Jump to content

BretMan

Established Member
  • Posts

    339
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    2

Everything posted by BretMan

  1. It's like deja vu all over again! Besides the recent lengthy rule thread covering this very subject, I'll add one question: Did the umpire by any chance judge that the runner made an attempt toward second base after overrunning first?
  2. No materials here, either. But I can tell you that you have it right! I believe that FED is the only one that places a batter-runner in jeopardy of being tagged out for overrunning first base on a walk- whether he made an attempt for second or not.
  3. Had a nice one earlier this summer. One out, runner on first. Base hit to outfield. I slide up the third base line, R1 heads for third, throw comes to third, I'm right on top of it and bang the runner out. Batter-runner is going for second. F5 snaps a throw there, partner is right on top of that one and he bangs him out.
  4. Are you sure you don't mean that the succeeding runner would have to touch first (R2 in this case).
  5. BretMan

    Pitchers Glove

    You beat me to it....
  6. BretMan

    Pitchers Glove

    A "glove" has individual, independant finger stalls. A "mitt" does not (think "mitten"). Some of you guys are really trying to overthink this. The rules about gloves and mitts have been around longer than any of us have. As with many other baseball rules and customs, change is at a glacial pace. Those rules were written when gloves were little more than leather work gloves, with no lacing between the fingers and maybe a strand or two of lace for the web. Mitts in those days were flat clumsy chunks of leather that resembled an oven mitt. Back then, somebody decided that gloves and mitts were two different things, that their size and shape should be standardized and that certain positions could use only certain types...and that's just pretty much the way it's stayed for the past hundred years (though they did rewrite some of the definitions around 1950, as glove and mitt designs evolved). Admittedly, some of these rules don't seem to make sense. But they are what they are and that's what they are! Some baseball or softball organizations have decided that wearing a mitt or glove at a certain position doesn't offer any sort of advantage and have eliminated the distinction. Other's have decided that limiting certain types of gloves or mitts to certain positions can be a detriment to participation, by requiring a kid to obtain a specialized piece of equipment. Little League and professional baseball are not organizations who have made these exceptions!
  7. No, it is not. They use the same guidelines. When the game is over...get out of Dodge.
  8. Then you probably learned from someone who interjected personal opinion and preference over what the umpire manual actually instructs. That happens a lot. Many don't like to verbalized obstruction because they say it "confuses the players" or that it causes them to "stop playing". That may be so in some cases and I don't entirely disagree with that opinion. But I personally dislike coming up with my own mechanics when we have documented instructions telling us otherwise. Refer to page 229 and 253 of the ASA umpire manual.
  9. Sure there is. Which sanctioning body do you think teaches to not verbalized this call?
  10. BretMan

    Weather

    I don't think you even need to trot out 9.01©. The rules already give the umpire authority to suspend a game due to "weather". So, stopping the game would be a point already covered by the rules. This summer a friend of mine agreed to umpire some games for a rec league he'd never worked before. On his first night there was thunder in the area. He began to clear the field. The two coaches told him that "we don't stop for thunder in this league". My friend told them he was suspending the game anyway. They got irrate and cried to the league administrator. The league official came over to the field, then he told the umpire that the game should keep on going. This despite in the printed rules this league distributes they claim to use the standard 30-minute delay for lightning. My friend told them that if they still wanted to play they were free to do what they wanted, but they would be doing so without him as the umpire. Then he left.
  11. BretMan

    Tips!

    That was an NCAA rule change for 2012. NCAA baseball has been using that rule for a few years now.
  12. BretMan

    NCAA Bunt

    The rule is the same as baseball. That is, if the ball contacted the batter, or the bat still in her hands, in the batter's box, then it is a foul ball.
  13. Me either. I don't know about the 460's, but the "snout" on my Reeboks is gone since I figured out a better way to lace them. Lace up the shoe just like you would an ordinary athletic shoe, skipping the metatarsal plate altogether. Then, after you've run the laces through the last set of eyelets, run them up through the holes in the plate. When you pull the laces tight, the plate comes back toward you and lays completely flat against the TOP of the shoe.
  14. Same here. I'm in the market for a new mask, having had my primary mask dented by an untouched pitch (in a high school softball game, at that) and the leather pads rip in my back-up. What I am looking at is purchasing the Diamond iX3 frame alone and the Wendys pads separately (from Ump-Attire). That combination would run about $10 more than the above Honigs mask. I know that the Diamond frame is light, and I know that the Honigs frame is light, too. But does anyone know the exact weight of the Honigs frame for comparison? I imagine that they're within a couple of ounces of each other either way. I just figure that if I'm going to go the lightweight route, I'd like to go for the very lightest.
  15. Another COBUA guy here. At our last clinic that I attended, they were teaching that the base umpire has both the play at first and the play at third. No, that is not the mechanic described in the FED umpire manual. But it would have kept another set of eyes on the play at first. It sounds like the plate umpire rotated when he didn't really have to. This wasn't a base hit to the outfield! Since our association is teaching something contrary to the FED manual, I try to always make this a point to cover in my pre-game with my partner. With a batted ball rolling a couple of feet from the line, the plate umpire should have been watching the line. Fair/foul will be his first responsibility. Then he can watch the batter-runner to help out on a call at first, or the lead runner for a possible FPSR violation at second. Why over-committ to third on this play? A play at third is a pretty low percentage possibility on a bunt with a runner on first. As for the base umpire, the play on the batter-runner is your primary responsibility and that's where all of your attention should have been focused. Did you look away from the play or somehow lose your focus on the ball? It almost sounds like the tag attempt caught you off-guard. Sure, it's possible to get screened on a tag. All you can do is adjust to get the best angle you can get, then call what you had to the best of your ability. Then...sell it hard! Either a firm, "No tag!", with a safe signal or, "Tag!", with a point and out signal is going to look a lot better than just signalling...nothing.
  16. It's always nice when the person responsible for reviewing a protest actually has some grasp on the rule being protested. This fellow obviously doesn't. I would send the TD a polite email with the rule book citations and any additional interpretations or case plays that apply. I'd also ask him to please share the included information with his umpire, in the interest of assuring that the correct call is made in future games.
  17. Not giving big loud demonstrative "FOUL!" calls on obvious fouls hit back to the screen?
  18. I don't know...maybe the lady who reached over the railing and touched the ball hates baseball and is only there because her husband dragged her along. Maybe she isn't especially a fan of the game...but she certainly is a spectator! B)
  19. BretMan

