Jump to content

JakeUmp

Members
  • Content Count

    24
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Posts posted by JakeUmp


  1. 23 minutes ago, Rich Ives said:

    1) If there is a throw coming to 2B in an attempt get a re-tag out then it is type 1 and the runner gets 3B.  If there is no play on the runner then it is type 2 the umpire makes whatever award he feel will nullify the obstruction. 

    2) It wouldn't override obstruction, but as it its type 2 the umpire will take all subsequent action into account. Not sure where you would get interference. Perhaps you could describe a situation.

    Sure. R2, double to the outfield. R2 obstructed around third base and then trucks the catcher standing with the ball at home. 

     

    Also, can the defense still appeal the missed tag up if you award them 3B and they never tag up? 


  2. 1) R2, caught fly ball and R2 is attempting to retouch second base but is obstructed while going back. He a) would've made it back without obstruction and b) wouldn't have made it back. Are they awarded 3B regardless? 

    2) I can't find anything in the rules about this. If a runner is obstructed (type 2), what actions can they do that would override obstruction? ie interference


  3. I'll start off by noting my age -- 16. Because of that, I feel like I take more heat than older umpires.

    Last night there was a close play at first base -- I called the runner safe, and I was entirely confident with my call. Coach comes out and asks for me to ask PU for help because he "had a much better angle than you." I said "she was safe" probably 3 or 4 times, because as I said, I was pretty much positive I got it right. Coach keeps asking, and I say "that's enough" while turning my back to him, which he responds with a "no, that's not enough" and follows me. I say "alright, please go back to your dugout" and he does, but while loudly saying "that's BS, that's BS" (no, not swearing).

    I chose not to restrict/eject because 1) I didn't feel he crossed the line enough (though if he kept going I would've restricted) and 2) he wasn't swearing. But I am not sure if I should've restricted for this.

    Can I have some tips on how to better handle situations like these, especially because I'm already disadvantaged because of my age?

    Thanks!


  4. Let me first state that I exclusively umpire for softball, so if this is incorrect, I apologize. Here is the softball rule: "If a retired runner interferes and, in the judgment of the Umpire, another runner could have been put out, the Umpire shall declare the runner closest to home out." Sounds like interference in this case, but no opportunity to put R3 out (because he would've stayed at third presumably), so just a dead ball with no outs other than the BR.


  5. 1 minute ago, Rich Ives said:

    Nope. Fan interference is a god rule.Umpires place runners where they think they would have reached. An out may or may not be awarded.

     

    6.01(e) Spectator Interference
    When there is spectator interference with any thrown or batted ball,
    the ball shall be dead at the moment of interference and the umpire
    shall impose such penalties as in his opinion will nullify the act of
    interference.
    APPROVED RULING: If spectator interference clearly prevents
    a fielder from catching a fly ball, the umpire shall declare
    the batter out.

    Yes, you are correct and I could've worded my answer a little better.


  6. Interference with an out on the fly ball. Runners return to the base at the time of the pitch. If the umpire judged the ball wouldn't have been caught without interference, they should award the runners and batter the positions they would have reached.


  7. Yes, that is correct. In this case, since the catcher is making a play on the fielder by appealing, interference by the batter would make them out. That does make me wonder, if the pitcher is switching balls for whatever reason and the batter hits the catcher, would you rule that interference?


  8. In my personal opinion (I umpire ASA softball), I would not rule this an illegal pitch, because the intention to pitch is simply not there. However, there is no need for the pitcher to throw home because a dead ball verbal appeal can be made. This whole situation could've been avoided had the players and coaches known the rules.

    The interference ruling is a bit trickier. The rulebook says it's interference if the batter interferes with the catcher's fielding or throwing by making a movement which hinders action at home or the catcher's attempt to play on a runner.

    I do not believe there is a play being made on the runner because 1) it is a dead ball and 2) dead ball appeals don't need a physical play. My ruling would be based on whether I deemed the interference intentional. If yes, the batter is out and ejected for malicious contact. If no, dismiss it as incidental and award no penalties.


  9. I’m not familiar with softball rules, but that does not sound right for baseball. If you step off the rubber and are attempting to make an appeal, it’s certianly not an illegal pitch and the onus is on the batter to not swing and interfere
    You are right. I missed the part about them trying for the appeal. Also, if they legally step off, there isn't an illegal pitch.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk


  10. Pitcher was off the plate and threw overhand. Certainly not a pitch.
    Due to all the conversations everybody in the park knew it was an appeal, including the umpire.
    Batter out for interference with a throw.
    An appeal isn't a play so the appeal can still be made.
    It's an illegal pitch, a delayed dead ball, and can be hit.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk


  11. Little League Major Softball tournament.  Ball is dead.  Defense wishes to appeal a runner missed home.  Coaches are yelling instructions regarding the appeal process across the field.  Offensive coach tells his batter to swing if it's a strike.  Pitcher toes the rubber.  Home plate umpire puts the ball in play.
      Pitcher steps off and then moves about 3' to her left of the rubber and throws the ball overhand toward home.  (None of the players speak during the play.) The catcher moves forward toward the pitcher.  The ball comes in near the outside corner of the plate.   The batter swings at the ball and hits the catcher's mitt and hand.  The catcher is unable to catch the ball.  No runners attempt to advance.  Home plate umpire calls time for injured catcher.   What's your ruling?
    No timeout should be called unless the catcher is seriously hurt. Otherwise, it's catcher's obstruction and you play on. It is an illegal pitch, but it's a delayed dead ball and can be hit.
    If all runners advanced one base safely and runner reaches first, the result stands. Otherwise, the coach can choose to award the batter with a ball and advance the runners one base or take the result of the play, which would be catcher's obstruction.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

×
×
  • Create New...