Jump to content

BretMan

Established Member
  • Posts

    339
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    2

Everything posted by BretMan

  1. Generally, on a 60 foot diamond the umpires will be behind the fielders. There's just not enough room to work inside without being in the way of the fielders. Plus, if you have to watch for runners leaving base too soon, you can't do that if they're behind you. On 70 or 90 foot diamonds, we usually work inside the diamond.
  2. I'll throw one more out at ya... Here's one I've had happen a few times on the softball field. Runner on second base. Batter hits line drive over the pitcher's head, straight up the middle. Runner is heading to third. Generally, in softball the infielders will be playing fairly shallow. The runner will often be running behind the fielder, which means that the fielder won't really see the runner or have any idea where she is. F6 turns and takes about one step in the general direction of the ball, and right into the runner's path. BAM! Big collision! The defensive coach will always argue for an interference call. But that only applies if the fielder was in the act of fielding the batted ball. With this being a line drive, at the instant the players collided the ball was about eight feet off the ground, just about over second base, and leaving the infield. In short, there was NO WAY that F6 was going to get this ball, or even get close to it for that matter. Umpire judgment here...but simply moving toward the batted ball is NOT the same thing as fielding the batted ball. If you judge that F6 was not in the act of fielding the ball, then this becomes obstruction. And be prepared for some blow back from the defensive coach!
  3. And sometimes, if you're lucky, the sellers there will deliver items right to your door!
  4. No such rule in FED softball. Maybe you've talked to some guys who have that as a personal preference, but it's not a rule or guideline in FED softball.
  5. BretMan

    BretMan

  6. If it's a batted ball, then you have an out. Batter's feet were out of the box when contact was made!
  7. BretMan

    Out or safe

    Some rule sets- for instance, NFHS/high school baseball- prohibit hurdling over a fielder. Most others don't. the ones that prohibit hurdling treat it as a form of interference. The ball is dead and the runner is called out. But for the ones that don't prohibit it, this is a legal way of avoiding a tag and you simply let the play continue to its natural conclusion.
  8. BretMan

    Ball bounces

    That's the other one that I forgot to mention...
  9. BretMan

    Mr.

    Men's fastpitch...they would have a contention if you told them that the grass was green!
  10. BretMan

    Ball bounces

    Yep...it's still a batted ball. Also of note (because a lot of people seem to think that a bouncing pitch changes something) is that when a pitch bounces before reaching the plate, it's still a pitch. It's treated exactly the same as any other pitch, with respect to the batter getting hit by it, or it accidentally hitting the bat, or even it being purposely batted into play- with ONE exception. It can't become a called strike (that is, a non-swinging strike, even if it subsequently passes through the strike zone).
  11. BretMan

    co-ed

    The NSA co-ed rule isn't exactly that you "can't walk a male batter to get to a female batter". Their rule is that if there are less than two outs and a male batter is walked (either intentionally or not), then the male goes to second base and the following female must bat. If there are two outs, then the female batter has the option of either batting or walking. So, yes, you can walk a male batter to get to a female batter. They just have a slightly larger penalty for doing it, but it can be done. The rule that does apply is the one about not walking a batter ahead of the automatic out to get to the out. This applies regardless of if the batters are either male or female. If this happens with less than two outs, then you do enforce the automatic out. If there are two outs, the automatic out is skipped over and you proceed to the next batter without penalty. Again, this rule applies without regard to gender.
  12. BretMan

    Stalling

    Precisely why I noted "illegal stalling". If a pitching change, substitution, or charged conference is legal in the first inning, then it's legal in the last, even if a clock is ticking down and it's being used as a tactic to kill time. Faking injuries, everybody needing to tie their shoes, taking too much time between innings...that sort of B.S. can be addressed. Again, not advocating an immediate forfeit. Just a friendly reminder that a forfeit can be issued if the B.S. continues should solve the problem.
  13. BretMan

