Jump to content

BretMan

Established Member
  • Posts

    339
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    2

Everything posted by BretMan

  1. Thanks! Great info, umpstu. Anyone out there that's used one as a retrofit with a different brand chest protector? (I'm looking at using it on a Platinum.)
  2. With all the buzz on this board about the Delta Flex harness, I'm surprised that I haven't seen a single thread about the new Force3 harness (Ump Attire has these for sale). Has anyone tried one yet? The product review posted on Ump Attire is somewhat uncomplimentary, for the shortness of the straps. But early posts from UA seemed to indicate that these straps were longer than the Delta Flex.
  3. The issue here isn't which way a runner can turn to have overrun protection. You seem to be confusing overrunning first base and rounding first base. They really are two completely different things. Overrunning first base is when the runner goes across the bag and straight up the foul line. At that point, an umpire might need to make a judgment on whether the runner returned directly to first, or if he made some effort or movement to advance toward second (and no, this is NOT based merely on whether the runner turned left or right before coming back to first base). Rounding first base is when the runner takes a curved path around first. Picture a runner who has singled to the outfield, then takes a curved path at first base and heads a little past the base in the general direction of second base. That move should ALWAYS be considered an attempt to advance to second and it would ALWAYS eliminate the overrun protection.
  4. @Varsity07 Thanks for the super fast service! I'm enjoying the Force 3 shin guards.
  5. Hi,

    I would be interested in these shin guards and would like to se a picture.

    Here is my cell phone number in case you want to send the pictures there or text me personally.

    (614) 578-3896

    Bret

    1. Varsity07

      Varsity07

      text message sent

  6. If your mechanic is to verbally announce, "Batter out!", on every third strike, then it is inevitable that you are going to yell, "Batter out!" on a play where the batter isn't out (uncaught third strike) and is entitled to run. And you just told him he can't run...when he can. You're bound to have somebody mad at you when this one's over! What I do is signal/call the strike, without saying, "Batter out". Then, only if the batter begins running when not entitled to will I forcefully announce, "Batter out! Batter out!".
  7. I'd do the same thing if they were size 11, but I never find any size 11's!
  8. BretMan

    walk

    Well, that wouldn't be a WALK then, would it... ...so I hope that you wouldn't enforce it!
  9. In Findlay? The National Umpire School? I might be there for that one. It's been just over five years since my last one and I need to attend another if I want to be assigned to a national tournament.
  10. BretMan

    ASA Umpire

    One organization that forbids it is NSA slow pitch softball. With two outs they forbid any walk, either intentional or unintentional, to the batter ahead of the automatic out (and by "automatic out" we're talking about a missing spot in the batting order, when a team is playing short-handed with fewer than the the required number of players). If this batter does receive a walk, the automatic out is waived and the inning continues. Just like in baseball, there is an alphabet soup of softball sanctioning bodies and they all have their rule quirks. I've also known of some local leagues that added this rule.
  11. BretMan

