Jump to content

maven

Established Member
  • Posts

    9,412
  • Joined

  • Days Won

    363

Everything posted by maven

  1. This used to be the rule. I'm fairly old school and usually use this rule. With a read step I can usually get an angle on that foot. A new mechanic permits BU to check with PU first (only for certain questions, and only when PU is in a position to help), then make a call. Pre-game with your partner. In the OP, the second BU was incorrect to wait for the defense to ask his partner. It's his call, the defense should not be going to his partner at all.
  2. Still, this can be incidental. Can you provide an example of incidental contact between a runner and a protected fielder? When I explain these INT calls to coaches, I use the expression "absolute right of way." As far as I can imagine prior to some coffee, runner contact with a protected fielder is always INT, and never incidental.
  3. Matt is correct, Type B if BR is not played on at the time of OBS. Keep it simple: once BR is tagged, call time, award BR 2B on the OBS, advance R1 to 3B on the award to BR. I do not accept the reasoning that starts by saying the offense would have 2 runners on 2B and someone out. That's giving the defense the benefit of the doubt after they have commited an infraction. Penalize the infraction. The penalty awards bases to the obstructed runner to nullify the obstruction. Don't suspend that penalty because someone else fell down.
  4. Often this is an easy call to make. If the fielder with the ball is between the runner and his base and attempting a tag, if the runner goes wider than the fielder's arm then you have an out (his arm is about 3 feet long). This kind of case is the garden variety application of this provision. If a fielder is chasing a runner, then it can be harder to judge, and it sounds as if this is your sitch. Two things to bear in mind here: (1) the runner may legally run wherever he wants prior to the tag attempt (he can start avoiding F6 before F6 has the ball), and (2) you must have a bona fide tag attempt in order to invoke this rule. The fielder merely running toward the runner is not in itself a tag attempt (your judgment). It sounds as if you let it go because you judged there was no tag attempt. I can imagine that: F6 gets the ball on the edge of the grass, starts to run to intercept R2 but realizes he won't catch him, so throws to 1B. That's not a tag attempt until he's in the runner's vicinity, so the basepath provision does not apply. If that's what happened, I'd say you nailed it!
  5. Tough call. One thing we teach is to slow down making a foul ball call. Since a foul ball is dead and nothing can happen, there's absolutely no reason to rush it. Take your time to be sure what you've got, since there's no unringing the bell. Assuming the coach was correct, an extra moment might have allowed your brain to process that sound and identify it as ball & leather, not ball and (any part of the) bat.
  6. I hear what others are saying about letting PU ask BU for help. In general, that's probably right, and for the reasons stated. In at least 2 situations, however, I would go to him if I were BU: (1) he's newer and might not know how to handle the situation, or (2) everyone in the ballpark except him knows he missed it, and getting the call right leaves me no choice but to go to him.
  7. Wait for the end of playing action, call time, and tell your partner what you saw (away from everyone). Live with what he chooses to do. BI is not the BU's call.
  8. noumpere, are you suggesting that F3 cannot receive protection when fielding a fly ball?
  9. Fair/foul would not determine who is out (R1 is doing the interfering), but it could change how I rule INT. If fair, then I will need to judge whether F3 is the protected fielder. If so, INT, otherwise, nothing (play on). If foul, then I will need to judge whether F3 has a play on the ball. If so, INT, otherwise, nothing (foul ball).
  10. No, he was not out anyway. The ball is dead on the FPSR violation: there was NO PLAY at 1B, so nothing to call. Once you call INT/FPSR, it's just a dead ball flying around the infield. I take it that this was JM's point.
  11. Would it be a sidebar to recommend laser eye surgery? I had it 6 years ago and wish I had done it sooner.
  12. We had a play a little like this in my game last night. R1, bunt. F1 fields, throws to F4, late, but R1 goes in standing and comes off the bag slightly on the other side. My partner signals safe on the force and then bangs the out. Coach was all over ... his runner, for not sliding!
  13. maven

    OBR 7.07

    Nice try but that's only a balk on an IBB. Whoops. Thought the question concerned that kind of "catcher's balk." As you were...
  14. Good call. And the fielder clearly did not "lift" the runner's foot off the base, either. See the whole play.
  15. maven

    Strike Zone

    This ^ I preach more strikes to all umpires I work with, of every level: Saturday I told a second year guy and a 46-year guy (whose nickname is "Keyhole"). I try not to be a jerk about it, but there's a pretty tight correlation between small zones and long, high-scoring games. Baseball is a defensive game: make the batter put the ball in play, keep players' heads in the game. When you call strikes, pitchers are more confident, relax, and pitch better. The only limit is the ridiculous. My slogan: No borderline balls!
  16. Balkhawk, you deny the existence of a caught foul ball. But clearly, a fielder can stand in foul territory and catch a fly ball. So, you must deny either that this is a catch or that it is a foul ball. By the rules you quote, however, the play meets the definitions of CATCH and FOUL BALL. Your distinction in this context between a ball that touches a player and a player touching a ball has no basis in the rules, any published interpretation at any level, or the traditions of the game. No printed resource will support you, no rules interpreter will support you. You're betting against the world here.
  17. Huh? Pop-up to F5 in the coaching box that he catches? Seems like a caught foul ball to me... A FOUL BALL is a batted ball that settles on foul territory between home and first base, or between home and third base, or that bounds past first or third base on or over foul territory, or that first falls on foul territory beyond first or third base, or that, while on or over foul terri- tory, touches the person of an umpire or player, or any object foreign to the natural ground.
  18. OBR has a clause specific to this play, which Rich quoted above. In a FED game, I would rule that the pitch was legally caught prior to being dislodged by a retired batter(-runner). In this case, that's nothing — and what could it be?
  19. maven

    OBR 7.07

    The pitcher, not the catcher, has violated the rule, namely pitching while the catcher is not in his box. If the pitcher waits until he moves into the box, then there will be no infraction.
  20. Why wouldn't you have said that the first time, instead of the patently false claim that the bat is not equipment?
  21. Nice try. OBR 1.17: "Playing equipment including but not limited to the bases, pitcher’s plate, baseball, bats, uniforms, catcher’s mitts, first baseman’s gloves, infielders and outfielders gloves and protective helmets..." FED 1-3-5.
  22. I'm not dying on this hill--it's just a thought... However, when you look at the wording of 2-21-3, why not? Well, you (Matt) are correct that the scope of 2-21-3 is quite broad, but I (along with JM, it seems) would not regard ruling SPEC/INT in this case a logical extension of the verbal INT/OBS rule for players. At least not in the sense of being required. In any case, even if it might be permitted, superior enforcement options here would be (as already stated above): Ignore if it has no impact Call time to prevent any impact if needed ("He didn't balk, coach, I had already killed it!")
  23. Ah, I see what you're asking now. Yes, if the removal of F1 from the game is required by rule (8.06b), then he may not move to another position. The same principle applies in FED.
×
×
  • Create New...