Jump to content

BretMan

Established Member
  • Posts

    339
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    2

Everything posted by BretMan

  1. Treat thunder exactly the same as you treat lightning. With respect to halting a game, they should be considered as one and the same. To the OP, I would suggest that you review your association's or sanctioning body's lightning procedures. The thirty minute wait for ANY lightning OR thunder is now pretty much universal for most associations. I don't know what association you were working under, but would be willing to bet that their policy isn't "just keep on playing if you think it's okay".
  2. I pretty much handle it the same way. I tell the coach, "I can't start the game until you can confirm that they are (legally and properly equipped)".
  3. Fully agree with "don't start making excuses or giving warnings at the plate conference". Better to act confident and professional, just like it was any other game. Introduce yourself, get the line-ups, cover the ground rules and get the ball rolling. Act like you've been there before and can handle it! When you start saying things like, "I'm here by myself and might miss something", what coaches tend to hear is, "He's going to miss stuff". Why even plant that seed in their minds? Giving "warnings" about arguments or questioning calls just makes them think that you're going to be making bad calls. It also can put coaches in a defensive mode before the game even starts, as if you are challenging them or flaunting your authority. You're just making it harder to communicate with them and causing yourself more trouble that what you might think you're preventing.
  4. What if... Both runners are on first base? Or, all of the bases behind them are already occupied (two runners on third, second and first occupied)? A. They both can't be legally entitled to 1B. R1 lost his right to 1B when batter became a batter-runner. B. With 2 runners on 3B, R2 and R1, the lead runner has lost his right to legally occupy 3B. HE would be out when tagged or presumably the plate was tagged for the force. Sure, I know the rule and which runner is entitled to the base and which one is liable to be put out. Someone offered a third-world play where two runners are on the same base when the ball became dead, before one of them had been put out, and then offered a possible solution for placing the runners. I just wondered what he would do if the solution he offered wasn't available, due to the position of other runners. Just speculative food for thought for a play that I'm sure none of will ever have to deal with.
  5. What if... Both runners are on first base? Or, all of the bases behind them are already occupied (two runners on third, second and first occupied)?
  6. A couple that come to mind for me... - Batter checks swing. Plate umpire calls it a strike. Offensive coach yells for PU to "check that"- and he does! I'm the base umpire on this one. He really caught me off guard there! Without ever having had this happen to me, or having any time to think about the best/most instructional/least embarrasing way to handle this, I just signalled a strike and said, "Yes, he did". Then, after the game, I explained to my partner why he can't do that. - I'm BU again. A pitch comes in real close to a batter. He jumps back out of the way. I lose sight of the ball as it passes behind the batter. PU jumps out from behind the plate, points at me and yells, "Did it hit him?!". Beats the hell out of me. Kind of shocked that he asked, I sort of make up a new signal on the spot. I shrug my shoulders and say, "I don't know". Partner then signals for us to get together. I explained to him that you can't really treat a hit batter the same as a check swing appeal and that from my vantage point I really had no idea if the batter got hit, so I can't help him out. But I did tell him that if he didn't see it, then he can't call it. He called the pitch a ball.
  7. In Ohio you can wear any color you want... ...as long as it's navy blue...
  8. I think you're making a legitimate point here. Are you saying that if the runner from third headed toward home, the catcher started to make a play (running down the third base line, or started a throwing motion) and THEN the batter took off; you WOULD have interference due to confusion? *************************************************************** Maybe I didn't state my position clearly enough. If not, then that was my fault. Let me rephrase it... I would never under any circumstances call this play as interference!
  9. What "play" did the batter interfere with? The batter did not obstruct, impede, hinder or confuse the defense's attempt to retire a viable runner who was in jeopardy of being put out. Being confused and making an unnecessay throw is not the same thing as attempting to make a play. It is the defense's responsibility to know the situation and act accordingly. Chalk this one up as a DMC (Dumb Move by the Catcher).
  10. Back a couple of years ago I found a brand-new, still in the package Elbeco on eBay and picked it up for five bucks. I've broken it out when working solo in a couple of local rec leagues, just for the heck of it. Though I'm not sure if it is an actual umpire shirt or a mailman uniform!
  11. That mask probably isn't as heavy as you might think. It's more than likely made of aluminum.
  12. "Here in central Ohio, it's pretty straightforward - we WILL use all NFHS mechanics as described in the umpire's manual..." This hasn't been my experience (I've been in COBUA about 10 years). I can think of quite a few cases where we've been instructed to use "non-FED" mechanics or signals. At our annual clinic, I've had instructors flat-out trash the FED mechanics and tell us to use CCA mechanics because "they are better". Maybe it just depends on which "senior official" you're talking to that day...
  13. That was my thought- the PowerPoint presentation is an official NFHS document. They seem to be slow in getting our 2013 rule book, manuals and pre-season materials sent out this year. I don't have anything yet, but wonder if this change is covered in the pre-season baseball guide that NFHS publishes. They usually cover all of the coming year's points of emphasis there.
  14. The change was that the DDB signal was removed from the list of official NFHS signals. It's gone, without comment or reference, just as if it had never existed.
  15. This is a FED mechanic, where the plate umpire has the call on any subsequent throw to third base.
  16. BretMan

