Jump to content

Senor Azul

Established Member
  • Posts

    2,002
  • Joined

  • Days Won

    26

Everything posted by Senor Azul

  1. 2019 NFHS softball rule 3-1 ART. 3 . . . The team's lineup card shall include first initial and last name, jersey number, position and batting order of each starting player and shall include each eligible substitute. Lineups become official after they have been exchanged, verified and then accepted by the plate umpire during the pregame conference. PENALTY: After the lineup card has been submitted to and verified by the umpire and a change is subsequently made to a player/substitute name or number, or if a player/substitute is added to the lineup card, the umpire shall issue a team warning to the head coach of the team involved. Any further changes made to a player/substitute name or number results in the head coach being restricted to the dugout/bench area for the remainder of the game. 2019 NFHS Softball Case Book 3.1.3 Situation: The visiting team’s head coach submits and verifies a lineup card with No. 4, L. Brown listed eighth in the batting order and playing first base. However, L. Brown is actually wearing uniform No. 21. After reaching base in the top of the third inning, the home coach appeals to the umpire that L. Brown is batting out of order. RULING: L. Brown is the correct batter but is in violation of the rule that requires a player’s name and shirt number be correct on the lineup card. A team warning is issued to the visiting head coach, the error is corrected on the lineup card and play is resumed. Any subsequent name or number correction (including adding a substitute) to the lineup card will result in the visiting head coach being restricted to the team dugout/bench area for the remainder of the game.
  2. 2021 OBR (yes, they finally updated the rules on the MLB website) 6.01 Interference, Obstruction, and Catcher Collisions (a) Batter or Runner Interference It is interference by a batter or a runner when: (5) Any batter or runner who has just been put out, or any runner who has just scored, hinders or impedes any following play being made on a runner. Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of his teammate (see Rule 6.01(j));
  3. Gentlemen, we discussed whether a batter-runner could reinstate a force at first in a thread titled Interesting Play found currently on page 42 of the Ask the Umpire forum. I said no at the time and I was the only one to provide any authoritative opinion on the question. Here’s the link--
  4. Here’s the why, Billy D… The term Foul Tip first appeared in the rule book in 1889 to distinguish it from what was called a Foul Hit at the time. A foul hit could be caught for an out if the batted ball rose above the batter’s head. They didn’t want to give away cheap outs so they came up with the concept of the foul tip for pitches that were just grazed by the batter’s swing and the ball did not rise above the batter’s head. There was some evolution to the rule and by 1899 it had become pretty much the rule we know today.
  5. 2019 NFHS Case Book Play 8.4.2 Situation C (a) B1 reaches first base safely but thinks he is out and abandons his effort to return to first base and heads for the team bench, or (b) R2, running to third base, thinks he is out because of a possible force play at third base and leaves the field for the team bench when the coach tells him to return. RULING: The umpire will rule an out in both (a) and (b), because in each play the runner abandoned his effort to reach the entitled base. Upon reaching base a runner abandons his effort when he leaves the baseline. (8-4-2p) 2019 NFHS rule 8 SECTION 4 RUNNER IS OUT ART. 2 . . . Any runner is out when he: p. after at least touching first base, leaves the baseline, obviously abandoning his effort to touch the next base; or NOTE: Any runner, after reaching first base, who leaves the baseline heading for the dugout or his defensive position believing that there is no further play, shall be declared out if the umpire judges the act of the runner to be considered abandoning his efforts to run the bases.
  6. Senor Azul

