Search the Community
Showing results for tags '8.05'.
-
Little League Juniors. Pitcher straddles the rubber and then brings his hands together for multiple seconds (clearly not a momentary adjustment) as if he were coming set. He never engages. I believe this is a mistake in procedure (rather than intent to deceive), but still called a balk per 8.05 (g) (quoted below from 2014 OBR). 8.05 If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when— . . . (g) The pitcher makes any motion naturally associated with his pitch while he is not touching the pitcher’s plate; Would you balk this?
- 23 replies
-
OBR says: In the first video, F1 does not disengage, and attempts a pickoff of R1. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HGN7fjbw9n8 In the second video, F1 persists. R1 happens to be a speedy guy, playing for a team known for swiping bases. <iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/kSvZ2JiwHWg" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> At this time, BalkHawk declared, "that's a balk!" from the stands, and awarded R1 advance to 2nd base, however the MLB umpire crew never echoed the call. I like to think the baseball gods were in favor of calling both 8.05© balks, hence, the final video: http://youtu.be/HE_09KaG_PE I tried three different ways to get the player to show instead of the link. If somebody knows how, share please.