Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'Mound Visit'.
Found 3 results
So recently LL reduced the number of mound visits from 3/inning to 2 and from 4/game to 3. On a per pitcher basis. At a recent district meeting, it was mentioned that a coach being on the infield, in fair territory, would get a warning or be charged with a visit. During the tournament, coaches won't be allowed on the field unless they get permission from the umpire. Base coaches can't come out until the throw down. This has been met with some resistance. The rules state "in one inning" and since I'm not aware of any breaks in time during or between innings, I would agree that it should be counted as a visit. I have one coach that claims that it happens during "dead ball" time, to which I responded, "all mound visits are during a dead ball." How is this treated at other levels? Anybody with specific LL knowledge?
FED RULES: In-Between Innings, the First Base coach(who happens to be the teams Pitching Coach) Is coming across the field from 1st. He stops and grabs the ball off the mound and waits for his pitcher to get out there(Waited roughly about 15-20 seconds) Pitcher gets out there and he and his coach talk(on the mound) for about 20-25 seconds on how to attack the first 3 hitters. Coach pats him on the ass and walks away. Do you have an official visit on this?
Question about MLB rules: I thought about this little conundrum after a 2013 game in which a pitcher was substituted before he faced one batter ( Rule 3.05 (b) says that a pitcher must face at least one hitter before he can come out of the game, unless he's injured. The pitcher in the game was not injured, so taking him out before facing a batter was a violation of the rule. BUT what if Bo Porter (the manager who made the illegal switch), simply went back to the mound a second time? Bruce Bochy caught Don Mattingly a few years back trying to make a second trip to the mound to the same pitcher in the same inning, requiring Mattingly to change pitchers on the spot ( So if I'm a manager, I bring in a new pitcher, see that the opposing manager is putting in a pinch hitter, and decide that I want ANOTHER new pitcher. The rules state that I cannot take him out yet, since he's not hurt, and he hasn't faced a batter, so instead, I circumvent the rule, leave the mound, and immediately get right back on. Do I have to change the pitcher, or can I not change the pitcher?