Jump to content

Mudisfun

Established Member
  • Posts

    1,194
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    15

Mudisfun last won the day on June 23

Mudisfun had the most liked content!

About Mudisfun

  • Birthday August 26

Profile Information

  • Location
    Orange County CA

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    OCBOA, D62 Staff Umpire, Pacific Coast
  • Occupation
    Supply Chain and Warehouse Manager, Multi Media Operator
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    HS/Travel/Youth
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    ABUA (umpire.org)

Recent Profile Visitors

6,367 profile views

Mudisfun's Achievements

701

Reputation

2

Community Answers

  1. R1 has reached a new base, so his award is started from the base last legally acquired at the time of the throw. BR having not yet legally attained ANY base at the time of the throw is awarded the same two base award from time of throw which would be 1st and then 2nd. Seems odd, considering that prior to reaching 1st, the award for a TOP and TOT equates to the same thing, but them are the rules.
  2. The answers are correct, but look at the situation by taking the confusion of the uncaught pop up out of the equation. Bases loaded. Ball hit which was not caught in flight for an out. Runners are forced to advance, including R1. 2nd base was touched/tagged by defensive player with possession of the ball prior to R1 reaching 2nd base, OR R1 who is forced was tagged by a player with possession of the ball prior to achieving 2nd base for a force out. No run can score when the 3rd out is made on a force. Just connect the dots and sometimes the answer is easy to see when you remove the oddities of a somewhat broken play.
  3. Here is a decent video for balks -
  4. To top it off, this was a foul ball, not a caught ball which would necessitate the runner retouching. In that case, the ball would never be dead and the runner would actually be in jeopardy of being called out on appeal if he took off and was not retired. As others said, as long as he is in the vicinity of the base, most people are not going to pick on this one.
  5. Listening to the video, I would bet the call was drowned out by the crowd noise. Plus I would bet the defensive players on the field are also yelling 'I got it' loudly, or something similar adding to the confusion. 100% Eddings messed up, but so did the two base coaches who should know this is an IFF as well. R1's coach should have been yelling for him to stay on the base since he would have little to no chance to acquire 2nd base. As so eloquently stated in Full Metal Jacket after the surprise night attach on the marine base... 'This is a $h!t sandwich, and we're all going to have to take a bite.' No matter what the crew did here, someone was going to go bye bye. If they let the out at 2nd stand, then the Cubs manager is coming out to argue and leave early. If they fix it, which they should and did, then the other manager is going bye bye. No winners on this one with the errant initial call.
  6. Mudisfun

    Balk?

    As others have said, this is nothing. The only way I might get in this middle of this is if R2 is on his knee retying his shoe... then I'm killing it since R2 is not even looking at what is going on and that is a safety issue. Other than that? Nope, not a thing.
  7. Not as sexy looking as the HSM, but what about a 2 piece like this? Have seen these in LL and those were NOCSAE approved (not positive the photo is a NOCSAE version). The mask can be pulled away from the face a little when removing the helmet.
  8. I have noting. F2 is set up to take the play properly, leaving plenty of room for R3 to acquire the base. F1 makes an awesome throw pulling F2 off the plate and suddenly and directly into R3's path. All I see is R3 doing the 'oh crap!' and trying not to kill F2... To me he just tried to stop anyway possible. You could try and make an argument for retired runner interference, but that to me would be a stretch and would be rewarding the defense for creating this scenario.
  9. Mudisfun

    Bases loaded

    You may also run into a ruling for an intentionally dropped ball if in the judgement of the umpire the fielder attempted to drop and then turn the double play. In this case, the ball is dead, the B/R is out and all runners return to their time of pitch base. In this scenario, nothing happens once the ball is intentionally dropped and time is called.
  10. Hell to the yes, to the yes, yes, yes. I VIVIDLY remember being a 12 year old playing LL majors. Our UIC, Jenny Ellison was working the plate and she took a foul direct to the throat. Thank God she was not seriously injured, but it took her out of the game as a precaution... considering I'm inching towards 50, and still recall this event with clarity, I never have questioned wearing or not wearing a guard.
  11. Truer words have never been spoken. A few years back there was 4-5 videos of a Huntington Beach Police Officer involved in a fight with a mentally unstable suspect. The fight started on their feet, went to the ground, and then back to their feet where the Officer ended up shooting and killing the suspect. The suspect, if I recall had gotten an item or items off the duty belt which made the officer fear for his life with the suspect now having weapons. 5 adults stood there and taped this, from beginning to end. Not a single one of them jumped in to help the officer, especially when the fight went to the ground. If one of these adults had helped subdue the combatant, A) he most likely would be alive today and B) The 20 something officer would not have to live the rest of his life knowing he was faced to shoot this unstable man.
  12. I'm ending the coaches participation right there. The optics to start with are horrible: 8-12 year old kids watching 2 grown men barking at each other through the fence, hurling obesities at each other. Parents and fans of said 8-12 year old kids watching this with a higher likelihood of also becoming participants in the above demonstration and thus having the whole thing spin out of control. Your job as defined in the rule book is to be the SOLE representative on the field of Little League International. (9.01(b)) If you are representing LL as an organization, how can you then allow the above to continue and not intervene? Sorry, but if your there to officiate the LL game, then the whole rule book comes with the job, not just the parts you want to enforce. As the umpire you have the following rule support to remove the coach, which in my opinion, should have occurred. 3.09 Players, managers and coaches of the participating teams shall not address, or mingle with spectators, nor sit in the stands during a game in which they are engaged.... 9.01(b) Each umpire is the representative of the league and Little League International, and is authorized and required to enforce all of these rules. Each umpire has authority to order a player, coach, manager or league officer to do, or refrain from doing anything which affects the administering of these rules and to enforce the prescribed penalties. (d) Each umpire has authority to disqualify any player, coach, manager or substitute for objecting to decisions or for unsportsmanlike conduct or language, and to eject such disqualified person from the playing field... Regulation XIV - a. The actions, on or off the field, of players, managers, coaches, umpires and league officials must be above reproach. Any player, manager, coach, umpire or league representative who is involved in a verbal or physical altercation, or an incident of unsportsmanlike conduct, at the game site or any other Little League activity including through online or social media, is subject to disciplinary action by the local Board of Directors.
  13. You got hosed! I did the same thing and the kids coach rung him up for a strike!
×
×
  • Create New...