Jump to content

maven

Established Member
  • Posts

    9,412
  • Joined

  • Days Won

    363

Everything posted by maven

  1. You got hurt in the OAK vs. BOS game too?!?
  2. Do you have an interp to support this claim? Intuitively, the batter's box is a 2 dimensional object on the plane of the ground. Hard to see how feet (or anything else) could be in the box but off the ground.
  3. The FPSR protects fielders making plays at bases where a runner is forced. What you describe is not a FPSR violation. If not intentional, then it's nothing (whether he's a runner or a retired runner). In this case, the clause stating that a retired runner continuing to run the bases is not in itself INT applies. The defense made a bad throw: play the bounce.
  4. Well, a lot of red herrings for one thread! First, although continuing to run the bases in itself is not interference, that's neither what happened in the OP nor the whole story of that rule. This retired runner was returning to the dugout, not continuing to run the bases, and so the entire clause fails to apply to him. But, further, while he is not required to disappear, he is required to stay out of the way. Walking over the plate when a runner is trying to score is NOT staying out of the way. Second, although it might be true that INT would rarely be called here, that's neither proves nor disproves that it's the correct call. Of course the OP has an HTBT element to it, but for me it suggests INT. Third, although F3 failed to throw the ball, a throw (or a play) is neither necessary nor sufficient for INT here. The retired runner hindered the defense's opportunity to make a play. That by itself satisfies the definition if retired runner INT (though not, as I've said, INT by a runner with a thrown ball, which does indeed need to be intentional). Without seeing the play I cannot say conclusively that the OP should be ruled INT, but that call certainly seems plausible to me under the circumstances. And none of these red herrings has persuaded me otherwise.
  5. I believe something along those lines is part of the NCAA HBP rule.
  6. As the discussion has unearthed, the undefined concept of "in the box" is ambiguous. For "illegally batting the ball by being outside the box," you're "in the box" if you have something in and nothing out. For "illegally being contacted by a batted ball," you're "in the box" only if you have you have both feet on the ground in the box. This is called the batter's "legal position."
  7. The appearance of the RIC is not evidence of an argument, which requires reason and logic. If Black's team had been on defense and exactly the same play ruled "Safe," not only would he have come out, but he'd have been ejected. See the difference?
  8. http://umpire-empire.com/index.php/topic/52965-hbp-2/#entry164664
  9. People misread "permit the ball to hit him." Sometimes, I permit the ball to hit me by standing still; sometimes, by moving into it. The crucial point is that I know where the ball is going to be and intentionally locate myself there. Moving or not proves nothing. So there are 2 ways to fail to meet this test: one is if I don't know where the ball is going to be, since in that case I cannot be said to have permitted it to hit me.The other is if I do not intentionally locate myself there, for instance by freezing or trying but failing to get out of the way. And don't cry to me about reading the batter's mind: we determine each others intentions every day, all the time, for instance by figuring out whether someone is being sincere or sarcastic. We're all mind readers, and most of the time it's the easiest thing in the world. Just like determining HBP.
  10. One factor to consider: this is not runner INT, but retired runner INT, which has a lower bar. The runner has a job to do, but the retired runner needs to get the heck out of the way. The retired runner hindered the defense. That's INT, and I'll take the out!
  11. No call is fool-proof: the best you can hope for is fool-resistant.
  12. Is that having a foot down outside the box necessary for a batter NOT to be in legal position according to 6.03?
  13. "Good way ta break a fingah." Gotta love Bean Town.
  14. The rule is quoted above (6.05). It's a foul ball only if the batter is in legal position when the batted ball hits him, defined as both feet on the ground inside the batter's box. PU ruled that he had "left" the box, that is, that he no longer had a legal position in the box. Contacting a fair ball in that case is INT, the BR is out, and if it hadn't ended the inning/game, other runners would have had to return. I don't see intent to interfere here. JMHO.
  15. Balk. Free foot steps toward home before the spin. The move can be done legally, since a feint to 2B is legal.
  16. We have a similar thread going for a similar play. Here it is: http://umpire-empire.com/index.php/topic/52840-out-at-home-part-ii/#entry164269
  17. I ignore "the hand" until Meat looks at me (for not acknowledging his hand). Then I'll say, "Go ahead and get set, he (the pitcher) has to wait for you."
  18. I agree that this is BU's call. The only advantage PU has is distance: with greater distance you CAN see both the tag and the foot in one glance. So, if you've got a tag (not a swipe and miss), make your best call. If a coach asks you to get help, ask PU (privately) if he has anything. That should be a very brief conversation: "Did he beat the tag?" "No." Signal the out. As usual, ask your partner a yes/no question, not "what did you see?" If you're setting up the recommended 18-21 feet from 1B, you should have a pretty good look. The closer you are, the worse the look.
  19. Others have offered good advice. I'll add only that every umpire, at every level, can have a bad plate game. It's OK, and doesn't mean you're a bad umpire. If you're doing something wrong, you need to address that. If not, and it was just concentration, or fatigue, or life intervening — well, put it behind you and do better next time!
  20. Many newer umpires get caught up in what F1 MAY NOT do, and they get a little lost. When we teach new umpires, I start with what a properly engaged F1 MAY do from either the windup or set: Pitch to the batter Legally disengage Step and throw/feint to a base The last requires more qualification, of course, and FED prohibits pickoffs from the windup. But it makes understanding the balk provisions a little easier if we clarify what's permitted first.
  21. Depends on the attitude. As most have said, the coach is often aiming to show up the umpire. Buh-bye. Sometimes, the coach will approach you first, ask a rules question, then ask to help him find it in the rule book. I had a coach tell me he had spent 2 hours looking for a provision (INT with a batted ball) and couldn't find it. I'll help with that. I'll respond to douchery as needed, but I won't initiate it. :)
  22. As you know, the DH and player he bats for share a spot in the lineup. The DH plays offense, the other player defense. When either one plays the other's role, you lose the role of the DH, and only one player may be in the game at a time. But you may not have both players on defense at the same time, as the OP seems to have had. And by rule (2-36-3c), if that happens it's the (former) DH who is the illegal player, must leave the game, and is restricted to the dugout. If the DH comes out to play defense and the other player stays on the bench, you are correct, that's a quasi-substitution ("quasi" because both players are starters and have re-entry privileges).
  23. maven

    Balk?

    With respect: you're barking up the wrong tree. If it's not prohibited, it's legal. The question is always locating a prohibition, not a permission.
  24. For FED, the DH is the illegal player. 2-36-3c Prevent this if you can. If discovered, the illegal player is removed from the game and restricted to the dugout for the remainder of the game. If subsequently discovered in the game, out (if on offense) and ejected. 3-1-1
  25. The best part of that account: you called time to allow yourself a moment to replay it in your mind. Then you made your call and sold it. Good work: don't rush it, nothing else is happening! :)
×
×
  • Create New...