Jump to content

ShaunH

Members
  • Content Count

    44
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

10 Neutral

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Announcers butcher rules often; fans way more so. Sounds like you knew the rule, but a fan spewing about a rule is white noise as an umpire. I worked a game with a 20-year veteran of NCAA baseball umpiring, he was on the dish. Based loaded (forget how many outs but is irrelevant here) Kid hits dribbler , catcher fields and throws to first, ball skitters away, not far. R2 is coming home trying to score on skitter ball, ball thrown to home. catcher caught it and played it like you would if first throw was to plate, foot on plate, no tag. Partner says safe. one mom i
  2. That’s a long time to stew on a hit! My answer won’t make you feel better, but a player must have both feet in live ball territory to make a catch. This usually comes into play down the lines or by the dugout but since your field had a home run “line”, one foot in and one foot out should have been a home run for you.
  3. ShaunH

    Base running

    Yes, the runner on first is forced to advance unless a batter whose name follows his in the lineup is put out first (which could only be the batter in this case) Because the runner was touched first, he is out, and then the batter is out when the base is touched before he acquires first . Had he stepped on the bag first, the force on R1 is removed and he is not out if standing on the bag
  4. I did a Fall game for University of Toledo, D1 team. Kid was throwing low 90's, similar situation as you, batter just tipped it, which caused it to just deflect off the catchers mitt, straight into my mask. Now, I am pretty tough, I didn't even react. Told the catcher I was fine and let's go, though the impact was jarring. A batter or two later and the inning ended and I was standing on the line with my mask under my arm and realized blood was coming out of my nose. Impact was on my chin area of the mask, but the reverberation was so strong it caused my inner nose to bleed. I was
  5. Basepath belongs to the runner unless the catcher has the ball or is in the immediate act of fielding the ball. Once he has the ball, he can lay across the plate if he wants to, though if he has the time to do so, I would surmise the runner wouldn't be coming home to begin with.
  6. Thanks Maven, I wasn’t aware MLB and OBR differed, as I usually hear OBR referred to as “pro rules”. Learn something new everyday!
  7. I am on board with the fact that R1 was already outside the line between 1st and 2nd, so he didn’t veer that way to slide, but what about the fact that his slide included his legs going towards center field. that is not a natural slide...you either go in hand first to bag or feet to bag, you don’t throw your legs to F8 and then reach out to the side for the bag. so while he didn’t RUN in a different direction, he certainly slid with the clear intent of using his legs to impede the DP attempt. still nothing in OBR?
  8. Matt, you’re correct, my apologies, this is why I should only read these when well rested Intentional only applies to batted balls and throws in regards to interference. I guess you either have malicious contact or nothing in my hypothetical situation
  9. I should clarify; the exception would be intentional interference. If the batter didn’t know or realize there was no chance on the runner and intentionally initiated contact with the pitcher, then you’ve got it
  10. Matt is correct, but just to elaborate, interference must hinder a fielders opportunity to field a ball or make a play, to impede their opportunity to make an out. So while the pitchers progress was impeded (based on what you said), since there was no play; there was no “callable” interference
  11. Come on now.... if a pitched ball hits a bird in flight, you get to have a do-over of the pitch! Thank you Randy Johnson!
  12. Well, welcome back. Your post didn't have a whole lot of info to respond to...even after many games in a short amount of days, people will miss pitches sometimes. Timing and tracking...be deliberately slow while you get back into the flow of baseball and seeing different pitches. Take your time, watch the whole pitch into the mitt, then make a decision, then signal. If you only missed a few early on after a year and a half, you're doing just fine
  13. ShaunH

    Grand Slam

    And no, a baseline is established when a put out (tag) is attempted. since on a home run, there is no put out to be attempted, there is no baseline to be run out of
  14. ShaunH

    Grand Slam

    You seem to be really hung up on this... To “pass” a runner, it must be done within the baselines in the 360 feet it takes to start at the plate and get back to the plate. It has nothing to do with passing a base the other guy missed
  15. ShaunH

    Grand Slam

    You can not retouch home once a following runner has crossed home plate and scored
×
×
  • Create New...