Jump to content

The Man in Blue

Established Member
  • Posts

    1,610
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    34

Everything posted by The Man in Blue

  1. Sorry Rich ... I’m new and you are missing my warped sense of humor.
  2. I may be wrong, but I would suspect that the coaches’ departments would have policies about performing non-law enforcement activities in uniform. Just because they are volunteering dos not mean they are representing their department or performing any official duties.
  3. In that case, the edit cannot be overturned.
  4. Good to know I wasn’t the only one. Never had a deer delay ... I had a goose delay once in a softball game. It wouldn’t leave left field. I told the catcher we were going to go ahead and play, but if anybody hit the ball near the goose it would be a “fowl ball.” Oh yeah, dad jokes. I also had a dog enter the field and run off with a foul ball at a varsity baseball game.
  5. Make that determination first, then ask us.
  6. I’ve had that one before! It took me a second to ring the baserunner up because I couldn’t believe it. On the other side of this discussion are the fielders who request time to throw the ball back to the pitcher. I saw a lot of that in middle school games this past fall. Unless there is a reason to call time, request denied.
  7. I’m going to agree with it being a “loose interpretation” ... I mean muffler-hanging-off-causing-sparks kind of loose. Unless the runner did something deliberate (deviated into the ball, raised his hand at it), I don’t agree with that interpretation though. What fielder is throwing straight down the base path anyway? I’d almost wonder if the fielder was trying to draw that call.
  8. Damn ... I need to do some careful NFHS re-reading. Thank you noumpere!
  9. To beerguy55’s observation/question about when the offense can no longer appeal ... once the field was clear, meaning when the defense was off the field and baserunners left their bases and entered the dugout. I’ll admit that is a tough one ... no action has happened, so I can see how an umpires would want to rectify the situation. By rule though, it was too late. By trying to fix it, the umpire’s opened the game up to a possible protest.
  10. By ejecting them. Seriously though, restriction is not an actual option for a player. Ejecting a player (speaking in Fed rules) restricts the player to the bench since the player cannot actually leave the grounds or the supervision of his/her coaches.
  11. I can’t speak for every sanctioning body, but I have yet to see any rule against throwing the bat UNLESS it interferes with a play or the batter throws the bat at the pitch. That said, I have seen house rules against it. I have seen umpires take action as a safety measure under their authority. If the umpire deemed it a severe enough of an issue, issuing a warning (which traditionally is a TEAM warning, not an individual) then recording an out seems appropriate.
  12. I almost laughed in a coach’s face the first time I got that one ... I wasn’t trying to be rude, but I honestly didn’t believe he could be serious. Coach came out arguing that it wasn’t a D3K because his catcher caught it off the bounce. In all my years I had never heard that one. (Strangely enough, I had a coach question it in a softball game just a few weeks later. Never had it since.)
  13. I can see how the guys on the field missed it (“looking down the barrel”) ... but wow ... just ... wow.
  14. Does a fielder intend to obstruct a runner? Does a runner intend to interfere with a fielder? I understand where that line of thinking comes in based on the archaic language in the rule, but in what other section of the game do we pretend to know (or care) what the player was thinking? The end result was that it confused the fielder into making an unnecessary play and would have allowed a run to score. So, in your interpretation, a runner on second base could steal first base if she is just doing it for fun. (I enjoy these types of discussions!)
  15. Wow, an unpopular opinion ... but I’ll live with it. I guess I am fortunate that I am still in an area where the major organizations still forbid working a sanctioned game alone. I’ve only encountered it in rec or pre-season “practice” games. Maybe that’s why I have a different take. I like ArchAngel’s reply.
  16. In #2 we don’t have enough information ... primarily what rule set are you using? I’m going with the runner is out regardless of which section was touched. NFHS 8-4-2 and 8-4-3 Art. 2 . . .The offense or defense may use either the white or colored portion: a. On any force out attempt from the foul side of first base. b. On an errant throw pulling the defense off the base into foul ground. c. When the defensive player uses the colored portion of the double base, the batter-runner can run in fair territory when the throw is coming from the foul side of first base, and if hit by the thrown ball, it is not interference. If intentional interference is ruled, the runner is out. Art. 3 . . .The offense or defense may touch the white or colored base: a. On a fair ball hit to the outfield with no play being attempted or when the runner is returning to first base. b. On a fly ball tag-up play. c. (F.P.) On an attempted pick-off play. d. On a base on balls.