    Stalling

    (OBR) 7.03 Forfeited Games (a) (4.15) A game may be forfeited to the opposing team when a team.... (2) Employs tactics palpably designed to delay or shorten the game If you think there should be a rule...well, there's a rule! Usually, just reminding the coach that a forfeit can be called will put an end to the illegal stalling.
  14. Those of you fortunate enough to umpire ASA softball already know that ASA softball is no longer ASA softball. After 80-some odd years as the Amateur Softball Association, they're rebranding. Now know as USA softball, a new name and logo means, of course, new uniforms. The shirts they've chosen seem to be exact duplicates of the Smitty major league "side-panel" shirt. Interestingly, the label in the shirt doesn't say Smitty- it says Adams. Smitty is a division of Adams, so they're one and the same. But I wonder why they went with the "generic" company name, rather than the one that seems to cater specifically to the baseball and softball crowd. ASA...errr, ummm...USA has somewhere in the neighborhood of 30,000 registered umpires- a captive market that has to buy their shirts from one single source. I'm surprised that Adams didn't take advantage of that to get the Smitty name in front of that audience. The shirts themselves...I also don't care for the collar on these. "Frumpy" is a good description. They have an unkempt, wrinkled look, no matter how you care for them. As for how they breathe, I've heard other umpires complain about that. I haven't had the chance to wear one on a really hot day yet, so haven't had any issues with that so far. They feel lightweight and seem like they should breathe okay, but I've heard enough complaints to the contrary to make me wonder. For better or worse, we're probably locked into using these shirts for at least the next several years before another logo or supplier change makes them obsolete.
  15. BretMan

    Batters box

    Well, it's not illegal, in the sense that there's no rule forbidding it and no penalty for it being done. I'd be curious as to why it was removed. Other than it being misdrawn, I can't think of any other good reason for doing that.
  16. If you were reading the Facebook discussion...you probably already know my opinion on this.
  17. Or, since pulling this off depends on somebody not seeing it happen... "The true test of a man's character is what he does when no one is watching."
  18. The year after the Doug Eddings uncaught third strike fiasco in the 2005 ALCS, we were fortunate enough to have a MLB umpire speak to our group. At the time he told us that a new signal had been adopted for this play (whereas previously there was NO special signal). The umpire was to point with the right hand, holding the arm straight out to the side, to indicate the strike. Even if you were a guy who used the hammer, point. The reason being that there wouldn't be any confusion between your hammer strike signal and your hammer out signal. While doing this verbalize, "No catch". The right hand point was to be held out as the play resolved itself (I can't remember if it was until the batter-runner reached first or was put out, or just until he exited the dirt circle around home plate). Maybe something's changed since then, but I still see some MLB umpires use this signal in games today.
  19. I highlighted that last part because I don't think you have that right. If the pitch bounced in, then the batter hit it, then it went directly to the catcher's hands and was caught, it would STILL be a foul tip.
  20. BretMan

    Semantics ?

    It did happen, and it happened about four years ago in a high profile state playoff game- and it caused quite a controversy when it happened. The next year, FED added the "knee" provision to their written rule...which is probably appropriate since this seemed to be a knee jerk reaction!
  21. BretMan

    Semantics ?

    The one local rec league where I still do games here (in central Ohio) is FED based. And they only have a ten page handout of league rules that deviate from FED!
  22. Isn't Smitty a brand/division/affiliate of Adams? Maybe it's just something that we umpires notice, but the negative connotation of the name "Smitty" kind of makes me grimace too. And the Ford analogy actually isn't too far off the mark! Back when Ford was marketing the Probe model, they intended to market the car to female buyers. Sales weren't taking off with women like they had anticipated. Further marketing research found that the name "Probe" did not test well with female buyers!
  23. Anytime there are two runners on one base... IF the lead runner is forced (not the case on this play) then the base offers that runner no protection and he may be tagged out. IF the lead runner is not forced (as on this play) then the base offers no protection to the trailing runner and he may be tagged out. For the play in question, R1 was the one liable to be tagged out. R2 should not have been called out.
  24. BretMan

    Tag Up and Appeal

    Honest to goodness true story... I get to my my game yesterday and I see a coach talking to my partner in the parking lot. They're about 30 yards away and cant hear them, but the Coach is obviously describing a play he's seen- he's making motions like someone catching a ball, making a throw, etc. I walk toward them and as I get there I hear, "...so he didn't tag up and they throw the ball to second base for the force out. That's the third out. Does the run count?". *sigh*.....that's seven...
  25. BretMan

    Tag Up and Appeal

    That's kind of funny...maybe some sort of "revisionist questioning" once he leaned what the rule really was. I was watching that game. The run crossed the plate way, way before the appeal was made. The timing of that time play should not have been an issue.
×
×
  • Create New...