Jump to content


Established Member
  • Posts

  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won


Posts posted by BretMan

  1. It's an unreported substitution. The penalty can vary depending on which rule set you're playing under.

    Penalties can range from "nothing" to a team warning and bench restriction to the unreported sub being called out- all depending on the rule set and when the infraction is discovered. 

  2. Does this play ever really happen? Because I have a couple of thousand games under my belt and I've never seen it happen...but I see the same question asked on various discussion boards at least a dozen times a year!

    Interestingly...this did happen on opening day for the Cleveland Indians last night! R2 & R3 for Cleveland, one out. Line drive to F7 for a catch. R3 properly tagged and scored. Meanwhile, R2 had left on contact and was almost all the way to third base. The throw to home was cut off, then relayed to second to retire R2. R3 had crossed the plate well before the third out.

    Inning ending double play AND the run scores.

    The umpires got it right...but the Texas manager came out and argued that the run should not have counted! I would have loved to have heard that conversation. But it just goes to show you that even the pros are shaky on this rule!

  3. Beerguy, you are looking at obsolete or inaccurate references.

    Here is the current 2017 case play:

    8.6.19 SITUATION B:

    B2 hits a grounder to F6 whose throw to F3 is not in time to retire B2. However, B2, who has not been called out, leaves the baseline and heads for the dugout.

    RULING: If B2 enters dead ball territory she would be declared out for abondoning a base.

    • Like 1
  4. 12 hours ago, beerguy55 said:

    Not in high school or NCAA softball - they do not require the batter to leave the field.  ASA does.  And OSR does.  NCAA and FED do not.

    This is not correct. The NFHS softball rule matches ASA for abandonment. For both, either a batter-runner or runner must actually enter a dugout/dead ball area before they can be called out for abandonment.

    And not to pile on, but...I don't see any reference in their rule book for the rule you say applies in NCAA softball, about a batter-runner stepping back toward home plate. The only references I can find (in multiple places) are about stepping back to avoid or delay a tag.

    I know that this is mainly a baseball forum, but let's not inadvertently start any softball rule myths in the process! :)

  5. Cav, I probably agree with pretty much 100% of what you post here, but you've managed to confuse me on this one.

    What interpretation says that a piece of equipment must be thrown at someone for it to be an ejection?

  6. The infield fly takes precedence. So, if an infield fly is declared, the intentional drop rule does not apply.

    Reasoning: Once the batter is called out from the infield fly, there's no (rules based) advantage to dropping the ball. With the batter already being out, there are no force outs available at any base.

    Now, somebody might think they have to run, even when they don't, and possibly make another out that way. But that's not a "rule based" reason to run. It's just ignorance and that's on them!

  7. If the pitcher pitches (i.e.: throws a legal pitch while engaged with the rubber) then you treat the results the same as any other pitch. 

    If the pitcher disengages and makes a throw to the plate (which can't be batted into play) as part of an attempt to retire the runner, then you may have a case for interference. 

  8. 11 hours ago, VolUmp said:

    I think it's a stupid FED rule that should never be used.  In Scrounge's 10u example, I either have nothing, or INT with an immediate dead ball — even with no one else on base.

    I know that Scrounge is in central Ohio (we've never met) and I know of at least one youth organization in the area that uses FED as their default rule set. Just sayin!

  9. I will respectfully disagree with (part of) the above answer. 

    The runner who touched home and went back to third "legally" acquired that base. Runners are allowed to correct baserunning mistakes (not tagging up) and this one did. And once the runner made it safely back to third, the baserunning mistake has been corrected and an appeal is no longer available.

    Now we have two runners on a base.

    1) There are no "automatic" outs to be had here. The defense must play upon the runner to get an out.

    2) There is no double play available in this situation.

    3) When two runners occupy the same base...if the lead runner is forced, then the lead runner may be tagged for an out. If the lead runner is not forced, then the trailing runner may be tagged for an out.

    4) Since no force play is involved here, the order in which the runners or the base are tagged doesn't matter. When there is a forced runner involved, then the order of who/what is tagged can matter as it may remove the force play for one of the runners. But we don't need to worry about that here.

    On this play, I have the trailing runner in jeopardy of being tagged out, while the lead runner is not.


    • Like 2
  10. I've had two occasions (in 10 years) where a ball bounced up and actually wedged between that sternum pad and the throat protector of my mask, stopping it shy of hitting me. 

    Still, I'm thinking that I might like to remove the pad, just to slim down the protector a bit. What I was thinking of doing is cutting a piece of thin gauge plastic, a little larger that the pad itself, and gluing that in place over the old holes. Maybe even painting it first, dark grey or black, since it's visible through the neck opening of my shirt. 

