Jump to content

BretMan

Established Member
  • Posts

    339
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    2

Everything posted by BretMan

  1. When it comes to different sanctioning bodies, asking about "softball rules" can be as vague as asking about "baseball rules" when you have LL, FED, NCAA, OBR, etc, etc to choose from. Yes, the answer to this question could be different, depending on the rule set being used. It could even be different if it's fastpitch or slow pitch softball! The answer the OP gave to the Facebook question most closely resembles the ruling for USSSA slow pitch softball (with a little FED baseball mixed in, for good measure). There, when a runner leaves early on a caught fly ball, and the ball is subsequently thrown out of play, the base left early from is counted as the first base of the two-base award. (Oddly, that's not the case for USSSA fastpitch. They say two bases from teh runners position at the time of the throw). Most all others I'm aware of treat this as two bases (forward) at the time of the throw. Runners are permitted to go back and retouch a base left too soon during the dead ball. But it's still two bases from where they were when the throw was made, not from the base they had to go back and retouch. But you really need to know what sanctioning body's rules were being used, as well if it was fast or slow pitch to make the right call.
  2. ​OUCH! With that ringing endorsement...Ump Attire posted on their Facebook page today that the XV is back in stock.
  3. "Coach, it's my call and I had no interference. Now let's play ball". Then head for your position. Assuming that's really what you had and you're as certain as you can be, you're just doing your job. The plate umpire is the one who breaching protocol. Let him deal with the coach. And, yes, you can deal with your partner after the game.
  4. BretMan

