Jump to content

noumpere

Established Member
  • Posts

    10,919
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    183

Posts posted by noumpere

  1. 11 hours ago, Richvee said:

    So this an an Interesting side bar. The base umpire calls the OBS, PU makes an out call at the plate. Time is called, the two get  together.  BU says he called OBS and in his judgement R1 would have scored had there been no OBS. PU says I think he’s out even with no OBS. Who has the final say? (Assuming 2 good umpires where one isn’t pulling a “ I’ve been doing this for 20 years what I say goes attitude). 

    The same as any other play where two umpires have different calls: UIC (usually, but not always, PU) decides.

  2. 8 hours ago, agdz59 said:

    So NFHS is different than OBR on this. Good to know, thanks.

    Does this apply at home as well? If so, I've kicked it at home several times as I have not made a call when the runner misses the plate.

    If there's a missed tag and a missed base at home, no call is the proper mechanic.

    • Like 1
  3. 4 hours ago, Thunderheads said:

    And that's just it ...... thanks for this @noumpere ....   If he stops, we're all good, he's going to get 3rd regardless and makes the job easier.   This play is where we make the big bucks!   And, the ensuing argument coming from the defensive coach is an easy one to handle .... WAY easier than explaining to the offensive coach why you did NOT award him home (in the OP).

    I had a play like this in the state finals.  R2 stopped at third.  I left him there -- F7 was charging and made a strong throw right to the plate.  Change those last two facts and I might have awarded home.

     

     

    • Like 1
  4. I understand the logic if R2 stopped at third and you had to decide whether to award home -- in your judgement / viewing he would not have reached home.

     

    We are allowed to consider post obstruction evidence to help with the decision -- and in the OP we have it.

    • Like 2
  5. 1 minute ago, ArchAngel72 said:

    OBS but only to 3rd  I would not give him all the way to the plate. 

     

     

     

    Why only to third?  (Just trying to understand, not trying to argue or suggest that you are wrong)

  6. 12 minutes ago, Vegas_Ump said:

    Here's a link to the video. Now, I don't do Fed games, but this discussions seemed to indicate different interpretations from OBS-based rulebooks.

     I felt that R2 was obstructed, but I only would have protected him to 3B.  His advance to home was at his own risk.  Some of the Fed umps suggested that R2's continued effort to home home justified protection to home.  My tendency was "Nothing".

    If R2 was slowed down by more than the amount he was thrown out, then you should award him home.  If he was thrown out by more than he was slowed down, then the out stands.

    • Like 2
  7. The run does not score when the batter makes the third out before reaching first base.

     

    (In a very weird play where R3 scores before F1 starts his motion, the run would count.)

  8. 27 minutes ago, beerguy55 said:

    When are they "in the game?"   Once the ball has been made live?  Do we need to wait for a pitch?  I'm thinking for these scenarios where the illegal sub is:

     

    Specified right in the rule book (which I don't have handy at the moment).  Something like "when announced.  If not announced, when the ball is made live."  Some specific differences for pitchers and batters, iirc

  9. 3 hours ago, Guest Rky mtn ref said:

    I understand appeal must be made immediately after the play.  Wasn't the immediate play the play that put the illegal sub @ 2nd base (maybe he hit a dbl); the next play was B4 hitting a HR.

    As long as there's an illegal sub on base, the defense can appeal.  When the illegal sub leaves the bases (in this example, scores), NOW the defense must appeal before the next pitch.

  10. 52 minutes ago, Matt said:

    I used to think the same, until we had a breakdown similar to what the OP was asking on a DP attempt.

     

    And I had multiple plays where as BU I was hung out on a swipe tag at first and PU could have helped.

     

    It's as I've said -- the mechanics on this go back-and-forth because whoever is in charge at some particular time has had one play or the other.

    • Like 1
  11. 20 minutes ago, Umpire942 said:

    well then is it my stance, i am tracking every ball to the best of my abilities,  on literally smoked balls, blocked by the batter, im talking smashed,  is it my positioning? 

    Maybe.  You should be far enough behind the batter see down the line (not straight down the line, but certainly well before third base)

    • Like 1
  12. 23 minutes ago, Aluck said:

    What would be a situation or play of a runner retreating the next base to the base he had previous occupied with the force play being reinstated?

    Thanks. 

    R1 stealing.  Low liner hit to F9.  F9 fields it on the bounce, but R1, after passing second,  thinks the ball was caught.  R1 tries to return to first.  If R1 reverses past second, he can be put out on a force play at second.

    • Like 1
  13. 9 hours ago, Rich Ives said:

     

    “In addition to stepping out of the batter’s box, interference may be interpreted as any unnatural movement by the batter or his bat within the batter’s box…”

    It wasn't an unnatural movement.

    I think 'unnatural" is interpreted to mean something like "not associated with a normal swing"

    • Like 1
  14. 2 hours ago, mac266 said:

    I guess you didn't read my post...at all.

    Wrong.  You did say that the league uses numbers; you didn't say whether other umpires wear plate coats (and I've been in some leagues where wearing one would be viewed as incorrect) and if so, whether the numbers were used on plate coats (and I have seen that).

     

    I guess the answer is that if one league needs numbers on plate coats,s and other leagues prohibit numbers on plate coats, you need to decide for which league you will wear the plate copat and for which league you will not.

     

    Or, find a way to attache the numbers so they can be removed -- double sided tape, magnets, some craft tacky substance I can't remember the name of, etc.  I've seen all of those used to varying degrees of success.

  15. You should find out whether other umpires in that league wear plate coats and, if so, use numbers.

     

    And, whether they tend to wear blue or black.

     

    Unless it's prohibited in your other games, just wear the plate coat with the number-- my guess is that no one in those games really GAF.

  16. 16 hours ago, noumpere said:

    Ah -- yes.  Doesn't change the OP, though.

    ANd, the NCAA rule is wrong for second bzase.

     

    So, it should say, "The pitcher is committed, upon raising the lead leg, to throw (or feint, where allowed) to the base being
    faced, to second base or to the plate."

×
×
  • Create New...