pads. Asking $150.00 or best offer, the price includes shipping thru USPS. Also have two Nike masks for sale, new with tags, asking $900.00 or best offer also free shipping thru USPS. I'm planning on listing them on eBay in May if they are not interested here. For any questions or offers I can be reach at gnhbua93@hotmail.com.
×
×
  • Create New...