  17. So here is what we had ... After the play died, I called time and met with my partner. I asked “Did she touch second base?” My partner confirmed “Yes, she was standing on it before she went back.” My response: “Well, this is going to be interesting. If she legally reached second base and was entitled to it, she can’t go backwards. We are going to rule R3 out and put R2 back on third base. Do you agree?” (He did.) We made our ruling and almost got Aging Arbiter’s guess of an ejected coach or two. I was fairly new at the time, or we would have gotten the HC and AC when they brought the rule book on the field to show us Rule 8, Section 3, Article 6: ART. 6 . . . A runner shall not run bases in reverse order either to confuse the fielders or to make a travesty of the game. PENALTY: (Art. 6) The ball is dead and the runner is out. HC’s argument was she didn’t do it on purpose. I said it didn’t matter, it confused the fielder into making an unnecessary play and allowed the other runner to score. Then he informed us that we were the ones making a travesty of the game. I had thicker skin (or not enough experience yet) back then. Not that it matters, but he was up 14-0 when it happened. When I tell this story, the most common response seems to be Biscuit’s answer. Just wondering what your logic was and why it seems many people are willing to allow the runner to run the bases backwards. Edit to add: in NFHS baseball it would be 8-4-2(n). Another edit: I just noticed I screwed up the labeling of the runners in the scenario ... the runner in question should be R3, the runner on first base. I am editing to make that clear.
  18. In the situation described, a bit of “etiquette guidance” would have been appropriate. “Coach, I know you are in a pinch so I’m going to help you out a little bit. Bringing the book on the field is not acceptable and would usually get you tossed.” Now, most of us know that is the first time he has probably seen the cover of the rule book, let alone the inside of it. Oddly enough, I have actually seen umpires pull the book out on the field and look something up. I can’t recall what it was, but it was in a televised D1 NCAA softball game. I believe it had to do with a rule that had been changed that season, but I could be wrong.
  19. I’ll add a suggestion I haven’t seen anybody bring up yet ... your best mechanic when working solo occurs before the game begins. In your pre-game, address this with the coaches. “I am one umpire watching everything at once. I will do my best job for you, but it is possible a situation may arise where I simply do not see something. I am not going to guess or try to piece together something I didn’t see.” In the pre-game, determine how you are going to handle those situations ... if it is a summer rec league game for younger kids, you may be willing to allow the coaches to provide you input (providing they agree). If it is something bigger with some stakes, you may have to tell them that they are going to accept your calls regardless. Unfortunately, I hear more and more often about one-umpire games. Sadly this seems to be where the trend is headed at lower levels. I hope we never get to the point that this is an acceptable norm.
  20. When you say HPU “came to you” I am assuming you mean you got together in conference, not through an on-field “did he go?” I’m still a little baffled as to why you (he) stuck with the strike call? I get it, sometimes we blink or flinch at bad moments and we need to get help, but then why did he bother getting with you if he was adamant he wasn’t going to change the call?
  21. New blue here! Greetings! Here is more fun with the infield fly ... 8th grade softball regional, but nothing would be different from baseball ... Bases loaded, no outs. Batter pops it up on the infield. All runners are running anyway. My partner and I both point up, I call “Infield fly, if fair!” Coaches are screaming “Get back, get back!” The SS drops the ball. R1 scores from third. R2 advances from second to third. R3 reaches second base safely from first. The runners now stop to process all of the screaming. R3 decides to listen and tears back to first base. SS picks up the ball, fires to first where ... of course she throws the ball away. R2 takes off for home and R3 turns around to return to second. 1B fires the ball home where R2 is safe. R3 again reaches second base safely. What do you have? EDIT NOTE: I initially screwed up the labeling of the runners. The runner starting on first base should be R3. I have edited this post to correct the error.
×
×
  • Create New...