Jump to content

noumpere

Established Member
  • Posts

    10,919
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    183

Everything posted by noumpere

  1. I agree with all of your post and would clarify that the umpire should make the exact same call / signal he would had the runner touched the base. It's usually close enough that a casual "safe" is needed, but if F3 doesn't catch the throw and the ball is on the ground and BR is now 3 steps past the bag, a "no-call" is probably appropriate.
  2. Yes, it's legal. In fact, in NCAA games, the spot 18" from the handle must be marked -- and tape is one way to do it.
  3. noumpere

    FPSR Sitch

    On any FPSR violation, the interfering runner is out, the BR is out and all other runners return to TOP.
  4. If this was just a normal "throw-catch-slide-tag" play, then there's no way that BU should ask for help or that PU should give help. BU owes PU at least half of his or her game check, if BU isn't going to make the calls. In fact, I can't think of an example where the "safe" call would ever be reveresed. If BU called "out" and PU saw the ball on the ground, then that out call could be reversed.
  5. The runner is safe, pending appeal. The umpire should make the same call / mechanics a he or seh would had the runner touched the base (either nothing if it was obvious, or a casual safe signal if it was slightly closer, ...)
  6. What rules codes were you using? How far away from F2 was the ball? This could be obstruction, with either a delayed or an immediate dead ball, or a "train-wreck."
  7. When he's being asked by the coach to come by a practice / scrimmage and teach the rules / talk to the team.
  8. See the cases in 3.2.1 You overstepped your authority by requiring a player to be there.
  9. Then (a) you're letting the other coach call the game for you, and ( you're wrong.
  10. Not quite true, Frank. An UNCAUGHT ball that's ruled foul becomes foul (and dead). If the ball is caught, the catch counts and the ball remains live.
  11. Humid air is less dense than dry air. The ball will go farther in the humid air.
  12. I don't know that I agree. I am focused on the ball. CI often happens several feet closer to me than the ball is at the time of the CI. I agree it's in the peripheral vision, but my vision is pretty tightly focused at that point and seeing the subleties of the "ticked mitt" would be pretty hard.
  13. What I meant was "even if it was a bad call, the coach shouldn't have gotten so worked up over it that he had to be ejected."
  14. "Leaning" toward second could be interpreted as a commitment to throw (or feint) to second. Both that and coming to a complete pause / stop could be interpreted as "failing to pitch in a continuous motion" (or whatever the specific words in the rule are) and a balk. Even if it's a bad call, it's not cause for the coach to be ejected/
  15. I'm sure that RefMag / NASO has this information. They publish a map of it every so often.
  16. Plays from the infield, especially from the left side, should almost always be taken 1BLX (or at the point of the plate). Especially on force plays, you want the same angle as you would have at first base.
  17. If he takes the rubber with his hands together, you should stop action right there and ask / tell him to take the rubber with hands apart. It's a "don't do that" (under OBR).
  18. Allegedly, this question was asked at one of the umpire schools many years ago. The answer: It hit the hand first.
  19. Yes, that's enough. It's one of the toughest calls because it doesn't happen that often, and it happens very fast. Now that you've possibly missed it a couple of times, you'll be ready for it. You can always make a "late" call of it if you replay it in your mind and recognize that it should be interference. Do this BEFORE the offensive coach complains, though.
  20. Can he? Yes. But, 99% of the time the "chat" doesn't delay the pitchers warm-ups and no visit should be charged.
  21. Yes, you kicked it. A "stretch" isn't needed, but the sequence must be "hands apart" "hands together" "pause" "pitch"
  22. And then it was changed the very next year to apply only on an uncaught ball. If the ball is caught, then the catch stands.
  23. Leave the top one undone (hang the strap down the inside of your leg, under the straps from the next two down), cross the next two and buckle the lowest straight across. If you like that, just remove the top strap.
  24. It's still nothing (in OBR). The rule is designed so R1 (assuming RH F1) can tell whether F1 is set or not. It's meant to stop F1 from standing (relatievley) upright, with both hands in front of his torso (but not joined) and then joining them with a slight move that can't be seen by R1. So, R1 can't take his "secondary" lead. In your play, it's obvious that F1 hasn't come set, no matter whether the hand is dangling, or holding the ball against the knee. It's nothing.
×
×
  • Create New...