    balk

    High school rule 2-3 states that the runner is entitled to advance one base when the pitcher balks. Here is how that is officially interpreted--from the 2016 BRD (section 32, p. 38): FED Official Interpretation: Hopkins: A runner is forced to accept the awarded base. 2007 NFHS Baseball Interpretations SITUATION 6: In the top of the seventh in the last game of the season, the visiting team's shortstop is one stolen base short of the record for stolen bases. With one out, he is hit by a pitch and is awarded first base. The pitcher, trying to keep him close to first base, throws over several times. On the last attempted pick-off, the pitcher throws the ball into the dugout. The umpire properly awards the runner second base on the dead ball. The runner and his coach tell the umpire that they will decline the award since they believe he will have a better chance of stealing second base vs. stealing third base. Is the award to a runner optional? RULING: The runner must advance. The award of a base is not optional and cannot be declined by the offense. (8-3-3d) NCAA: The NCAA actually uses the word must in its balk rule 9-3 PENALTY for a. through m.—Balk. The ball becomes dead and each runner must advance one base. OBR: Is all over the place when describing the penalty for a balk. A runner is entitled to advance in its definition of the term balk. Rule 5.06(c)(3) states that runners advance. Rule 5.06(b-3A) tells us that the runners may advance one base. Its rule 6.02(a) Penalty then tells us that each runner shall advance one base.
  7. This is what the website umpirebible.com says about verbalizing the call for a pitch out of the zone—I take it to mean on each occurrence. Ball There is no signal for a called ball. Instead, simply verbalize the call, "ball". Call the ball while still down, then come up. On ball four, don't point to first base, just say "ball." If the batter doesn't head toward first base, you can simply say to him "that's four."
  8. The U-E contributor who was on the NFHS Baseball Rules Committee is lawump. I think he served four years on the committee from 2015-2019. He wrote an open letter to us explaining how the committee operates and it can currently be found on page two of the High School forum in a thread titled All Good Things Must Come to an End dated June 11, 2019.
  9. Here is a doozy…can a batter who has legally been put out (strike three), who has no legal right to advance to first but is running anyways (doesn’t know the situation) be guilty of runners lane interference when a catchers throw, that he shouldn’t be making to begin with, is impeded at first by the batter being out of the RL? Mr. SHO102, You might find interesting the following case play found in the 2016 BRD (section 296, p. 197): Play 161-296: R1. The runner is moving on the pitch when B1’s attempted bunt is a pop-up behind the plate. BR heads for first as the foul is caught. The catcher throws to F3 to double up R1, but his throw hits BR in the running lane and goes into the dugout. Ruling: R1 is awarded third. BR was in the running lane; that he continued to run is not sufficient to create interference. Note 267: If BR had been to the left or right of the lane, the umpire would properly call out R1 because of interference by a retired batter-runner. BRD comment: If R1 does not retouch first before he touches second on the award, on proper appeal he will be out.
  10. From the 2019 Little League Rules Instruction Manual (Rule 2.00—Definition of Terms)—and following are comments from Little League umpire instructors, i.e., what’s being taught to LL umpires. OBSTRUCTION is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball, impedes the progress of any runner… INSTRUCTOR’S COMMENTS: ➔ It is quite simple now for the umpires to rule on obstruction…if the defense does not have the ball and impedes the progress of any runner it shall be called obstruction. It makes no difference if the defense is fielding a thrown ball or waiting for the ball, if the defensive player does not have the ball in his/her possession it is obstruction if they impede the progress of any runner. ➔ Runners are entitled to the entire base/plate without having to alter their path or slide to achieve the base or plate. If a fielder blocks ANY PART of the base or plate without possession of the ball and the runner is hindered, forced to slide or alter his/her path because of the fielder’s position, the runner has been obstructed. ➔ Most actions related to obstruction concern who has the right-of-way. The defense has the right to the baseline on a batted ball or when he/she already has the ball in his/her possession. The offense has the right to the baseline in all other occasions, including on a thrown ball.
  11. As near as I can tell, the Federation has had a baseball rule prohibiting exposed jewelry since 1983. Little League also bans the wearing of jewelry—so does the Babe Ruth/Cal Ripken leagues… Safety Code for LL Appendix B • Players must not wear watches, rings, pins, jewelry, hard cosmetic, or hard decorative items. 2019 Babe Ruth/Cal Ripken Jewelry is prohibited. Players shall not wear jewelry… I suspect most, if not all, youth baseball leagues prohibit jewelry. Since high school has had the prohibition for about 38 years, I am guessing that is the only rule about the wearing of jewelry anyone here has ever known as an umpire. Still, if you truly believe it is a terrible rule, let me suggest you try to lobby the NFHS rules committee to disabuse them of the idea that this rule is a good thing.
  12. The rule the case play is based on, 2019 NFHS rule 8-4-1a, tells us the interference has to be intentional on this kind of play. So the umpire in your play was wrong. SECTION 4 RUNNER IS OUT ART. 1 . . . The batter-runner is out when: a. he intentionally interferes with the catcher’s attempt to field the ball after a third strike;