    play at the plate

    And I'm sure that somebody there was making the argument that this wasn't interference because "the batter is allowed to be in the batter's box". On a play at the plate, the batter has to vacate any area needed by the defense to make the play. But sometimes the batter's box does offer some degree of protection against an interfrence call. On a play to another base, immediately following a pitch (like a steal or pick-off) the batter is good to go as long as he holds his position in the box (the position he was in to receive the pitch). If he does that, he's safe from an interference call. If he's moving around inside the box, or moves out of it and interferes, then it's interference.
  5. In all my years of umpiring I've never had this play come up. Or, should I say, never had this myth come up, where somebody mistakes a "failure to tag up" appeal play for a force out. But it is one of the most common and enduring baseball rule myths! Apparently it's happening a lot somewhere, because every year I see this same question posed maybe a dozen times on various baseball and softball internet forums. This year alone I've seen it come up about seven or eight times...but the season is still young! One forum I frequent had this come up so many times that they "stickied" the answer at the top of the page.
  6. In this case (as in a majority of cases) the softball rule is exactly identical to the baseball rule. 1) Runners who are accidentally hit by thrown balls are not guilty of interference. 2) There is no baseline/basepath that a runner has to be in on this play. The ruling for this play: No interference, live ball, play on, get what you get.
  7. Never ask a softball question on a baseball forum! You got some partially correct answers, for some different sanctioning bodies, but you haven't got all the rules that cover this play. 1) The status of the ball being fair or foul has been answered, and is the same in all baseball and softball codes. If the ball hits the runner over foul ground it's foul, if it hits him over fair ground it's fair. 2) In softball, unlike baseball, a runner hit by a fair batted ball while in contact with his base is not out, unless intentional interference is ruled. The reason for this rule difference is that no lead offs are allowed. Since the runners are restricted to being on the base, they aren't called out for being hit while standing exactly where the rules require them to be 3) In USSSA slow pitch softball, when a batted ball hits a runner on base, and it's not intentional interference, the ball always remains LIVE. This is one part of the rule that varies for different sanctioning bodies. The ASA rule was given above (ball remains live if closest fielder is in front of the base, but is dead if closest fielder is behind the base), but that doesn't apply in USSSA. If you are playing NSA softball, the ball is always DEAD when this happens. Three different sanctioning bodies and three completely different rulings- all to cover the same play.
  8. Question about "Reply to Topic". On my PC this works normally. When I click in the "Reply to Topic" box it allows me to type a post just as you would expect. But I've found that this doesn't work on my iPad. The "Reply to Topic" box is still there, but it's dimmed out. Clicking in the box does nothing and I'm not able to post. This could have something to do with the fact that it's an iPad 1, and the iOS is 5.0 (or whatever the highest is you can load on an original iPad).
  9. ​3) But you're not the umpire today!
  10. “Mike Kline is a fantastic coach whom I have a ton of respect for. I know that he is as disappointed as I am in the outcome of the game, and will use it as a learning opportunity for his kids." I bet he will! Carson was involved in a brawl last season against Banning that also resulted in a double forfeit. Or maybe not...
  11. ​This happened to me one time out of a zillion games (well, probably out of over 800 plate games). Pitch gets fouled back and goes straight to my left hand. I open my hand and my indicator falls out in about a dozen pieces- plastic shards, springs, wheels... But I didn't steal my base umpire's. I just manned up and kept the count in my head.
  12. If "F2 got the throw, then stepped into the running lane" why would the collision be the runner's fault and why would he be penalized? How does this league want it called if the fielder suddenly and unavoidably steps into the path of an otherwise legally advancing runner? If you fault the runner for contact initiated by the fielder, it seems like there would be a huge incentive for fielders to always jump into a runner's path.
  13. This sounds like you're saying that preceding runners advance only if forced by the batter-runner's award. It's two bases (time of pitch) for everybody.
  14. Last year I had a four pitch half-inning. There was a fly out and two ground ball outs, with one pitch called a ball mixed in there. But this one had a strange set of circumstances where an umpire wanting a quick game might root against it happening! The home team was batting (bottom of inning) and this was a timed game (no new inning after time expires). When the turn at bat started, there were only about four minutes left on the clock. When this quick sequence of four pitches was over, there was still over a minute left on the clock...so we had to play another inning. This team came close to snatching defeat from the jaws of victory! All they had to do was take a few pitches and the game would have been over. As it was, with the extra inning the visitors mounted a comeback and the home team just barely pulled it out.
  15. I'm not getting malicious contact- or any other penalty against the runner- when the fielder suddenly/unexpectedly/unavoidably moves into the runner's path at the last split-second. In those cases the contact was initiated by the fielder and that's on them. If this wasn't the case, the defense would have a huge incentive to jump into the path of every advancing runner. Don't have the ball? Getting beat to the base? Runner going to be safe? No problem! Just shift into the runner's path at the last second so he can't possibly avoid you and you get the out. Ummm....no.
  16. Try this with the Platinum: Remove the pads from the outermost cups on each arm. These pads don't really cover anything vital (on me, at least). They seem to cover the outer arm/triceps/biceps area. You'll still have the hard plastic cup they attach to in place and you'll still have normal coverage of the shoulder and collar bone. The huge shoulders of my Platinum gave me the "Robo-Ump" look and feel. Some of my shirts could barely stretch around those pads and it made it almost impossible to lift my arms over my head or throw a ball. After taking out the pads, my Platinum feels downright sleek! It made a tremendous difference in comfort for me and at no appreciable loss of protection.
  17. Good rule references. My next question would be: Do the USSSA rules specify WHO may serve as a courtesy runner in this case?
  18. But wasn't that what the last HBP rule change was supposed to do- take away all judgment of the batter's "attempt to avoid" if the pitch was inside the batter's box? In that case, "they" were the coaches that bitched and moaned whenever the hit batter rule didn't go their way. They cried that they were getting ripped off by the umpire's poor judgment, so lobbied to have judgment taken out of the equation. What exactly is the new rule (I don't work college games). I tried searching for it, but can't find anything on the web, even after finding several lists of NCAA rule changes. Is this an actual rule change, or an interpretational change? I take it that batter's are no longer given a "free pass" on anything inside the batter's box, regardless of their "attempt to avoid". I'd be happy with switching back to the old/original HBP rule that served us well for over a 100 years!
  19. As somebody who has had to order from ASA quite a few times....unfortunately, I don't believe that they offer charcoal grey pants.
  20. Or, unless there's another infielder (besides the one the ball already passed) who had the chance to make a play on the ball.
  21. Softball ruling would be the same in this case. 1) Runner not guilty of interference if in contact with his base. No penalty, live ball, play on. 2) Runner out for interference with a fielder who is fielding a batted ball.
  22. All good info on helping out the catcher. I do the same if he's hit, but on the other hand there's something I've always wondered about. If we want to give F2 a minute, why do we have to make up silly little tasks to fill up that minute? Why walk to the mound, or inspect the baseball, or check you line-up card, or dust the plate if it doesn't need it? It's not like we need to artificially create that minute. The game isn't going to start back up until we say so anyway. Why can't we just wait a minute without all the make-do busy work? If a player gets hurt sliding into second base, what do we do? We give them all the time they need to see if they're okay- no artificial stalling required. Why can't we do the same with catchers? You need a minute? You got it!
  23. BretMan

    Infield Fly Rule

    So what was the agrument for this not being an infield fly?
  24. BretMan

    Force at first

    Maybe "casual step" isn't the best descriptive term to use here. I'm thinking they mean something more like an "incidental step" on the base. With a play on the batter-runner at first base, where is the fielder going to be standing? On first base (or, directly adjacent to it, preparing to tag it). If the runner does miss the base, the fielder is going to still be doing whatever he would have been doing if the runner hadn't missed the base (ie: touch the bag). Since this "casual/incidental" touch of the base does nothing to show an umpire that the fielder knows anything is amiss, it alone and of itself doesn't constitute a proper appeal.
  25. BretMan

    foul ball

    Why not? I'm using the same definition of 'catch' you are. Because rule and interpretation say it's just a plain old foul ball.
×
×
  • Create New...