Jump to content

noumpere

Established Member
  • Posts

    10,918
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    182

Everything posted by noumpere

  1. If that's what he did it would be legal. If F1 turned to his right and went to third (and the runner was stealing or feinting*), you are correct that this would be legal * the specific words on "feinting" vary by code but for all the levels we do the effect is the same. That's the important lesson here. You can be moving toward the expected play, but you need to keep your eyes on the pitcher until he throws. And, PU can (and should have) help here.
  2. noumpere

    Force play

    That seems excessively confusing, to me (but if it helps you, so be it). It reads like: I know you think you understand what you thought I said but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant
  3. Yes -- but that doesn't seem to be the issue here. It's not a balk for throwing to an unoccupied base; it's a balk for not stepping immediately and directly to the base.
  4. noumpere

    Force play

    Could R3 legally return to third? Yes, so he's not forced to leave third -- and he can't be forced out.
  5. Once the front foot is raised, the pitcher is committed to throwing (or feting where allowed) to the base being faced, second, or home. Once the Front foot crosses the rubber (the specifics of "crossing" might vary), the pitcher is committed to throwing(or feinting where allowed) to second or the plate. So, if the LH pitcher made a complete rotation and threw or feinted to third, it's a balk. To make this legal, F1 would need to step toward second, break contact at least (in NCAA; probably not in FED), with the rubber and then throw or feint to third. Just like the (old, since it's not allowed in NCAA) 3-1 move requirements. Here's the NCAA rule; it's not specifically covered in FED or OBR, but I'd rule the same: The pitcher is committed, upon raising the lead leg, to throw to the base being faced, to second base or to the plate. When throwing or feinting a throw to a base not being faced, the pitcher must step immediately, directly and gain ground toward that base.
  6. Some of this is going to depend on the code: OBR: R1 is out. BR is out only if the INT was "intentional with the purpose of breaking up a double play" or some such words. Since BR had not reached first, runners return TOP. FED (HS): Both BR and R1 are out since a double play was likely (If not, then only R1 is out). Runners return time of interference. That's likely back to third and second.
  7. That's what I would have -- with the caveat that I haven't read the scoring section of any of the rule books on this issue. it's the same (to me) as if F7 picked up the ball, threw to third and the ball skipped past F5 and into the dugout. Absent the error, BR gets a double; with the error he's awarded third. That seems, to me, to properly account for the bases. Unless, of course, the batter needs a triple to hit for the cycle, and then the coach buys him a pizza and he's going to share some of that with the OP. In that case, if I'm the OP, it's a triple.
  8. Stop a fight from happening? -- Sure Break up a fight that's already happening? -- NFW.
  9. Around here, teachers do make good umpires because they do get out of work in time to make the late afternoon starts. College is much harder. So, as I read what you wrote: Baseball in the spring; softball in the summer. Just work on being the best HS official you can be; you can't really control the rest (but keep your ears open for camps, assigners) and let the rest fall as it does (based on IHSA coaches ratings, etc.) And, pick up something else for the fall or winter (football, volleyball, water polo, competitive dance....)
  10. This has been discussed here several times in the past couple of years. Matt has a good analysis of it. I think the ruling is that the free foot must cross the rubber. Someone with better search skills than I can find it.
  11. Not a balk. It's a throw from the rubber (Not that it really matters to second)
  12. It's not a "physics" description; it's an observation description.
  13. noumpere

    Injury Gear

    Youth rules are borrowed from pro rules; pro rules are there for a reason where there is (or would be) an issue with those substances. I posited on a reason for the rule.
  14. noumpere

    Injury Gear

    Having a rule (or interp) against it just stops the mind games that would be played between the batter who wants to get in the pitcher's head by having it removed / changed and the pitcher who wants to get in the batter's head by increasing the amount that shows / changing the color to a neon green, etc -- and then putting the umpire in the middle of all that. Plus, it's one more thing that can't be loaded with vaseline or stickup to affect the pitch. It's not needed to pitch, so just disallow it and get on with the game.
  15. Hard to tell with the utube overlay how close any timing might have been. The rest is just announcers butchering the rule .
  16. have the batter switch batter's boxes when the pitcher is in position. Immediate out.
  17. That's the old FED way of doing things. Most reasoned people preferred R1 at first, R2 at second, R3 at third. Even FED wised up within the past couple of years.
  18. Other than "sliding through the base and then making contact" (legal in NCAA; illegal in FED), how is the rule different
  19. 1) Laugh 2) Tell the "lead runner" -- good hustle! 3) Tell the pitcher -- way to chase and make a tag! 4) Tell the trailing runner -- way to read the play; good hustle 5) Laugh 6) Get the snacks ready 7) tell both teams -- here we go. Be ready
  20. noumpere

    Foul-Fair-Foul

    A more generic answer is to always be slow in making the ball dead. You can always go back and make it so and no one complains (too much). Its MUCH harder to figure out what to do if it shouldn't have been dead and someone always complains.
  21. "New impetus" is a thing. A deflection is not new impetus.
  22. noumpere

    foul balls

    Being tested in one of the minor leagues.
  23. noumpere

    Foul-Fair-Foul

    In college, a bounding ball called foul cannot be changed; from the NCAA rules book: 😎 Changing a call of “foul” to “fair.” Note: Umpires may conference after a batted ball that first touches the ground or a fielder beyond the initial position of the first or third baseman and has been ruled "foul". After consultation with the entire umpire crew, the Crew Chief will place the base runners where the crew believes they would have advanced had the ball been first ruled fair. The Crew Chief and crew should be conservative on their placement of base runners.
×
×
  • Create New...