  13. 2019 NFHS Case Book Play 8.4.1 Situation I: B1 swings and misses a pitch for strike three. The ball ricochets from F2’s mitt and rolls several feet down the first-base line in fair territory. As F2 goes for the ball, B1 accidentally kicks or steps on the ball. RULING: If, in the judgment of the umpire, B1 did not intentionally interfere, then the ball remains alive and the play stands.
  14. From the 2017 Jaksa/Roder manual (pp. 104-105): The granting of protection to a fielder may be withheld momentarily on slowly developing plays… If a ball is rolling along a foul line, and a fielder is moving along with it, but opting not to reach for the ball (waiting to see if the ball will roll foul), the fielder is not protected. Our guest NJ Coach has introduced a new element to his additional what-if scenarios—the batted ball has not struck the runner but the runner and fielder collide. In both of his plays the batted ball was fair at the time of the collision and the fielder was not in the act of fielding (by choice). Therefore, the fielder was not protected and is actually guilty of obstruction.
  15. From the 2015 Babe Ruth rules: No manager, player, substitute, coach, trainer or batboy shall at any time, whether from the bench, the coach’s box or on the playing field or elsewhere-- 4.06(a)(3) Call “Time,” or employ any other word or phrase or commit any act while the ball is alive and in play for the obvious purpose of trying to make the pitcher commit a balk. Penalty: The offender shall be removed from the game and shall leave the playing field, and, if a balk is made, it shall be nullified. From the 2016 Wendelstedt manual (p. 52): Participants in the game, active or otherwise, are prohibited from: Calling or employing any other word or phrases, or commit any act while the ball is alive, for the purpose of making the pitcher balk. [6.04(a)(3)] From the 2018 Minor League Baseball Umpire Manual (p.124): Any player, manager or coach who fails to comply with an order from an umpire to do or refrain from doing anything that affects administering the rules and regulations governing play is subject to ejection in accordance with Official Baseball Rule 8.01.
  16. 2019 LL RIM rule 4.04 - The batting order shall be followed throughout the game unless a player is substituted for another. Substitutes must take the place of the replaced player’s position in the batting order except as covered in Rule 3.03. A league may adopt a policy of a continuous batting order that will include all players on the team roster present for the game batting in order. If this option is adopted, each player would be required to bat in his/her respective spot in the batting order. However, a player may be entered and/or re-entered defensively into the game anytime provided he/she meets the requirements of mandatory play. NOTE 2: For the Tee Ball and Minor League Division (and when the continuous batting order is adopted for other divisions) when a child is injured, becomes ill or must leave the game site after the start of the game the team will skip over him/her when his/her time at bat comes up without penalty. If the injured, ill or absent player returns he/she is merely inserted into their original spot in the batting order and the game continues. Also, if a child arrives late to a game site and if the manager chooses to enter him/her in the lineup (See Rule 4.01 NOTE 2) he/she would be added to the end of the current lineup. 4.01 NOTE 2: Rostered players who arrive at the game site after a game begins may be inserted in the lineup, if the manager so chooses. This applies even when a suspended game is resumed at a later date.
  17. In general, the base is not a sanctuary: A runner is out when hit by an untouched fair batted ball even while in contact with his base if a fielder is in position to make a play. 2019 NFHS Case Book Play 5.1.1 Situation N: With R3 and F5 playing deep, B2 hits a ball that caroms off the base into foul territory where it touches R3. RULING: A runner who is hit by a batted fair ball in foul territory is not out and the ball remains live. Here’s an exception to be aware of. From the 2015 MLBUM (section 18, p. 19): 12. Runner on second base, no one out. Batter bunts the ball down the third base line. Pitcher and third baseman hover over the ball and let it roll down the line towards third, hoping it will go foul. The ball continues to roll down the line in fair territory with the pitcher and third baseman following it. The ball ends up rolling to third base, strikes the base, and then strikes the runner from second base who is now standing on third. Ruling: Even though the ball has technically not passed a fielder, the ball is alive and in play because the fielders had an opportunity to field the batted ball but chose not to. The runner is not out in this situation.
  18. For you, Mr. agdz59 2019 NFHS Case Book Play 8.3.2 Situation K: F6 fields a ground ball and throws to F3 in attempt to retire B1 at first. The ball is thrown wide. As F3 lunges towards the ball, F3 collides with B1, knocking him to the ground prior to possessing the ball (a) while the runner is short of first base or (b) after the runner has contacted first base. RULING: (a) Obstruction; (b) legal. To our guest, ntoombs19, you told us your game was a 12U League game but not which rules you played under. Was it Little League, high school rules or pro rules? LL rule 7.15(h) Use of the double first base does not change any other rule concerning interference or obstruction at first base. (An errant throw into the runner’s lane could still result in an obstruction call. Also, the batter-runner must still avoid interference with the fielder attempting to field a batted ball.)
  19. OBR rule 6.01(a)(8) 6.01 Interference, Obstruction, and Catcher Collisions (a) Batter or Runner Interference (8) In the judgment of the umpire, the base coach at third base, or first base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists him in returning to or leaving third base or first base; 2019 FED rule 3-2 ART. 2 . . . No coach shall physically assist a runner during playing action. Please—no more rants!
  20. Senor Azul