    ASA Umpire

    In ASA softball, yes. In some other organizations, no.
  12. You've left out a few details that we'd need to know to even guess at a call. - Does this league have some special rule they've added that says a runner MUST slide (because none of the major sanctioning bodies have any such rule). - Did the pitcher have the ball, waiting to apply a tag, when she was run into? - If not, then did the runner have to alter her path to the plate due to the pitcher's presence? - If yes, then did the runner try to avoid the pitcher at all? - What rule set was this game being played under (ASA, NFHS, USSSA, etc)? - Do you think that the runner's contact was intended to injure the fielder, to purposely knock the ball loose, or purposely prevent it from being caught? Fill in some of the blanks and maybe we can help. But I will give credit to the coach for coming up with a creative argument. Usually they complain that a fielder standing on a base forced their runner to slide when she didn't have to, not the other way around! How does someone standing on a base prevent a runner from sliding before they even get to the base?
  13. In what way did the coach "hinder or add difficulty to the fielders"?
  14. I picked up one of those Honigs masks back a few years ago. It was loaded up with their leather pads. The mask seemed particularly comfortable to me and became my main mask. Previous to that I was using a Wilson Dyna-Lite, so at the time the Honigs seemed like a big weight reduction to me. I got a couple of years out of the mask before it got damaged. A girls high school softball pitch, probably about 55 m.p.h. tops, went untouched and hit me right over the mouth. No damage to me, but one of the vertical bars that run up in front of your mouth was bent inward about 1/4"! It really surprised me that such a relatively "mild" hit caused such damage to the mask. As far as the fit, I really liked the way the Honigs fit my chin. It sat nicely on the "high point" of my chin, down away from my mouth. In contrast, the mask I bought to replace the Honigs was a Diamond lightweight with Team Wendy pads. On this mask, the pads seem to contact my chin a little bit higher, to where they're touching my face about where my lower teeth are. It's not so uncomfortable that I wouldn't wear it, but it's different enough that it got my attention. I attributed it to the way the Wendys pads just happened to fit this frame. No, I haven't measured either of these masks for comparison, but based on how they fit me it's no surprise that the Honigs frame is a little bit bigger.
  15. Yep. I edited my response and addressed the catch/no catch part.
  16. We are gods. Women want us and men want to be us. We will crush the puny humans that disobey us. Resistance is futile.
  17. Not really convoluted...if you look at the right rule in the rule book it's pretty simple. The rules posted above touch on the right ruling, but another rule gets right to the point. Refer to 8-12-L, in the section that tells us some scenarios when the runner is NOT out. In USSSA slow pitch, when a runner is hit with a batted ball while OFF a base, the rules are exactly the same as what we're familiar with in baseball. When a runner is hit while ON a base, now we have a rule difference. Being on the base offers no protection in baseball (other than if an infield fly has been hit). But it does in most forms of softball. The reasoning is actually the same as it is with the infield fly exception in baseball. Since leadoffs aren't allowed in softball, the runners have much less of an option on where to position themselves. They're pretty much restricted to being on the base- same as a tagging runner in baseball would be when an infield fly is hit. So the rules provide an exception, taking into account that a runner on a base is standing precisely where the rules require him to be. Here is the rule: 8-12-L: Baserunners are NOT out...When, while in contact with the base, the base runner is hit with a fair batted ball unless the umpire rules that the ball was intentionally interfered with, or a fielder interfered with, while attempting to field a batted ball. The note at the end of that section tells us that in this case the ball remains live. As for the subsequent "catch/no catch", again the rule here is the same as baseball. Once the ball touches an offensive player it is no longer "in-flight" and can't be caught for an out. Refer to Rule 3 definition of "catch" in teh USSSA rule book.
  18. Ooops...this above post was me, but I forgot to log in first, so I'm showing up as "guest".
  19. http://forum.umpiringsoftball.com/forum.php The explanation you got about "infielders abandoning their bases" is pure drivel that has nothing to do with the rule and isn't in the rule book. If the runner had returned to first base when the look back rule went into effect, then at that point she cannot leave the base and steal second. It sounds like your understanding of the rule is correct.
  20. Just so we don't inadvertently start any new rule myths... The above statement is not true for ALL softball sanctioning bodies. Some require the bat to be pulled back, some don't. It's not really a softball versus baseball thing, it's more of a "what rule set are you using" thing.
  21. The softball interpretation is exactly the same. Runner passing the base is assumed to have acquired it, up until a valid appeal is made. Signal safe if runner passes base without touching it, but beat the throw. No accidental appeals allowed. About an "accidental appeal"...Appeals need to be unmistakable in that it needs to be obvious what exactly is being appealed. Think about a typical play at first base. Where is the fielder going to be standing and what is he going to be doing? He's going to be standing on first base, catching and holding the ball. If the runner does miss the base, F3 doing what he'd normally be doing if the runner didn't miss it isn't an obvious or unmistakable appeal. Nothing he's doing indicates to the umpire that he even saw the miss, let alone that he is appealing it. Thats why why we look for a verbal appeal here. Something along the lines of, "He missed the base!", let's the umpire know exactly what is being appealed. Besides the verbal element, the fielder needs to tag either the base or the runner as part of the appeal. And he needs to do it before the runner comes back and is standing on first base! Once the runner does touch first, then he's corrected his base running mistake and can't be called out on appeal.
  22. In the spring of 2006- the season following Doug Eddings infamous call in the 2005 ALCS- I attended a clinic where we had the good fortune of having a MLB umpire as one of the instructors. The Eddings U3K was a topic of discussion, being one of bigger umpire blow-ups to that date. We were instructed that MLB had devised a new mechanic specifically in reaction to this play. The new mechanic to signal that a third strike was not caught was to: A) Verbalize "No catch", and; B) Extend the right arm straight out to the side while pointing (probably what's being described above as the "half safe sign") and hold it there as the play resolves itself. The rationale for this hand signal was that it removed the ambiguity of signalling a strike with a closed fist pump, which might be construed as either a strike or an out (which was certainly the crux of the Angels argument that Eddings had already called the batter out, while Eddings claimed he was just signalling the strike). So, nearly a decade ago that was the first attempt at coming up with a unique signal and verbalization for this play. Honestly, I have no idea if the pro schools are teaching something different nowadays, but the mechanic has seemed to evolve over the years. Our local high school unit wants us to us a safe signal along with the veral "no catch".
  23. I'm in central Ohio too, and in the past month have had 20 games cancelled due to rain. Last month, in the middle of a tournament we had lightning, so we cleared the fields. Then the sky opened up and we had about a ten minute downpour. It stopped and the grounds crew was working on getting the fields back in shape. All of the umpires were sitting around picnic tables in a nearby shelter house, waiting for some official word on when we'd start back up. We're kind of at their mercy and there really isn't anything we can do at this point other than sit and wait. Apparently, this was all just too much for one fine parent in attendance. The guy was acting all agitated and running from tournament official to tournament official trying to get some word on how long the delay would be. As he walks by where we're all sitting, in a ticked off voice he loudly proclaims, "If the umpires weren't all sitting around doing nothing maybe we could get the games started faster!". Idiot...
  24. On my Platinum I took off the two outermost pads from the shoulder cups.No more bulk and no more "robo-ump" look! This might depend on the person, but on me those two pads are down on the sides of my shoulder, kind of in the triceps/biceps area. The shoulder joint itself and the collar bones are still fully covered and protected. The plastic cups that held the padding are still there and offer some protection. I've been hit there twice since making this modification several years ago (hundreds of games). You feel the plastic smack your arm, but no marks or injury. And, if you don't like it, you can always put the pads back in.
×
×
  • Create New...