    16-2

    (Don't take this the wrong way- it certainly isn't intended as a knock at you.) We've all done this before (myself included). F2 gets nailed so we brush the plate or visit the mound to "give him a minute". What I've always wondered is why do we need some artificial contrivance to give him that minute? It's not like we're going to let the pitcher start pitching until everybody is settled back in and ready anyway. If he needs a minute, he's going to get it no matter what. Same as if I get whacked behind the plate. No need for the catcher to delay things. If I'm shaken up, I'm taking whatever time I need to get it back together before the game gets going again. Sure, it's regarded as "a courtesy". But it seems an unecessary courtesy since it doesn't really buy any more time than we'd be taking if we didn't go to the mound or brush the plate. The real courtesy is just not letting the game start back up until everybody's okay and we're ready to go.
  20. For you guys that have the Jaksa/Roder manual...They taught that the batter-runner not reaching first base, after the third out had been recorded, could be appealed for a fourth out to negate any runs (or, at least they did a few years ago- my copy is a few years old so I don't know if they've changed it). Conversely, other rule interpreters have debunked this. Kind of reminds me of the old "can a bounced pitch become a foul tip" debate from years ago!
  21. If you understand how the three-foot baseline rule works and that is truly what you had on this play, then you made the right call. The only thing you can do that might help is to sell that call and make sure everyone knows why you called when you called it. Point at the runner and announce something like, "He's out of the baseline. He's out". I'm going to assume you didn't do this, since your partner was asking you about seeing the tag. One other thing to think about- Where was the runner prior to F5 receiving the ball? If F5 was in the baseline before he had the ball, the runner could have been deviating out of the way before the actual tag attempt was made. That would be perfectly legal on his part (though you might have had an obstruction issue on the defense). So, the runner could have been several feet out of the baseline before the tag was attempted. He would then have three more feet to deviate from that point. But let's say that wasn't the case and that you made the call to the best of your ability. WTF is your partner's problem? He "overruled" you? Sorry, he can't do that! I read a lot of posts where somebody says they'll "never work with that guy again" or even that they would "walk off the field" because of their partner's antics. Usually, I think that is an overreaction. People make mistakes and I guess I'm usually a little more forgiving than that. But if my partner "overrules" a judgment call I made in my area of responsibility...we are going to have a problem!
  22. Normally, I use the same Wilson Platinum for softball that I use for baseball. It's broken in, it fits me fine, it's comfortable and I would rather be a little over-protected than under-protected. Sometimes, if I'm working a younger age group I'll use one of the lighter weight protectors I have just to save some wear and tear on the Platinum. I also have one of the WIlson Charcoal hard shells and would consider it's protection adequate for any level of fastpitch. I'm sure that I don't have to tell you this, Welpe- a softball ain't soft! This past winter, in an indoor league, I had a bar in my mask bent by a pitch from a high school pitcher. I know one umpire that was wearing a ribbed-type chest protector in a high school game. It might have been adequate- if he had worn it properly instead of loose and sagging down. A foul ball resulted in broken collar bone for him. Another guy I know figured that "12 year old girls can't throw too hard" so he skipped wearing shin guards. A pitch hit him square in the kneecap and shattered it into four pieces. Why not wear the best protection available? It's a little more expensive, but it's cheaper than the medical bills from an injury.
  23. Back two or three years ago, The Official's Call began selling what they advertised as their own line of umpire gear- all of which was obviously rebranded Champion gear. There were chest protectors, shin guards and masks, all with the "OC" logo on them. A major part of The OC's marketing plan must involve eBay, as they have had a heavy presence there for several years. Their eBay ads for the rebranded gear were fairly prolific a couple of years ago. The fact that this gear no longer appears on their own website leads me to believe that they're trying to get rid of leftover stock through eBay.
  24. I understand your point. I just don't agree with it. Think of a batter "standing still" as a batter who is in relatively the same position he was in to receive the pitch. This is precisely where the rules require him to be and precisely where you would reasonably expect him to be immediately following a pitch. If the batter steps backwards, forwards, toward the plate or away from it he is no longer "standing still" and he is no longer in the position normally associated with receiving a pitch. Such a step opens him up to an interference call. No, it's not automatically interference "just because he moved"- he has to subsequently hinder the catcher or his throw. And, no, it doesn't matter if the batter is still within the confines of the batter's box- the box isn't a sanctuary from an interference call.
×
×
  • Create New...