    Fair or foul

    2019 LL rule 7.15 - Procedures for Use of a Double First Base:… Half the base is white (entirely over fair territory) and half is orange or green (entirely over foul territory). When using the double first base, the following rules must be observed: (a) A batted ball that hits the white section of the double base shall be declared fair. A batted ball that hits the colored (orange or green) section, without first touching or bounding over the white section, shall be declared foul.
  21. I agree with Mr. SHO102 in that some explanation is absolutely necessary but it shouldn’t be a tutorial. Official Interpretation: Lepperd: If the defense does not follow correct appeal procedure, that does not preclude a second or third appeal on the same runner at the same base. Official Interpretation: Wendelstedt: The “successive appeal” provision of (5.09c) refers to the defense throwing the ball out of play in an appeal attempt. Play 7-8: R1 stealing. B1 flies to the outfield. R1 has touched and rounded second when he realizes the ball was caught and he must return. He misses second on the way back and barely beats the throw to first. The umpire signals safe. Now F3, with the ball, tags first base again with his foot and says: “I appeal that he missed second coming back.” Ruling: The umpire will not call out R1, but he should explain that the defense appealed improperly. At all levels the defense must tag the runner or second.
  22. From the 2016 BRD (section 8, p. 21): Official Interpretation: Wendelstedt: The defense is required to make an appeal while the ball is in play. Failure to do so does not prohibit them from making the same appeal when the ball is put back in play. If the defense attempts to make an appeal while the ball is dead, the umpire will instruct them that in order to do so they must first put the ball back in play, i.e., make it alive.
  23. 2020-2021 NCAA softball rules 11.2.2 The batter shall not leave her position within the batter’s box when the pitcher is in pitching position in contact with the pitcher’s plate unless permission is granted by the umpire. EFFECT—The batter leaves the batter’s box at the risk of having a strike delivered, unless she requests and is granted a suspension of play from the plate umpire. If the plate umpire does not suspend play as requested by the batter and the pitcher legally delivers the pitch, it shall be called a ball or strike, depending upon the location of the pitch. The ball remains live. 11.2.4 Once the pitcher has taken (or appeared to take) a signal, both hands have touched in view of the plate umpire and the hands have separated, she must deliver the pitch, and the batter shall not leave her position in the batter’s box. EFFECT—If the batter steps out of the box, holds up her hand or uses any other action as if requesting time and the pitcher legally delivers the ball, it shall be called a ball or strike, depending upon the location of the pitch. The ball remains live. If the pitcher stops or hesitates in her delivery as a result of the batter stepping out of the box, holding up her hand or using any other action as if requesting time, it shall not be an illegal pitch. Since both the pitcher and batter have violated the rule, “No pitch” shall be declared. If the umpire judges the batter’s action to be a deliberate attempt to create an illegal pitch, the ball is dead, “No pitch” is called, and all subsequent action on that pitch is canceled. A warning shall be issued to the batter and to the offending team. A repeat of this type of act by any member of the team warned shall result in the offender being ejected from the game. (Behavioral ejection; see Rule 13.2.1.)
  24. From the 2016 BRD (section 33, p. 39): In an explanatory note from Carl Childress he writes— “OBR does not provide a time frame for the advance: Simply, you wait around until BR and R3 decide to touch the bases, when the game ends. Many umpires, myself included, would ‘remind’ the runners to advance.” It’s not an official policy because we as umpires are not supposed to appear as if we are helping one team over the other. But we would definitely like to avoid the sh*tstorm that will certainly follow if we call out the batter-runner and nullify the game-winning run so we might as quietly as possible “remind” the batter-runner to advance.
  25. Mr. MT73, you asked this same question in April 2019 in the same forum. I gave you the very same answer which you thanked me for. Then our resident experts started to claim that the BRD was wrong so I was forced to post more in defense of that interpretation—here is one of those posts talking about an analysis by Gil Imber. Let me direct you to an article written by Gil Imber of Close Call Sports. It is titled Case Play 2017-5--Dead Ball Missed Base Appeal and it is dated May 4, 2017. The play in question actually took place in an NCAA softball game but the last half of the analysis is about what if it happened in a Major League game. Here are a couple of excerpts from his analysis of the OBR ruling. On an out-of-the-park (dead ball) home run, the runner may be called out for: failing to touch a base (appeal play), passing a runner (see Rule 7.01(g)(3) Approved Ruling), abandonment, but not interference. But the ball is dead! The Definition of Terms states, "Offensive interference is an act by the team at bat which interferes with, obstructs, impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder attempting to make a play." There is no play or potential play to be made during a dead ball period. Furthermore, Rule 5.06(c)(2) states that, while the ball is dead, no player may be put out, no bases run, and no runs scored except as the result of acts that occurred while the ball was live (and the rule specifically lists "interference" as one of those acts which might have "occurred while the ball was alive"). Thus, while the ball is dead, the batter-runner cannot be put out due to the coach assist interference. Coach assistance interference is a live ball infraction. So, I hope you, Mr. MT73, will read this analysis and feel more confidence in the ruling from the BRD. The allegation that Carl Childress is wrong about this is simply that—an allegation—an unsubstantiated claim.
×
×
  • Create New...