    What's the call?

    No, I don't think that you were wrong. The OP says that the batter "hits a single to RF". If the batter singled then he must not have been put out before reaching first base. That only leaves the possibility that he was put out after reaching first base. Not explicitly stated in the OP is whether or not R1 had reached/missed second base at the moment that batter-runner was put out. But the inference is that he missed it before, if you take each element of the sample play and assume that everything in it happened sequentially as written. When R1 missed second, he was forced to that base. Thus, when the miss was appealed it is treated as a force out and no runs score.
  17. I'll gladly throw another shovelful of dirt on the FED pre-game equipment checks.
  18. I remember a few years ago when that Sport Science video came out. Back then I guessed that the plexiglass broke mainly just due to the spot where Finch happened to hit it. Plexiglass will of course flex. But watch where the softball hits the target. It hits very close to one of the attachment points. Since the ball hit so close to one of the fixed points, that would put the glass in more of a shear stress than a bending stress. Plexiglass can handle a much larger bending stress than it can shear stress before breaking. So....they broke the machine, didn't bother to fix it and didn't do another test, then with no data made the assumption that the softball must impart more force. Not exactly sound science from the Sport Science crew!
  19. Back a few years ago I got the bright idea that maybe I could dye some of my faded, but otherwise perfect, heather grey pants charcoal and then get a few more years of service out of them. But once I looked into this, I thought maybe it wouldn't be such a good idea. When polyester materials are dyed at the factory, it requires a special procees that involves extreme heat, special dye, high pressures and toxic chemicals. I was bummed to find out that you can't just throw them in a tub with a packet of over-the-counter clothes dye. If you try that, the dye won't adhere- it can't be absorbed into the material. Any coating of dye you might get would either rub off when you wore it or wash out in the next load of laundry. Maybe the ball bags are a different material- I don't know. You can be the guinea pig and let us all know how it worked! :D
  20. Where do the rules say team personel needs to be? In the dugout. If this guy was never in the dugout, he was never team personel. The coach saying otherwise doesn't change that. But maybe that's just semantics. There would still be several fun and creative ways to dump the guy! :angel4:
  21. BretMan

    mechanic

    That's what I've always heard as part of the reason why we don't point to first base on a walk (the batter should know where first base is). Plus, the point can look like a strike call. But on a hit batter I see MLB umpires point to first all the time and, sometimes, rather emphatically. I would think that on a hit batter the possibility of mistaking a point for a strike call would be minimal, since it is preceded by a call of "time".
  22. You can't spend your entire time in the stands and be a team coach at the same time. I would have treated him as a hostile spectator. Ignore the guy, same as you would any other spectator. If he keeps riding me, tell the "real" coach to get his spectator under control. That will give him something else to do besides arguing with you!
  23. Had one last year...I'm in "A" position. Left-handed batter. Pitch comes in tight, batter pulls his hands in close to his body. From my perspective the ball goes behind the batter's body and I can't see it. Ball subsequently rolls loose on the ground. Plate umpire jumps out from behind the plate, points at me- just like you would on a checked swing appeal- then yells, "Did it hit him?!". Kind of miffed that my partner would throw me under the bus like that, I just shrugged my shoulders and yelled back, "Beats the heck out of me!".
  24. Well, right now it is 12:47 p.m. GMT. In one minute it will be 12:48 p.m. GMT.
  25. So it really is true....Rich really would argue the time of day if you gave it to him! :hopmad:
×
×
  • Create New...