  11. There's one that always rubs me the wrong way. You had a play, you called and signaled safe, I assume that you did nothing that resembled an out call, and the runner is still standing on the bag. Coach comes out and asks, "Did you call him safe?". Well....duh!

    Of course you called him safe. If you had called him out the ticked off coach wouldn't be out there asking you stupid questions!

  12. 8 hours ago, MB_Ump said:

    The ASA bags are terrible-too shallow to keep the balls and gear in when you move. They seem to be made like the Smitty ones. I use the Ultimate bags with no issues for both SB and BB.

    That's odd. I've used them for hundreds of games and never, ever had anything fall out, or even feel like something was going to fall out.

    Are you sure you're not wearing them upside down? :P

    I also have a couple of the Smitty bags and find the ASA bags to be better constructed, with better materials.

  13. Thanks for bringing up one of my pet peeves! I HATE this!

    Back a few years ago, I was the base umpire and there was a pitching change. After the warm ups, I slide back over to "C". The plate umpire is standing off to the side looking at me. I'm staring right back. Then he points toward the pitcher. I ignore it. Then he starts to act agitated, like I'm holding up the game or something. Then he finally blurts out "Go tell him!". I kind of wave him off, but he doesn't budge and starts to look even more agitated!

    Now we have a stalemate. He's waiting for me to "go tell him" and I'm just as adamant that I won't do that. But it becomes apparent that he has no intention of restarting the game until I do. So, reluctantly, I take a few steps toward the pitcher, lean in, and quietly, just loud enough for F1 to hear, I say, "Alright. Are you ready? Here we go".

    Satisfied that all is again right in the world, the plate umpire hustles back behind the dish and we resume play...

    Kids today have, like, five coaches in the dugout. Why would an umpire have to tell him how many outs there are, or point out base runners that he can see for himself? This just reeks of interjecting oneself into a game where you shouldn't be interjecting. You might not get 15 minutes of fame today, but, by golly, you'll get 15 seconds of fame in the spotlight by giving the pitcher "the situation".

    Is this currently, or has it ever been, a recommended mechanic for ANY organization?

  14. Maybe a little late for your meeting with Jason, but...

    I just purchased the Force 3 chest protector harness. The reason I chose theirs over the All Star was because it's advertised as being longer than the Delta Flex. (Well, that and the $10 price difference!).

    The F3 harness is obviously a fine product. I was impressed by the quality materials and sturdy construction.  But if the F3 is longer, then the DF must be really way too short!

    I'm using the new harness on a Wilson Platinum. I'm a fairly average sized guy, 5'9", 190 lbs, with a 36-38" waist. Starting out with the Platinum clips installed with as much length in the straps as possible (about 1/4" of strap sticking out of the clip, just the minimal amount to let me pull it through the clip), I had a tough time fastening the clips. Once I did get them fastened, the protector was so tight that it was pressing into my solar plexus hard enough to make it feel like I couldn't breathe. Very uncomfortable!

    I somewhat alleviated that by grabbing the protector and pulling it away from my chest as hard as I could, repeatedly stretching the straps until they finally seemed to loosen up a bit. I imagine that they might become a little bit looser with use...and more stretching. 

    While I really like the harness, If it's going to be advertised and marketed as a "universal" replacement, it would be great if the straps were about 3-4" longer on each side. As it is now, I can't imagine this working too well for anyone who's much bigger than "average". 

  15. With respect to runners tagging up and advancing on an infield fly, the rules are the same as with any fly ball, hit anywhere else on the field. 

    The lone exception is that the batter is declared out, so runners aren't forced to advance if it's not caught and there are no longer any force outs to be had. 

  16. 9 hours ago, BCBrad said:

    Is there more than one hollow at the back of the knee? Last time I checked, I can only find one. 

    Yes, the rule book says the hollow at the bottom of the kneecap. That hollow is the only one I can find and it is on the same plane as the bottom of the kneecap. 

    Sorry, spend 10 minutes looking for other hollows, but could not find one. ;)

    I just find it strange that your other post chided people for being ignorant of the strike zone definition, then you tried to explain it by using something that's not in the strike zone definition. 

    I've never seen, read, or been taught anything that involves calling strikes based on the back of the knee. 


    On ‎5‎/‎26‎/‎2016 at 9:16 AM, BCBrad said:

    As people have noted it is when it crosses the plate not the batter. Further, it is when the batter is preparing to hit, not her/his stance. If he/she takes a stride and the moment he/she starts her/his swing, where is the hollow at the back of the knee? That stride lowers the hollow at the back of the knee. The ball has to cross any part of the plate and touch any part of that plane from that hollow. If so, strike. 

    Problem is many people complain about the zone and do not know its definition. 

    What part of the knee exactly is it you're using to set your strike zone? The rule is the hollow beneath the knee cap, not behind the knee.

  • Create New...